Save the Children "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Save the Children Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Save the Children CEO Carolyn Miles
Carolyn Miles
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good package, good work environment(in 30 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance (8 hours means 8 hours, need not stay back unless there is any urgent/priority job that needs to be done)(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "poor senior management, overworked(in 15 reviews)

  • "takes advantage of those lowest on the totem pole (temps /new hires), lots of upper management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Fairfield, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mission and Work Life Balance

    Cons

    The Current CEO will be leaving, she was great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Save the Children2019-11-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Save the Children for over 7 years. It is a relaxed, fun, supportive and family-friendly work environment. The leadership (including C-suite) are all very approachable and transparent with staff and with their decision-making processes. There is also a culture of addressing problems head-on and moving forward, which I have not seen in many other organizations. The benefits are wonderful, with... generous leave, including family leave, community-service leave and generous retirement benefits.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Although I've been happy with my salary, the buzz in the business is that our salaries are low compared to the industry standard. 2. For international work, the bureaucracy makes it difficult to get things done and move money and work to field offices. 3. New CEO starting in January 2020, so there is some uncertainty about the direction this will take the organization. 4. Opportunities for growth are... limited and although there is a lot of racial and ethnic diversity in rank and file employees, the higher up you go, the "whiter" the organization it gets.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide clearer career progression paths for employees. Take a real look at how well you are providing equal opportunities for people of diverse backgrounds to advance.

    Save the Children2019-10-10
  3. "It's good for gaining experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working remotely, great overall mission

    Cons

    Low pay, high turnover, excessive mandatory trainings

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff what they're worth, and stop making so many changes to structure.

    Save the Children2019-09-28
  4. "decent organization, but can improve working standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Coordinator 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great colleagues, good vision and mission of organization

    Cons

    poor senior management, overworked

    Save the Children2019-09-16
  5. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator 

    I worked at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    Great interesting people to work with and they come from a diverse background

    Cons

    Pay was a little less than market but the organisation do offer Salary packaging

    Advice to Management

    more detailed process documentations

    Save the Children2019-07-23
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Fairfield, CT
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family friendly policies and great mission helping children

    Cons

    Sr Mgt doesn’t understand nuances of business and makes decisions w/o being informed. They have a lot of reorganizations which cause workplace chaos that goes on for months and a brain drain with talented staff leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within and get rid of the new CMO. She is awful and doesn’t have a clue to the nuances of the business. She’s also a very negative person and is so uninspiring.

    Save the Children2019-05-18
  7. "Wonderful place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Berea, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family friendly environment and fulfilling work!

    Cons

    There is some traveling requirements, but almost always home every night.

    Save the Children2019-06-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "positives and negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Award Management Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    great benefits / great exposure/ hands on experience /

    Cons

    a lot of work/ a lot of work politics/ hierarchy/ favoritism

    Save the Children2019-05-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Hurt on the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring for children after the storm

    Cons

    Not taking care of their employees got hurt on the job and they have ignored me for month guest I will take to social media.

    Advice to Management

    The wore

    Save the Children2019-06-06
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Fairfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Literally none maybe the location

    Cons

    The management are bullies! The CIO is a bully power mad and speak law to staff and suppliers like dirt! The CEO is a typical locked away surrounded by exec assistants with not a clue how unhappy people are are the blatant scandals tucked away

    Advice to Management

    Grow up! And contribute not bully especially the CIO

    Save the Children2019-06-26
Found 316 reviews