Saxbys Reviews | Glassdoor

Saxbys Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Nick Bayer
41 Ratings
  1. "Saxbys review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ardmore, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time

    Pros

    Great training and work environment.

    Cons

    Kinda hard to work up the ladder if you are a full time student. Training really isn't held on weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Hold more training sessions for high school students.

    Saxbys2019-03-14
  2. "Don't Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saxbys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee on shift, flexible hours

    Cons

    student CEOs, racism, no benefits, little room for pay raises

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your staff. Don't police speech. Pay your workers more and include health benefits.

    Saxbys2019-04-15
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time

    Pros

    Free food, great coworkers, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    No chance to move up. Worked there for 2 years, and was barely treated with respect, "managers" were super cold and didn't care about anyone beneath them.

    Advice to Management

    Don't blatantly screw over your employees.

    Saxbys2019-02-12
  4. "Saxbys Coffee Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Saxbys part-time

    Pros

    They really stress engaging with customers so, if you're a people person like me, you'll really enjoy that aspect. The majority of the staff that they hire at the cafes are very friendly as well and you'll definitely make some friends out of it. The friendly cafe staff is the biggest redeeming quality and, often times, it's what makes baristas stay.

    Cons

    Management is extremely cliquey. They very clearly pick favorites among the cafe staff and if you don't eat, sleep, and breathe, Saxbys Coffee they treat you noticeably different (i.e. getting on your case for things that they let other employers get away with, gossiping, etc.). You see a lot of people fake being overly enthusiastic about the company in order to not get on management's bad side and it starts to feel cult-like.

    Advice to Management

    Very promising company from the outside looking in but the management team at headquarters can do a lot better at how it relates to and treats cafe employees. Especially in regards to the cliquey environment and gossiping that leaks into the cafes from management personnel.

    Saxbys2019-02-06
  5. "General manager perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys full-time

    Pros

    Coffee Culture Staff Good manager Small location

    Cons

    No cons working here to note

    Saxbys2019-01-08
  6. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - the people are great to work with

    Cons

    - training took too long so it was harder on everyone who was already trained

    Saxbys2019-01-22
  7. "Great coffee, decent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Saxbys part-time

    Pros

    Customer service experience, free coffee, exposure to a unique hospitality-oriented business model

    Cons

    Not amazing pay, not always great follow-through from headquarters (I've had training sessions cancelled out of the blue and email responses are usually slow), a more strenuous hiring process for the low pay you receive

    Saxbys2018-12-27
  8. "False hope with good coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys full-time

    Pros

    The people I have met through this job both coworkers and guests had a lasting impact on me. And I truly did learn to become numb to any work atmosphere after this experience.

    Cons

    Working 40+ hours minimum a week as soon as you become “useful” and can do paperwork. Always giving false hope in regards to promotions and finding/creating a job that fits you. Was veribally abused by guests and homeless people regularly. Also in regards to Homeless people we do not have any procedures written has to how to react to weird situations. Such as homeless people threatening to kill you, locking themselves...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Those who work in the cafe day in and day out make your company the money.

    Saxbys2019-01-10
  9. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saxbys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent compensation, flexible hours, friendly work environment, lots of room to move up in the company

    Cons

    Young staff, difficult customer base

    Saxbys2018-11-26
  10. "Not ideal of Trans workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Saxbys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teaches you how to be a barista

    Cons

    Pronouns/trans issues are not taken seriously.

    Saxbys2018-12-03
Found 74 reviews