Scatterlight Studios Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
1.6
14%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Easy Working

    Oct 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Hollywood, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like the working environment as well as the people there. Friendly environment, Easy working, Flexible timing

    Cons

    For now, Nothing to mention.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Freelancer

    Fraud

    Oct 15, 2018 - Creative Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your skin might get thicker.

    Cons

    Being in the industry for a long time and having worked with a lot of different studios, I strongly encourage anyone to AVOID working with Chris Billig in any way. He has a lot of lawsuits on him already. He would do anything to stay in the business, it doesn't matter if it's ethical or lawful. Even on Glassdoor he is trying to fill this page with fake reviews, I know everyone went through Scatterlight Studios. There can't be anyone talking about this place positively. Because he basically "does not pay" . He is trying to take advantage of newcomers, and as soon as they find out what's going on, they leave. Look at the projects on the website. 90 percent of them are old stuff. Any established good design studio will have things would back up the team or the owner online. Google it, there is nothing regarding to Chris, or his studio. He is been trying all sorts of things to run this shady business. Please at least ask to other professionals in the industry about him and find out; he is either unknown or involved in undesired business experiences. If there is anything that would prove the opposite of what I've been telling, I would gladly adjust or delete my review.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    BEWARE OF FAKE 5-star reviews posted by Chris Billig

    Aug 26, 2018 - Art Director in West Hollywood, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing good I can say about working for Chris Billig

    Cons

    I need to first point out that Chris Billig has obviously paid for (or had people write) all the 5-star reviews that were added recently. Please skip to the 1-star reviews to learn the ugly truth about Chris Billig and his corrupt operation. I can vouch for all the stories of him not paying artists because I know and keep in touch with most of them. We know for a fact that the influx of positive, yet generic reviews are fake because 'til this day, Chris Billig still runs the studio by deceiving and cheating.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    It will be your worst time in a career.

    Oct 29, 2018 - Senior Motion Graphics Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Will be knowledgeable about how to submit a case for small courts claim and will google, ask, and research for how to get an unpaid work.

    Cons

    Owner Chris Billig is the biggest scammer you ever ever, EVER meet. You will be so grateful if you read these comments below and not work there. However, if you become one of victims by this scammer, your only wish would be "Wish, I knew about this guy and scatterlight studio before." It happened to me. There were many red flags while working there. 60 net pays, weird scheduling process, and being paid thru "Bill.com?" Now it all came down to a point where "Oh, this guy planned everything before an artist realized he/she was in big trouble to getting their payments..." Net 60, why? because by the time you leave Scatterlight studio, you have no communication tools to talk this guy to pay you. Literally, he will be ignoring you once "you find out there are multiple artists' cases against him either small claims court or Labor Department" and you are telling him you are going to take this to the court. Before that, his excuses will be "Sorry, your payment will be coming in next week. Blah blah blah. Weird scheduling, why? He just verbally extended my booking, and didn't give me a formal booking confirmation because...I have no official email saying my booking will be extended. This is a trouble if you want to take this case to the court. So if you are happened to be working there, get all official documents! Bill.com: why? His suggested payment banking system is located in Delaware(Bankcorp) Have you heard any studios paying thru Bill.com? Why is that? Because you can't get any access to his contacts or information thru this website so once he ignores your call, your only wish would be "Wish I read that reviews." Now, working around the industry, I was shocked to witness so many artists being victimized by this Scammer Chris Billig and Scatterlight studio. If you still want to work with him? Make sure you signed all the necessary documents, contracts, and legal issues before this horrible experience will occur to you. Hope this review will save you "A Big Time!"

    12 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    DO NOT WORK HERE!

    Oct 18, 2018 - 3D VFX Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You'll learn A LOT about the legal system.

    Cons

    Where to begin? It's not often in life (at least not for me) that you run into someone like Chris Billig and or Scatterlight Studios - (They're one in the same). At first he comes off as a nice guy. An idea man. Someone who seems to want the best for everyone. However, as time goes on you really begin to understand how accurate all of the other 1 star reviews are. It's really sad to watch this guy just destroy what could have been a decent studio. All because he can't see past his own ego. Where he once did business out of a shiny shared office space on Sunset Blvd. has turned as of late into a shell of a company he's been operating out of his house. Chris Billig (Sole Owner) owes money all over town. He's actively being sued by several individuals through either Small Claims or the Dept. of Labor. Advice; DO NOT WORK FOR THIS GUY. IF you do however, for some bewildering reason make darn sure you draw up your own ironclad contract that everyone signs. Save ALL correspondence, get confirmation for ALL submitted invoices from both Chris and his sidekick accountant prior to continuing work and DO NOT accept payment through Bill.com (an intermediary between Bankcorp and you). Chris will claim it's a faster way of processing invoices when in fact it's just a tool for him to delay. He pays artists from a bank based out of the state of Delaware (Bankcorp). That should tell you something folks. Seriously though, why take the risk of working for someone like this when there are a ton of other studios who actually pay their artists on time and do great work.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Horrible Company! You will not get paid.

    Sep 27, 2018 - Independent Consultant in West Hollywood, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing. Absolutely nothing! Don't be foolish by owner compliments.

    Cons

    The owner, Chris, will hire you with the intention of NOT paying. Before you even consider, go to ca.gov court website and at the department of labor and see how many open cases are against him. Even when people pay, he won't pay. He is an absolute scammer. So sad how he allows himself to play with people's lives. I worked on a huge project and never got paid. Like many others, had to take him to court or Department of Labor, and still, he won't pay.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Can't fight the tide, it's a bad place to work.

    Nov 6, 2018 - Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    He will let you direct the whole project.

    Cons

    You won't get paid... If you DO get paid, it's only because he needs you for another gig. But when he DOESN't need you, he will not pay. He has abandoned over 25 artists now... Also, it should be a red flag that he WILL NOT sign a meaningful contract with you.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Get Your Money Upfront

    Feb 27, 2019 - Storyboard Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is no 'pro' - He's a wanna-be.

    Cons

    The typical "lie to your face and ghost when the work is done" sleazeball.

    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    All One Star Reviews are Accurate

    Sep 21, 2018 - Freelance Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the building has a nice courtyard

    Cons

    I did not receive payment for my work and the owner, Chris Billig, has avoided my calls and emails for months. Most seasoned industry designers know to avoid this place, but I implore all recent grads looking for work, people from out of state, and anyone else entering this industry to STAY AWAY FROM THIS STUDIO!!

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Contractor

    A company in deep legal trouble

    Sep 18, 2018 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great view from the windows of the office subleased from a better, legitimate company.

    Cons

    This company and owner are embroiled in so many lawsuits over unpaid workers that it’s a miracle he has the resources to pay for the fake reviews elsewhere on this page.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Work at Scatterlight Studios? Share Your Experiences

or