ScS Sofas Reviews | Glassdoor

ScS Sofas Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
David Knight
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "SCS is a great company to work for with very good salaries and bonus structures with fantastic earning potential with uncapped commission(in 4 reviews)

  • "A really great Company to work for who reward great performances(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours as per any retail job, but the rewards far outweigh the cons(in 6 reviews)

  • "Long hours, weekends, bank holidays and Christmas you have to work(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ScS Sofas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Can’t think of any

    Cons

    Long hours, unprofessional, worst management

    ScS Sofas2019-06-12
  2. "Horrible management and sexist staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScS Sofas part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was okay, an hour lunch break... not much else

    Cons

    Sexist staff Part time hours became full time Very little training No support as new staff Confidential talks with management were talked about to other staff Didn't feel safe or happy there Lots of negatives

    ScS Sofas2019-04-28
  3. "Horrible Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ScS Sofas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of any, other than I'm lucky enough to have a full time job.

    Cons

    Very negative blame culture. Antiquated practices, no flexible working, very rigid structure. No car parking at Head Office. Limited employee benefits. Little to no communication. Lack of understanding of modern practices at the highest level. No progression opportunities. Very limited development.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the roles you're hiring for, give people the tools they need to do theirs jobs and make your employees feel valued.

    ScS Sofas2019-04-29
  4. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScS Sofas part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -flexible hours alongside other commitments (kids,uni etc)

    Cons

    More incentives and bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Have clear goals, and responsibilities and delegate jobs throughout the team.

    ScS Sofas2019-03-22
  5. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ScS Sofas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Money people life bonus

    Cons

    Hours and time off for holidays

    ScS Sofas2019-03-21
  6. "Eye opening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ScS Sofas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, high earnings potential, minimal politics

    Cons

    May have to sell your soul on occasion. Constant bending of the truth to your customers. False urgency is a standard operating system.

    Advice to Management

    Understand that it's difficult having to bend the truth slightly to your customers around pricing and promotions. Creating urgency is all well and good, but you have to be responsible when doing so.

    ScS Sofas2019-03-19
  7. "Don't work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ScS Sofas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people, shame they're wasted there.

    Cons

    Everything - culture is horrific, management don't care about their staff, no flexibility, poor pay, old-school ways of working, no innovation, no progression, no new ideas welcome to the table - just stay in your place as a cog in a wheel.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up

    ScS Sofas2019-01-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Senior manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ScS Sofas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being with company 17years, we have never just stood still, we are the leader, fantastic wages, rewards, progression if you have the ability, agility, and positive attitude at all times.

    Cons

    No cons with company, it’s retail hours so we are there when others finish work, however pay very well indeed, my moto being you don’t get paid at home!

    Advice to Management

    We have seen changes over the past 2 year, what are very positive, we need to ensure we keep that Going.

    ScS Sofas2018-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScS Sofas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    rewards are amazing the staff are extremely passionate and skilled at what they do. You are able to measure your impact and see your input paid back everyday.

    Cons

    None you get out of it what you put in

    Advice to Management

    Stores and systems need to be modernist

    ScS Sofas2018-09-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScS Sofas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A really great Company to work for who reward great performances. A lot of Fun working with the Team and helpful support from Senior Management and above

    Cons

    Hours are long but necessary

    Advice to Management

    Keep making it simple and keep the great Competitions coming

    ScS Sofas2018-09-15
Found 49 reviews