Save the Children Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Save the Children Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Save the Children President & CEO Carolyn Miles
Carolyn Miles
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing people, great mission...and some pockets of terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The folks I had the pleasure of calling colleagues were awesome. Motivated, smart, creative and fun to be around, the people are the best part. If you have the right boss and the right team, it can be a great place to build your career. Carlos and Carolyn are visible leaders who create opportunities for staff to share feedback (no matter your tier in the org chart), and while it's a tricky one for such a big organization (300-ish in DC, 300-ish in CT and 100-ish in KY? or more? I never really knew), the communications internally got better while I was there.

    Show More

    Cons

    That said, there are pockets of terrible. Whether it's a bad VP or getting stuck on a team that doesn't value you, there are a few teams that I would steer my friends away from applying to.

    Advice to Management

    Management training would go a long way to ensuring that the person most responsible for an employee's experience (their manager) is a skilled one.

    Save the Children2018-11-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Hurt on the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring for children after the storm

    Cons

    Not taking care of their employees got hurt on the job and they have ignored me for month guest I will take to social media.

    Advice to Management

    The wore

    Save the Children2019-06-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Fairfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Literally none maybe the location

    Cons

    The management are bullies! The CIO is a bully power mad and speak law to staff and suppliers like dirt! The CEO is a typical locked away surrounded by exec assistants with not a clue how unhappy people are are the blatant scandals tucked away

    Advice to Management

    Grow up! And contribute not bully especially the CIO

    Save the Children2019-06-26
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great work-life balance, but IT management can make your life miserable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist, Project Manager in Fairfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great co-workers, great benefits

    Cons

    IT Management is inept and they do not listen to advice. Any alternative ideas are met with extreme prejudice and they do not hesitate to threaten your job.

    Advice to Management

    It's OK to grow by listening to differing opinions

    Save the Children2017-07-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Fairfield, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, motivated colleagues, good benefits

    Cons

    Little room for growth, no accountability

    Save the Children2017-05-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Derby, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits and organization mission

    Cons

    Little to no room for advancement in certain departments

    Save the Children2016-01-22
  8. "My experience working for Save the Children has been mostly positive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Save the Children is a family-oriented nonprofit that values mobility across departments. The organization has a strong mission and values focused on helping children in the US and abroad through emergency response and longer-term development programs.

    Cons

    It is challenging to get promoted within your unit. Positions become available based on business needs. It is very rare if a new role or promotion comes about as a result of the performance of an individual. So, employees typically have to be willing to apply for jobs in other areas, wait for a superior to leave, or luck out if a new job is created in order to move up in the organization.

    Advice to Management

    I recommend placing a higher emphasis on creating policies and documentation across key business-driving areas. I also suggest investing more in technology, infrastructure, and other resources to improve employees' ability to work efficiently.

    Save the Children2015-01-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Attracts high caliber people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Westport, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Save the Children is one of the pinnacle leaders in the humanitarian industry. The leadership is transparent about decision making. I get respect when I tell people I work for Save the Children. I have traveled to some amazing places in my career here and met some amazing people. I have learned a lot in my time here.

    Cons

    While Save the Children's revenue last year was 640 million only a small portion of that revenue is in the form of unrestricted/ undesignated funds. Consequently the organization is constantly having to make hard choices when it comes to funding operations.. Some people lost their jobs last year because of it. Because all international operations were consolidated into a separate organization (Save the Children International) there are less international career opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Increase undesignated funding. Find ways for young professionals to build an international career.

    Save the Children2014-05-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Asst. Manager-Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work for children in rights based organization, proud to be associated with SC-BRB

    Cons

    looking for more opportunities to work with children and women

    Advice to Management

    Friendly atmosphere of working

    Save the Children2019-12-05
  11. "Beautiful Value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Logistics Manager in Singapore
    Recommends

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance & colleagues are awesome

    Cons

    Contract end & unhealthy politics

    Save the Children2019-11-30
Found 28 reviews