Saxbys Reviews | Glassdoor

Saxbys Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Nick Bayer
41 Ratings
  1. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saxbys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fun and upbeat work environment

    Cons

    Not all employees share same work ethic

    Saxbys2018-10-02
  2. "Excellent Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great mission, great culture.

    Cons

    The cons are position based, not particularly company based. Long hours on your feet, dissatisfied customers, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the practice of promoting from within.

    Saxbys2018-09-27
  3. "Pay/Talent Development Could be Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun Company Culture, most of the people you work with/the people at headquarters are nice.

    Cons

    The pay was not substantial, there was also very limited room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Despite the fact that it is essentially a food service job, I think a $1-$2 hour pay raise across the lower positions would help team morale quite a bit. After a while people generally stopped trying at work simply because the pay was so low.

    Saxbys2018-08-22
  4. "Small Business Feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saxbys part-time

    Pros

    The people all care a lot and that’s true from Host to Corporate

    Cons

    As a host obvious you have to stand for long hours and that’s not the greatest but those are the brakes.

    Saxbys2018-08-20
  5. "Overworked and Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Saxbys full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, great development opportunities if you're willing to wait 2 years to obtain them. Even at Headquarters there is a strong family-like aspect, I feel that is because the company is exceeding that "start-up barrier"

    Cons

    45 hours a week, sometimes 7 days a week (I spent one month working all 30 days, nearly 65 hours a week) I always found myself working at home as well. Minimal support from HQ staff.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of the Cafe Managers. Work-Life balance is important.

    Saxbys2018-08-08
  6. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time

    Pros

    Positive environment, friendly co-workers, good food/drinks

    Cons

    Low pay, barely any tips for difficult work

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers more, don't train your baristas at the corporate office or try to impose a company culture unless you plan on actually making them feel like they are important (i.e. paid a living wage)

    Saxbys2018-07-21
  7. "Geat company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees and company culture! The training process is very effective.

    Cons

    Long training process, but worth it overall

    Saxbys2018-06-05
  8. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Haddonfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very little stress on job, relaxed atmosphere, well structured operation

    Cons

    No opportunity for promotion to management

    Saxbys2018-05-31
  9. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Saxbys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn new skills, lots of training

    Cons

    You're expected to do a lot of work for the amount of pay. Make sandwiches, make coffee drinks, clean, do dishes, be EXTREMELY nice to customers, even when they are not very kind with you. When I started working here, they over hired, which translated into one shift a week. They transferred me into another coffee shop, which was poorly managed. The manager of this shop often criticized all the employees and made people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with the people you employ about the expectations you set for them. Don't be extremely nice during training, and then criticize them heavily. Hire better people to manage your stores.

    Saxbys2018-05-30
  10. "Good Product, Bad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys full-time

    Pros

    create good coffee products and fresh baked goods.

    Cons

    management is inexperienced and it seemed some of the main people in charge were the least competent.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire your friends to help you run your somewhat successful business

    Saxbys2018-03-23
Found 74 reviews