Scandinavian Designs Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Scandinavian Designs Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Scandinavian Designs CEO Erling Eide (no image)
Erling Eide
8 Ratings
  1. "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scandinavian Designs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm given the autonomy to make decisions to improve sales based on my store's market conditions. Our marketing team is responsive and supportive of my local ideas to drive traffic to my store. I have lots of autonomy in this job.

    Cons

    We need to invest in technology to modernize our store experience. Offer Wifi to customers, simplify the invoice process for customers and new associates.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in new POS technology and offer WiFi to customers.

    Scandinavian Designs2019-05-11
  2. "Does not deserve 1 star"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Cupertino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scandinavian Designs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fellow employees seem to function despite the terrible management

    Cons

    I was blamed for writing an awful review on this site and when I went looking for it I discovered additional complaints about the same culture from a different state! Real eye opener, should have read this before wasting a year of my life.

    Advice to Management

    Why would I advise these idiots?

    Scandinavian Designs2019-09-20
  3. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DC Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scandinavian Designs full-time

    Pros

    Steady job, decent hours, get paid on time.

    Cons

    Stuck in the dinosaur ages.

    Scandinavian Designs2019-08-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of appreciation/Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scandinavian Designs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits Nice Furniture and good prices

    Cons

    Lack of professionalism Lack of pay Lack of cooperation Micromanagement

    Advice to Management

    I would say that the management team from store manager on up should listen more to employees, and be there more to help or contribute. At the store I’m at it seems like the warehouse manager runs the place as much as everyone goes to him to help or get things done. He does whatever it takes to help with customers, any issues, problems, and at times seems a little stressful but I understand his position as he is... wearing many hats in this place. But yet the warehouse is short staffed and he still seems to get business taken care of no matter what he has to do as well as his people going above and beyond. Maybe this company should take care of employees like that and yes we have many all over that go above and beyond. Take care of all employees, make sure their ideas and concerns are top of the list. Also make sure store managers are trained well as all employees should be. Lack of experience puts pressure on others and that isn’t good.

    Show More
    Scandinavian Designs2019-07-24
  5. "Visual Merchandiser Denver & Westminster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scandinavian Designs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creative outlet in furniture merchandising.

    Cons

    Culture of the Denver location is toxic with constant complaining and lack of team effort. Harassment and gender bias is tolerated. I was the fourth visual in two years in the Denver location to quit do to lack of support.

    Advice to Management

    Training is desperately needed for management. The skill level is the lowest I have ever experienced.

    Scandinavian Designs2019-01-14
  6. "Sales Assistant/Warehouse Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scandinavian Designs full-time

    Pros

    Consistent Hours through out the week

    Cons

    Short staffed in many stores.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Scandinavian Designs2018-10-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Warehouse Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager/Supervisor in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scandinavian Designs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Have worked for 37 Years and razed 4 Children On What I could bring in We Have the best service in town for customers

    Cons

    Still making the same amount of money for the past 10 years per hour have lost our side jobs so that’s a big cut in pay

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with salaries and the cost-of-living So you keep the good workers

    Scandinavian Designs2018-05-11
  8. "Design consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scandinavian Designs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Pay is not that great.

    Advice to Management

    Nome

    Scandinavian Designs2018-02-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scandinavian Designs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The product assortment. We have a nice range of styles and price. The company is wanting and willing to grow. Treat by HQ when they visit as a business partner as they aren’t stuffy the way other companies executives are.

    Cons

    I don’t mind being texted or called in day off with a delivery/customer issue, or to cover a shift. All other issues I mind being contacted about on my day off. The field in N Cal experienced too many changes in the 17 year that resulted in lowering customer experience, and put sales + warehouse teams through unnecessary stress. It seems as if there are a few type A people in HQ that could have spent more time... “playing the tape forward”. In the past 6 months I have applied for 2 positions. One was a promotion. Applied Aug. My GM hasn’t even acknowledged that they received my application. The other 1 is lateral at another location. Its a 3-way decision. I’ve interviewed with 2 and not my GM. That was last week. I have disability. I disclosed to my store manager when I began. There has been a couple bumps that have came up in my development. It has come in a way where I feel disclosing to my boss was wrong as it has been used against me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Store managers need to know more HR topics in education.

    Scandinavian Designs2018-01-10

    Scandinavian Designs Response

    January 29, 2018HR MGR.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We welcome an opportunity to discuss your experiences with you. Please contact our corporate offices at (707) 778-1600 and ask for Human Resources so we can find out more details and follow up with the appropriate senior level management.

    Show Less
  10. "Chaotic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scandinavian Designs full-time

    Pros

    Once getting past the 120 day training phase, the commissions are fair.

    Cons

    Hostile sales floor, sales associates fighting over ups, screaming, yelling, waving their hands in the air in front of customers.

    Advice to Management

    Get a back bone and get control of the staff.

    Scandinavian Designs2017-12-07
Found 20 reviews