Schlumberger Field Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Schlumberger Field Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Schlumberger CEO Olivier Le Peuch
Olivier Le Peuch
11 Ratings
  1. "Outstanding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and life experience. Continuous training and climbing the promotion ladder.

    Cons

    Lots of travel and getting moved around.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Schlumberger2019-12-09
  2. "Awesome for ex-graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wireline Field Engineer in Norway, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel, meet amazing people, benefits are good, oilfield life is fun

    Cons

    You will rarely be at home

    Schlumberger2020-01-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Come work for us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging, good training opportunities and good remuneration.

    Cons

    demanding work pressure and deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    work life balance needs to be improved

    Schlumberger2020-01-07
  4. "Great company to get entry level experience and training for the oil field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide an outstanding training program. No prior oil field experience is necessary

    Cons

    It is a large company, so you are treated more like a number or an asset than a person. Depending on the product line you choose, you might love your job or hate it.

    Advice to Management

    Need to take into account personal considerations and evaluate every aspect of employees rather than treating them as just a number. Also need better management

    Schlumberger2019-12-28
  5. "Field Engineer at a Service Provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Larose, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with schedule and money

    Cons

    Inability to plan ahead with business needs constantly changing

    Schlumberger2019-12-05
  6. "Illusive management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wireline Field Engineer in Fort Morgan, CO
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The schedule. Having a behemoth company builds a strong resume.

    Cons

    Low pay - you get hired at $72,080/year but that’s because you have a $10,000/year training bonus. Once you get promoted from JFE to FE, that bonus gets taken away and you start making $62,000 a year but begin making job bonuses. You get NO OVERTIME since you’re salary (which is unheard of, any other engineering company will pay you for your work over 50 hours a week). Management WILL sweet talk you and tell you what you want to hear to retain you. This happened in my personal experience as well as many others I knew - it’ll happen to you, don’t think you’re different. You will get transferred and find out the week that you’re supposed to move. Your offer letter for your segment will change, mine did twice before I started, and once during my orientation/training. Also - STAY AWAY FROM WIRELINE. The equipment is old and from the 90’s and malfunctions and shuts off during jobs and it’s your sole responsibility to fix it. The tools fail regularly and it’s your responsibility to troubleshoot them and repair them. This is the only segment that doesn’t have shift work - you can be stranded out on jobs for literally days. I was stuck in northern Wyoming in -20 degree weather from Thursday - Tuesday sleeping in a pickup truck with no relief and no additional pay. During this pay period I worked 234 hours and got paid $1800 after taxes. Any segment in SLB will pigeon hole you - don’t think any one is better than another; they’re not. Your career path with SLB will prepare you to move into an office job where you don’t do much nor do you gain transferable skills, so if/when you get laid off - be prepared to be out of work for 6+ months while you look for a new industry to restart your career in.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit - get a new career. You work 7 days a week day and night for $120,000 a year. The juice isn’t worth the squeeze and you know it. You’re worth more than what you’re getting.

    Schlumberger2019-12-18
  7. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Houston, TX

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to get experience

    Cons

    Long working hours. Hostile work environment

    Advice to Management

    should pay more attention to employees

    Schlumberger2019-12-11
  8. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wireline Field Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, people, experience, learning curve, international

    Cons

    Pressure, no social life, no job security

    Schlumberger2019-11-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "For the work they expect, you should get paid more..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working on rotations gives you more time to travel and enjoy life when you're off. The money isn't bad either.

    Cons

    Management is ABSOLUTE RUBBISH. Treatment is abusive, seriously!! borderline slavery. They promised a 2 week on, 1 week off rotation, then we ended up stranded in the desert for over a month straight. When that was done, they refused to book us flight tickets home and said that if we wanted to leave, we had to pay for it ourselves, when we were literally in the middle of nowhere!!!! You're supposed to work a 12 hour shift, but in fact, it's more like 16 hours straight most days. It was just brutal. Then the paycheck at the end of the month just didn't add up in comparison to the work put in. Not worth the misery! But that's just me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't know where to start... Read a book or two on basic management perhaps.

    Schlumberger2019-11-25
  10. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is worth working in rough conditions.

    Cons

    It is hard to balance your life with work.

    Advice to Management

    Great

    Schlumberger2019-11-11
Found 720 reviews