Schellman & Company Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
Pros
  • "They also have 4 quarterly bonuses that are very high(in 22 reviews)

  • "The work/life balance here is incredible(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If you are able to get your work done independently are efficient with your time, you will love working for Schellman(in 10 reviews)

  • "Thus, when not on the road, I am working from home(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Great company, outstanding benefits, and good people

      Apr 29, 2021 - Senior Associate in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Schellman took great care of us during the pandemic and immediately ceased travel once it was determined to be unsafe. We were all able to keep working from home throughout the pandemic, and while we didn't get some of the usual travel perks that we would have otherwise had, we had great compensation and profit-sharing. (Can't wait to get back out on the road and do a company-wide trip again!) Management listens to concerns and advocates to senior leadership to get what we need. When people noted the relatively high cost of family health insurance, senior leadership made a huge step and reduced the cost to the employee by a whopping 70%. (Individual health insurance is still FREE).

      Cons

      Our team operates very lean (2 Seniors and 1 Manager per project) and when deadlines come around you have to deliver. Overall though I'm not putting in an insane amount of overtime, just a few late nights when there's a deadline.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      New benefits rock

      May 13, 2021 - Senior Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home since covid has been great for me and my family. I’ve been given a stipend to get items to be efficient. The leadership is top notch. Definitely cares about us and not profits. Lots of new benefits. 100% medical pay which saves me 7500 a year! I heard they are thinking about things like a stipend for workout equipment. So cool!!!

      Cons

      Can’t think of any. When we start traveling it would be a con for sure.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing company, amazing people!

      May 11, 2021 - Senior IT Auditor in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you like a mix of working independently and within a team this is for you. No babysitting, you are trusted to get your work done and you should! Everything is put at your disposition to succeed. Really, if you have a good head, are responsible with your work, you would love working for Schellman. You get exposure to various companies and I found the best part of my job was working with my clients and having many opportunities to be their main point of contact. Teammate were incredible, I met some of the most amazing & smart people at Schellman! Management is really helpful and always available, you just have to ask!

      Cons

      The work can get repetitive, I mean how fun are compliance examinations really ? :), but, it does grow your expertise and make you a subject matter expert. The allowed timeline to complete the examinations are not always sufficient.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Incredible Company - I love my job!

      Feb 15, 2021 - Senior Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I absolutely love working for Schellman. I left Public Accounting for all of the typical reasons (i.e. - no work life balance, overworked, terrible distribution of workload, feeling like a number...). I read Schellman's Glassdoor reviews before accepting and honestly thought it was too good to be true. I'm happy to report that after almost two years here, I love my job! The Pros: -Excellent work life balance with remote working -Management is extremely knowledgeable and is not afraid to roll up their sleeves and help with the work load -Plenty of learning opportunities and webinars; certifications are encouraged -Fantastic pay, benefits, and bonuses

      Cons

      -Work can be fast paced at times. It can be easy to fall behind with engagement stack if you lack time management skills. -Remote work is not for everyone. You must be diligent, accountable and have a structured schedule. -Although the methodology is standard across the firm, there are still some managers with different documentation/testing methods, though a huge improvement from most Public Accounting firms.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Best Career Choice!

      May 13, 2021 - Operations in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the benefits and the people at Schellman!

      Cons

      We are growing so rapidly, which is a great thing, but we are really busy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Love it here

      Dec 16, 2020 - Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. People (Leadership, Senior Managers, Managers, Senior Associates, and the Support Personnel). Everyone is amazing and hard working. 2. The perks. Remote work. Corp trip. Quarterly bonuses (profit sharing). Random gifts. 10% match on 401K. Lasik. The list is endless and therefore total compensation crushes most other companies that have a higher salary. 3. People again. Poor performers are weeded out. Not in a bad way either, those who struggle are offered guidance and help. Those who fake work (copy / paste) or straight up don't complete their projects are let go. Those who stay will stay for a long time. Team cohesion is high and employees feel like family very quickly. 4. Support. From leadership (CEO / President) to Principals, all the way to the support staff such as report writers, HR, and IT folks. Everyone will go way out of their way to help and ensure you have the tools and resources you need. 5. Diversity and transparency. Diversity is absolutely celebrated here. Everyone is welcoming. Company transparency is also a core value. Everyone is involved in decision making for the company at some level.

      Cons

      Not a 40 hour a week job.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      good

      Apr 9, 2021 - IT Auditor in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good compensation for the filed.

      Cons

      no office to collaborate with team.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture, Great Company

      Apr 1, 2021 - Senior Associate in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A+ Benefits, Great projects, Great culture

      Cons

      No cons at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Feb 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people, crushing the game. Amazing benefits. CEO is the best guy out there. Work/life balance is great. Great pay. Lots of learning opportunities and career development options.

      Cons

      The close knit laid back culture is quickly disappearing. A sharp turn corporate and more hierarchical with no visible benefit. Working around the clock won't get you ahead in ops so don't bother past 5pm.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place I have ever worked!

      Mar 7, 2021 - Senior Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quarterly bonus, company trip, work from anywhere.

      Cons

      Expensive health insurance compared to industry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 138 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Schellman & Company Job Seekers

    Senior IT Auditor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Penetration Tester (Associate)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Schellman & Company? Share Your Experiences

    Schellman & Company logo
    or