Scatterlight Studios Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
1.6
14%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Easy Working"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like the working environment as well as the people there. Friendly environment, Easy working, Flexible timing

    Cons

    For now, Nothing to mention.

    Continue reading
    Scatterlight Studios2018-10-15
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Get Your Money Upfront"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Storyboard Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Scatterlight Studios for less than a year

    Pros

    There is no 'pro' - He's a wanna-be.

    Cons

    The typical "lie to your face and ghost when the work is done" sleazeball.

    Scatterlight Studios2019-02-27
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Can't fight the tide, it's a bad place to work."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios for less than a year

    Pros

    He will let you direct the whole project.

    Cons

    You won't get paid... If you DO get paid, it's only because he needs you for another gig. But when he DOESN't need you, he will not pay. He has abandoned over 25 artists now... Also, it should be a red flag that he WILL NOT sign a meaningful contract with you.

    Continue reading
    Scatterlight Studios2018-11-06
  4. Helpful (11)

    "It will be your worst time in a career."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Senior Motion Graphics Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios for less than a year

    Pros

    Will be knowledgeable about how to submit a case for small courts claim and will google, ask, and research for how to get an unpaid work.

    Cons

    Owner Chris Billig is the biggest scammer you ever ever, EVER meet. You will be so grateful if you read these comments below and not work there. However, if you become one of victims by this scammer, your only wish would be "Wish, I knew about this guy and scatterlight studio before." It happened to me. There were many red flags while working there. 60 net pays, weird scheduling process, and being paid thru "Bill.com?" Now it all came down to a point where "Oh, this guy planned everything before an artist realized he/she was in big trouble to getting their payments..." Net 60, why? because by the time you leave Scatterlight studio, you have no communication tools to talk this guy to pay you. Literally, he will be ignoring you once "you find out there are multiple artists' cases against him either small claims court or Labor Department" and you are telling him you are going to take this to the court. Before that, his excuses will be "Sorry, your payment will be coming in next week. Blah blah blah. Weird scheduling, why? He just verbally extended my booking, and didn't give me a formal booking confirmation because...I have no official email saying my booking will be extended. This is a trouble if you want to take this case to the court. So if you are happened to be working there, get all official documents! Bill.com: why? His suggested payment banking system is located in Delaware(Bankcorp) Have you heard any studios paying thru Bill.com? Why is that? Because you can't get any access to his contacts or information thru this website so once he ignores your call, your only wish would be "Wish I read that reviews." Now, working around the industry, I was shocked to witness so many artists being victimized by this Scammer Chris Billig and Scatterlight studio. If you still want to work with him? Make sure you signed all the necessary documents, contracts, and legal issues before this horrible experience will occur to you. Hope this review will save you "A Big Time!"

    Scatterlight Studios2018-10-29
  5. Helpful (9)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D VFX Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You'll learn A LOT about the legal system.

    Cons

    Where to begin? It's not often in life (at least not for me) that you run into someone like Chris Billig and or Scatterlight Studios - (They're one in the same). At first he comes off as a nice guy. An idea man. Someone who seems to want the best for everyone. However, as time goes on you really begin to understand how accurate all of the other 1 star reviews are. It's really sad to watch this guy just destroy what could have been a decent studio. All because he can't see past his own ego. Where he once did business out of a shiny shared office space on Sunset Blvd. has turned as of late into a shell of a company he's been operating out of his house. Chris Billig (Sole Owner) owes money all over town. He's actively being sued by several individuals through either Small Claims or the Dept. of Labor. Advice; DO NOT WORK FOR THIS GUY. IF you do however, for some bewildering reason make darn sure you draw up your own ironclad contract that everyone signs. Save ALL correspondence, get confirmation for ALL submitted invoices from both Chris and his sidekick accountant prior to continuing work and DO NOT accept payment through Bill.com (an intermediary between Bankcorp and you). Chris will claim it's a faster way of processing invoices when in fact it's just a tool for him to delay. He pays artists from a bank based out of the state of Delaware (Bankcorp). That should tell you something folks. Seriously though, why take the risk of working for someone like this when there are a ton of other studios who actually pay their artists on time and do great work.

    Continue reading
    Scatterlight Studios2018-10-18
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Fraud"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Creative Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios

    Pros

    Your skin might get thicker.

    Cons

    Being in the industry for a long time and having worked with a lot of different studios, I strongly encourage anyone to AVOID working with Chris Billig in any way. He has a lot of lawsuits on him already. He would do anything to stay in the business, it doesn't matter if it's ethical or lawful. Even on Glassdoor he is trying to fill this page with fake reviews, I know everyone went through Scatterlight Studios. There can't be anyone talking about this place positively. Because he basically "does not pay" . He is trying to take advantage of newcomers, and as soon as they find out what's going on, they leave. Look at the projects on the website. 90 percent of them are old stuff. Any established good design studio will have things would back up the team or the owner online. Google it, there is nothing regarding to Chris, or his studio. He is been trying all sorts of things to run this shady business. Please at least ask to other professionals in the industry about him and find out; he is either unknown or involved in undesired business experiences. If there is anything that would prove the opposite of what I've been telling, I would gladly adjust or delete my review.

    Continue reading
    Scatterlight Studios2018-10-15
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible Company! You will not get paid."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Independent Consultant in West Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing. Absolutely nothing! Don't be foolish by owner compliments.

    Cons

    The owner, Chris, will hire you with the intention of NOT paying. Before you even consider, go to ca.gov court website and at the department of labor and see how many open cases are against him. Even when people pay, he won't pay. He is an absolute scammer. So sad how he allows himself to play with people's lives. I worked on a huge project and never got paid. Like many others, had to take him to court or Department of Labor, and still, he won't pay.

    Continue reading
    Scatterlight Studios2018-09-27
  8. Helpful (10)

    "All One Star Reviews are Accurate"

    1.0
    Former Freelancer - Freelance Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios for less than a year

    Pros

    the building has a nice courtyard

    Cons

    I did not receive payment for my work and the owner, Chris Billig, has avoided my calls and emails for months. Most seasoned industry designers know to avoid this place, but I implore all recent grads looking for work, people from out of state, and anyone else entering this industry to STAY AWAY FROM THIS STUDIO!!

    Continue reading
    Scatterlight Studios2018-09-22
  9. Helpful (12)

    "A company in deep legal trouble"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios

    Pros

    A great view from the windows of the office subleased from a better, legitimate company.

    Cons

    This company and owner are embroiled in so many lawsuits over unpaid workers that it’s a miracle he has the resources to pay for the fake reviews elsewhere on this page.

    Continue reading
    Scatterlight Studios2018-09-19
  10. Helpful (11)

    "5 Stars are clearly fakes"

    1.0
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scatterlight Studios

    Pros

    Don't believe the reviews here? Google "Lawsuits vs. Chris Billig" and you will find many hundreds of thousands of dollars in damages and claims. He will not pay.

    Cons

    See the above... he is a con. He owes everyone he's been in business with past, present and soon to be future.

    Continue reading
    Scatterlight Studios2018-09-14
Found 14 reviews