Save the Children Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Save the Children Specialist Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Save the Children President & CEO Carolyn Miles
Carolyn Miles
5 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Berea, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family friendly environment and fulfilling work!

    Cons

    There is some traveling requirements, but almost always home every night.

    Save the Children2019-06-12

    Save the Children Response

    June 17, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much! You're awesome... and the work you do is so important! We appreciate you!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Save the Children"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Specialist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great cause ... help children

    Cons

    Disconnect between upper management and field staff

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2019-05-18
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Harassment Rampant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some dedicated staff at field level

    Cons

    Toxic environment with culture of harassment at every level. Narcissists are award with top positions and they become immune/protected from constructive criticism. I personally notified HR of several incidents of harassment from a top level person. They have not followed up with my reporting. This place is bad and getting worse.

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2018-02-06

    Save the Children Response

    May 2, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    Please help us by letting us know where you are... we do not tolerate harassment at ANY level, and have had several communications in that regard. We want to help, but need to notify the correct people. Please reach out to me confidentially at tferrett@savechildren.org

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great work-life balance, but IT management can make your life miserable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist, Project Manager in Fairfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great co-workers, great benefits

    Cons

    IT Management is inept and they do not listen to advice. Any alternative ideas are met with extreme prejudice and they do not hesitate to threaten your job.

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2017-07-26

    Save the Children Response

    August 21, 2017Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback. This is critical information, and we take your concerns quite seriously! Have you voiced your concern to your HR Business Advisor? While we can share this with them as well, some additional context around your comments will aid in our ability to address the issues that you've presented.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "On a downward trend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An organization with a clear mandate and a good number of genuinely impressive people especially in education.

    Cons

    Shifted to being overly corporate during the past 2-3 years. Too large and detached from beneficiaries as a result of the SCI movement, and much too focused on efforts to develop "strategy" verses maintaining a critical focus on actual implementation of effective projects. Growth opportunities afforded to individuals are severely curtailed. Significant declines in incomes and new awards due to misguided new business directions will have serious impact on long term health of the organization.

    Save the Children2017-03-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Specialist in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My colleagues are dedicated and passionate about the mission. The Sr. Management has high, clear, and fair expectations, and they are there to help when you need support.

    Cons

    Working remotely can have its challenges. The toughest thing was trying to figure out all the logistics of the online reimbursement, time card, and data collection processes.

    Save the Children2014-09-14
  7. "True commitment to excellence and impact for children."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Westport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff and management have very high standards for our work, in a way that's very inspiring. The work environment is flexible and supportive, with many allowances for working remotely.

    Cons

    Many people like the office location (Southern CT), but it's a con for me because I find it boring, expensive, and difficult to get to.

    Save the Children2014-01-10
  8. "Specialist in IP team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Specialist 

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    excellent mission, great colleagues, strong technical programs

    Cons

    lower salaries in NGO sector

    Save the Children2019-09-19

    Save the Children Response

    October 4, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks so much for your comments, and even more so for the awesome work you do in International Programs! (Your colleagues ARE awesome, aren't they?) Please know that we're watching salaries like a hawk, and benchmark every year with the Humentum salary surveys to make sure we're staying competitive. Stay tuned for new changes in this area... and again, THANK YOU!

    Continue reading
  9. "Technical advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Specialist 

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    Travel, Diverse job, great team

    Cons

    HR, benefits, payscale, work hours

    Save the Children2019-04-22

    Save the Children Response

    May 18, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Hey there... it's HR, and we're listening! We'd love to know your thoughts about how we can improve what we're doing. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at tferrett@savechildren.org

    Continue reading
  10. "Procurement Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Procurement Specialist in Lilongwe
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and I can encourage prospective employees to work with Save the Children.

    Cons

    None for now. All is well

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2019-03-13
Found 12 reviews