Saxbys Reviews | Glassdoor

Saxbys Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Nick Bayer
41 Ratings
  1. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Saxbys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, opportunities to learn new skills

    Cons

    Low pay rate, small chance of progress and development, very corporate for a “local” coffee chain

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees more and treat them better, higher pay rates would be nice. A livable wage would benefit everyone.

    Saxbys2018-02-26
  2. "Good Coffee, Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saxbys part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who work in the coffee shops are pretty nice and hardworking people.

    Cons

    The management from the top of the company struggles with how to run a business and depends on underpaid staff to pick up the slack. Also a high turnover rate, and a ridiculous amount of training (that requires you to travel to) for an $8/hr position.

    Advice to Management

    Do not make people travel over an hour to get training.

    Saxbys2018-02-27
  3. "Saxbys Georgetown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Saxbys part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      short informal interview was comfortable

      Cons

      the manager who gave the interview wasn't there when i got there

      Saxbys2017-12-14
    • "Saxbys is a great place to learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Saxbys

      Pros

      Great Atmosphere Staff and Management are very diverse and friendly

      Cons

      A lot of requirements when it comes to training

      Advice to Management

      Training could be shortened

      Saxbys2017-11-09
    • "My Experience in a Nutshell"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Saxbys part-time

      Pros

      Management emphasizes the value of hard work. Wage increases every six months! Management has open channels of communication towards employees in most aspects. Fantastic job for campus students.

      Cons

      Standards and objective are sometimes vague at best. Hours of work may suddenly decrease. Limited advancement opportunities.

      Advice to Management

      Be more open about the adjustments in employee schedule in accordance to company needs and store budget.

      Saxbys2017-10-31
    • "Work for students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Lead 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Saxbys full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours, good meal plan

      Cons

      Underpaid, overworked, very high turnover

      Saxbys2017-11-07
    • "Best Job Ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Saxbys part-time

        Pros

        Great job for social beings Excellent co-workers Efficient, but relaxed management

        Cons

        The pay was pretty low, maybe that varies by store

        Saxbys2017-08-08
      • "Good Work Environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Barista in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Saxbys for more than a year

        Pros

        Good co-workers, good management, good clientele, good product

        Cons

        Corporate is too strict. Luckily, I worked at a franchise location :)

        Advice to Management

        It's not necessary to have SO many rules. The cafe runs just fine.

        Saxbys2017-08-07
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good stepping stone, but work environment could be turbulent and/or toxic at points"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Team Lead in Philadelphia, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Saxbys part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        -Fun team members to work with (at least at the Drexel cafe, which hired solely Drexel students) - 50% off drinks and 10% off food off shift, with 50% off food on shift -Good entry level experience to move into the food/beverage industry (training covers kitchen, making drinks, and operating register) -Servsafe certification when promoted to team lead -Company was philanthropic, and coordinated many partnerships/fundraising...

        Show More

        Cons

        -Some team members did not pull their weight and had an attitude when asked to -Food discount used to be 50% off with a free meal on long shifts (6+ hours) -Things get a little hectic when the manager switches every six months, and the extra work usually falls on the rest of the team. -Could be very short staffed at points, resulting in long shifts for almost everybody -Managers play favorites with hiring and promotions...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Increase compensation for tier II and III team leads (if not for all team members). A tier III's responsibilities are too close to a manager's for $10/hr.

        Saxbys2017-07-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "Have worked for Saxbys for nearly a year; I enjoy my job but need to get out soon due to lack of pay."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Team Lead in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Saxbys part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        It's a fun atmosphere, especially during a rush (if you enjoy high volume environments), tips aren't so bad, I've made good friends with coworkers, and you get free drinks and 50% discount on drinks all other saxbys locations.

        Cons

        The pay is not enough for the amount of work/hours employees put in. I put a lot of energy into my job but I know that at the most, being part time, I can only make up to 10 dollars. I also don't feel like I have received proper training as a barista and would be clueless if thrown behind an upscale coffee bar.

        Advice to Management

        Your "team members" will value their jobs and work harder if you give them a bit more pay!Team lead IIIs who have been with the company for years should not be making only 10 bucks an hour.

        Saxbys2017-06-30
      Found 74 reviews