Save the Children Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Save the Children Intern Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Save the Children President & CEO Carolyn Miles
Carolyn Miles
7 Ratings
  1. "Couldn't have asked for a better internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Public Policy Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    --Great company culture: friendly employees, real commitment to diversity and inclusion, relaxed dress code matched with very hard workers --Loved the work I did, actually felt like I was being useful as an intern instead of just filing papers. I got to attend markup sessions on the hill, go to bi-lateral meetings with politicians, host events in congressional buildings, and build up our congressional strategy --People understand the desire for work/life balance and the full time employees are very respectful of each other's time --See myself working here in the future

    Show More

    Cons

    --Lots of meetings, not all of them necessary (like every company)

    Advice to Management

    Keep the paid internship program! It's a real game-changer.

    Save the Children2019-12-10
  2. "Great place to meet those passionate in the field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children

    Pros

    There is lots to learn, but everyone is really helpful in getting you up to speed. Everyone is very passionate about the work. Everyone is also helpful in giving career advice.

    Cons

    It is such a large organization that sometimes you feel insignificant.

    Save the Children2019-07-09
  3. "Very corporate, not a good environment, and not a lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Intern - Intern in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    My supervisor in specific was very nice. She was always making sure I was satisfied with the internship and was vouching for me. She made my time there enjoyable. A lot of professional development opportunities and brown bags. They give you a good amount of responsibilities.

    Cons

    During my internship I didn't do anything that I had signed up for when I applied to the specific internship position. I didn't do one single thing that was in the original JD, and of course I only found out I was going to be doing something different on my first day. I communicated that with the team but they kept saying "you're only part-time and you are not here everyday blah blah blah". Also, I didn't like the work environment. Not a lot of collaboration and employees have no idea what's happening with the rest of the organization (the classic cubicle setup makes it hard too to be fair). I had one person coming to me and saying "thank you for the power point you made" even though it was the another intern from another department who made it. Another example was within my department there was a lot of gossiping and senior staff being very immature, like getting really upset and "punishing" someone when that someone would go and tell their supervisors something they were unhappy with. Lastly, it is a very corporate and hierarchical company. For example, I was looking for full-time positions and asked my supervisor to serve as one of my references. She informed that Save does not allow employees to serve as references for interns, they can only confirm the dates of the internship. That was the first time I heard of something like this and was very disappointed. On the other hand, I'm a "millennial" and used to small companies that have an open space set up, which I personally prefer. So maybe these things wouldn't bother you if you prefer large "traditional" organizations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the job descriptions are accurate. Train your senior staff to be more understanding/considerate towards their supervisees needs and that they act professionally at all times.

    Save the Children2019-05-09
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Human Resources Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    As a millennial, it is a great place to work. Progressive views on leadership. As long as you do your work, no one bothers you.

    Cons

    Morale is low here so company culture needs to be improved.

    Save the Children2019-04-19
  5. "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great organization!

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Save the Children2019-02-15
  6. "Good introduction to understand hour international non-profit works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    A structured intern system with one-to-one mentorship from a supervisor working there. You can make a real impact and build up skills.

    Cons

    Since it's not rotational you're stuck in one job you're assigned to. Since you dont know what type of specific work you'd get and can't have much autonomy to change so you might love/hate what you get

    Save the Children2018-11-13
  7. "Decent but a little dry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Fairfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    Working there was a little boring, but very easy to please senior mgmt

    Cons

    A little boring ,not much to do, no clear exits. Fairfield office is in the middle of nowehre

    Advice to Management

    define the internship more

    Save the Children2018-08-21
  8. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Fairfield, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for more than a year

    Pros

    the people organization's mission

    Cons

    unpaid internship not many entry-level job offers

    Save the Children2018-02-03
  9. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to get your hands on the analytic data parts and find mutual solutions for the upcoming projects.

    Cons

    Somehow, like any other NGOs, do not expect a high-pathed growth under stress; this is a place for "Live-Work Balance."

    Save the Children2017-10-18
  10. "Great Goals!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    Advocating for children's literacy, working with children, educating parents and educators about the importance of reading

    Cons

    nonprofit workload, traveling, paperwork

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees for smaller offices

    Save the Children2017-02-21
Found 24 reviews