Save the Children Program Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

Save the Children Program Coordinator Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
15%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Save the Children President & CEO Carolyn Miles
Carolyn Miles
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work. Very passionate and mission driven employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO, wonderful colleagues, highly rated development programs, plenty of opportunities to go out to the field

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance for junior staff

    Save the Children2018-03-20

    Save the Children Response

    May 2, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    Hi there, and thanks so much for your feedback! We totally get the work/life balance thing... it's been a tough year with 3 hurricane responses and so much going on, but hopefully you will take advantage of our Summer Fun Fridays... it will be awesome to have early dismissal at 1:30 every other Friday, right???? Please do feel free to reach out to any of your HR team if you have any thoughts or suggestions about how we can make things even better! You can reach out to me directly at tferrett@savechildren.org

    Continue reading
  2. "It's good for gaining experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working remotely, great overall mission

    Cons

    Low pay, high turnover, excessive mandatory trainings

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2019-09-28

    Save the Children Response

    October 4, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Hi there, and thank you for your feedback. We love our mission, and our ability to work remotely (when it's appropriate), as well as the many other benefits that Save the Children offers us. Regarding our pay, we steadily benchmark our salaries against other non-profit and for profit organizations and companies in every market that we work, and have found that we are on-par, or in some cases--better than--others. This is a topic we're keenly focused on... because we know our work is challenging, and we want to reward our staff in every way that we can--for their dedication. The volume of our trainings can seem a bit daunting, but when you consider that we are responsible for protecting children AND our staff, the necessity becomes pretty clear. I hope you've also taken advantage of the many learning opportunities that aren't mandatory, but are there for your own growth and development! Structurally speaking... growth is tough, and it requires that we stay dynamic and flexible enough to support that growth. It also means making sure that we're not overcomplicating things so YOUR job is easier. Feedback on our staff surveys indicated that we're too complex, so we're taking important steps to reduce that complexity. Of course, change in any environment is tough, but we welcome your feedback and suggestions at any time. If you'd like to share more of your thoughts, please reach out to me at tferrett@savechildren.org!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Not a place for jr. staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is really mission driven and the work is meaningful.

    Cons

    The management team has a very specific idea of what path junior staff should take and they are not willing to work with the skills and interests of the specific employee. Staff (at all levels) are actively told to leave and come back in order to move up instead of promoting their internal talent, even though the organization supposedly champions promoting from within. HR discussions about workplace culture and upward mobility are actively discouraged within the Department of Global Health. Several employees have been told that talking to HR makes them look bad or that advocating for themselves makes them look impatient. How salaries are determined is very unclear and often made more confusing than it needs to be. Pay is not equitable at all-- even within the same role in the same department.

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2019-04-01

    Save the Children Response

    May 18, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback. I hope that you shared this with your HR Business Advisor prior to your departure, or at the very minimum, during your exit interview. While we understand that experience can be gained outside of the organization (and we have a great reputation for those people coming back to us), we don't want to push great talent out. If you'd like to discuss more, and didn't have a chance to do so, we are all ears. Please reach out to me a tferrett@savechildren.org, and we'll chat!

    Continue reading
  4. "Program Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Phnom Penh
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teach and improve our capacity to work in complexity situation, problem solving

    Cons

    Work-load, work with other team to implement program

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2018-05-20
  5. "Saving Mothers and CHildren in Humanitarian Crises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Program Coordinator in Wajir
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for more than a year

    Pros

    Open-door policy,friendly staff,performance oriented environment

    Cons

    Short-term contracts that lead to turn over

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2014-05-23
Found 5 reviews