Save the Children Reviews | Glassdoor

Save the Children Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Save the Children President & CEO Carolyn Miles
Carolyn Miles
94 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic organization, and great place to work. You make an impact."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Fairfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    This organization is truly dedicated to making life better for all kids, no matter where they are. They do what is right. The leadership is great, most people are collaborative and like working with each other.

    Cons

    As with any non profit, there's pressure to raise money so you can do more to advance the mission. That can be stressful at times. Also, you're dealing with tough conditions for these kids, so it can be overwhelming to know how much is wrong with how we treat children around the world. But the pros fully outweigh the cons.

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2020-01-23
  2. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Fairfield, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mission and Work Life Balance

    Cons

    The Current CEO will be leaving, she was great.

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2019-11-30

    Save the Children Response

    December 30, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your incredible work with us... we wish you all the best!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Save the Children for over 7 years. It is a relaxed, fun, supportive and family-friendly work environment. The leadership (including C-suite) are all very approachable and transparent with staff and with their decision-making processes. There is also a culture of addressing problems head-on and moving forward, which I have not seen in many other organizations. The benefits are wonderful, with generous leave, including family leave, community-service leave and generous retirement benefits.

    Cons

    1. Although I've been happy with my salary, the buzz in the business is that our salaries are low compared to the industry standard. 2. For international work, the bureaucracy makes it difficult to get things done and move money and work to field offices. 3. New CEO starting in January 2020, so there is some uncertainty about the direction this will take the organization. 4. Opportunities for growth are limited and although there is a lot of racial and ethnic diversity in rank and file employees, the higher up you go, the "whiter" the organization it gets.

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2019-10-10

    Save the Children Response

    November 27, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your review... and for your feedback! We're listening, and appreciate that you took the time to share. We're reading each and every comment, and hope that you also feel able to share your feedback with us directly, too! If we can ever be of help to you in HR, or answer any of your questions... we're here! Reach out to me at any time at tferrett@savechildren.org! We're so glad you're on our team!

    Continue reading
  4. "Wonderful place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Berea, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family friendly environment and fulfilling work!

    Cons

    There is some traveling requirements, but almost always home every night.

    Save the Children2019-06-12

    Save the Children Response

    June 17, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much! You're awesome... and the work you do is so important! We appreciate you!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great job to work and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet new people and help save kids lives.

    Cons

    No cons really except for fundraising in the snow.

    Save the Children2019-03-09

    Save the Children Response

    May 18, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Hey, we love you, too! Thanks for all of your hard work for children... especially in the snow!

    Continue reading
  6. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Save the Children part-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    I don’t see any cons

    Save the Children2019-02-23

    Save the Children Response

    May 18, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    You're awesome, too!

    Continue reading
  7. "Happy to be here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing mission and focus; fantastic colleagues; great benefits and lots of employee engagement opportunities

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to juggle everything that's going on!

    Save the Children2018-10-01

    Save the Children Response

    February 12, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    And we're happy that YOU are here! We're so glad you're enjoying your work here... it is a lot... but the variety of work also adds to the fun, adds to your growth and development, and allows you to really get close to our mission. Please do make sure you're talking with your direct manager to get their assistance with prioritization...

    Continue reading
  8. "The work that they do, especially in regarding to children's education is simply amazing and the staff is dedicated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible and great benefits

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Save the Children2018-05-31

    Save the Children Response

    July 6, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    Wow! You're making us smile!! Hopefully, we're doing the same for you... Thank YOU for the work that YOU do on our team! We couldn't do it without you!

    Continue reading
  9. "Program Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work was valuable and made a difference.

    Cons

    Constant restructure kept a sense of unknown futures.

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2018-05-28

    Save the Children Response

    September 24, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We certainly want to do better than neutral, though. If you have any additional suggestions for us, please contact me at 202-794-1634! --Trish

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "An office that feels like home and co-workers who feel like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Colleagues are incredibly supportive and collaborative even under incredibly high stress circumstances such as emergencies or crises in the field - Work life balance is respected and workers are never admonished for needing to tend to their personal lives. - Lots of opportunity to grow and develop within the organization - Benefits are unreal, they really take care of you here

    Cons

    - Budgetary constraints due to the nature of the organization - Fairly meeting heavy and somewhat complicated structure which can be confusing to navigate - Frequent re-orgs

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2018-05-13

    Save the Children Response

    July 6, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    Hey, thank you for the super kind words! We love working with you, too!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 337 reviews