Schlumberger Field Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Schlumberger Field Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Schlumberger CEO Olivier Le Peuch
Olivier Le Peuch
9 Ratings
  1. "Outstanding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and life experience. Continuous training and climbing the promotion ladder.

    Cons

    Lots of travel and getting moved around.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Schlumberger2019-12-09
  2. "Field Engineer at a Service Provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Larose, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with schedule and money

    Cons

    Inability to plan ahead with business needs constantly changing

    Schlumberger2019-12-05
  3. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Houston, TX

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to get experience

    Cons

    Long working hours. Hostile work environment

    Advice to Management

    should pay more attention to employees

    Schlumberger2019-12-11
  4. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wireline Field Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, people, experience, learning curve, international

    Cons

    Pressure, no social life, no job security

    Schlumberger2019-11-13
  5. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is worth working in rough conditions.

    Cons

    It is hard to balance your life with work.

    Advice to Management

    Great

    Schlumberger2019-11-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "For the work they expect, you should get paid more..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working on rotations gives you more time to travel and enjoy life when you're off. The money isn't bad either.

    Cons

    Management is ABSOLUTE RUBBISH. Treatment is abusive, seriously!! borderline slavery. They promised a 2 week on, 1 week off rotation, then we ended up stranded in the desert for over a month straight. When that was done, they refused to book us flight tickets home and said that if we wanted to leave, we had to pay for it ourselves, when we were literally in the middle of nowhere!!!! You're supposed to work a 12... hour shift, but in fact, it's more like 16 hours straight most days. It was just brutal. Then the paycheck at the end of the month just didn't add up in comparison to the work put in. Not worth the misery! But that's just me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't know where to start... Read a book or two on basic management perhaps.

    Schlumberger2019-11-25
  7. "Field Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Made close and lifelong friends with some fellow Field Engineers. Learned to read and interpret Open Hole Logs proficiently. If you manage to stay in the Upstream Oil & Gas industry after doing your time at Schlumberger, they do look good on your resume and experience list.

    Cons

    Very Long HOURS. Usually staying up over 24 hours or more on jobs. Usually 100 hours a week. A junior field engineer didn't really have days off, and is on call 24/7 to go catch hot shots and "kill rats" at the whim of FSM and senior engineers. Recruiter completely lied about bonuses and making 100k a year. I made an average of 60k a year, which was not worth the work at all. Very unsafe, you were expected to... lie on your driving hours and hours you have slept in order to make jobs or you would have been laid off immediately. Expected to be at shop at 8am everyday regardless of job volume or tool calibrations that needed doing. Very limited upward mobility unless you make it all the way to General Field Engineer Status, and the chance of being laid off is extremely high before you get to that point. Out of my initial onboarding PEPTEC class, only one person has made it to General Field Engineer, the rest 60 or so have all been laid off.

    Show More
    Schlumberger2019-12-12
  8. "Great benefits and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Broussard, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay, hard to beat in oilfield services. Management prioritizes personal growth. Most employees are professional and friendly.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be a challenge. Local management is too lax with incompetent/unreliable employees. HQ's vision of the org chart isn't appropriate for smaller product lines and locations.

    Schlumberger2019-11-02
  9. "Terrible work life balance but OK pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Field Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time

    Pros

    Money is good and international opportunity

    Cons

    The company thinks it is a privilege and not a choice to work there

    Schlumberger2019-11-01
  10. "Good Experience, though disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Field Engineer Intern 

    I worked at Schlumberger for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, interesting people, good compensation

    Cons

    Odd hours, always outside in the heat, male-dominant environment

    Advice to Management

    A bit disorganized, first during the hiring process and then during the actual internship. Would be nice if there were a more concrete plan for interns.

    Schlumberger2019-10-21
Found 711 reviews