Schlumberger Field Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Schlumberger Field Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Schlumberger CEO Olivier Le Peuch
Olivier Le Peuch
11 Ratings
  1. "Good money, no work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Casper, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money, promote from within, learn a lot

    Cons

    No time home with family, large responsibility early on

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard efforts with better work schedules

    Schlumberger2019-03-20
  2. "good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    its a good start if you are an engineer trying to get into oil and gas

    Cons

    no job security, schedule and work hours are terrible

    Schlumberger2019-03-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Unorganized—don’t care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time

    Pros

    Salary, benefits—can’t think of any other pros

    Cons

    Poor communication. HR is in Bogota, so it’s almost impossible to get someone to speak with you. They forgot to pay me and it took a month to get it sorted out. They put someone else’s SSN on my paperwork, which affected my benefits and my taxes—still trying to get my tax situation sorted out. The instructors were bias and the training was very poor.

    Schlumberger2019-03-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Frac"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time

    Pros

    Good pay for an engineer out of college

    Cons

    Very long hours and poor living conditions

    Schlumberger2019-02-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great learning experience, company ran by objectives not order"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Field Engineer in Houma, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of wonderful learning experience, and great schooling during offshore.

    Cons

    No time off, no schedule, upper management doesn’t listen to employees, and system out in place people only check off they are not made sure they work and seriously consider if they work.

    Advice to Management

    Speak up when the CEO has idiotic ideas that don’t work in North Amerixa

    Schlumberger2019-02-03
  6. "The world's largest oilfield service company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer - Directional Driller in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SLB always had plenty of work, solid benefits, OK pay, overall good people in the field positions. Good opportunities at the upper management levels for people who want to advance in grade within the company.

    Cons

    SLB's pay is a bit lower than smaller directional companies. However sometimes the jobs SLB secured seemed more preferable. SLB culture promotes an unhealthy lifestyle, and doesn't value its field employees enough. However, that was made pretty clear in interviewing.

    Advice to Management

    Push for higher pay and more relaxed/fix schedules in the field and shop level, and get more sleep yourselves :)

    Schlumberger2019-01-22
  7. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady pay check, paid flights

    Cons

    Low pay for field work, erratic schedules, work life balance

    Schlumberger2019-02-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good pay. Not good work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Midland, TX

    I have been working at Schlumberger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The paycheck will keep you there.

    Cons

    Being gone for weeks at a time. Also, you have to be very flexible all the time, without much flexibility from management when you need it.

    Advice to Management

    Facilitate needs of employees, as the employees facilitate the needs of the company.

    Schlumberger2019-01-28
  9. "This was a mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not really any besides paycheck

    Cons

    Way overworked with little to do

    Advice to Management

    Treat new employees like they matter not like they are disposable

    Schlumberger2019-02-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Horrendous treatment of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TPS Field Engineer in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schlumberger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive compensation, international travel, technologically advanced

    Cons

    Bonus policy administered at the will of management, less than 24hr work schedule notice, failure to honor vacation time, disregard for accrued time off, stagnated work-force, failure to invest in future generations. A bloated giant drowning to survive in a long-term down market with an unsustainable business model for the future.

    Advice to Management

    Will have to make an attempt to keep the experienced individuals from continuing to walk out the door. Must value the contributions and future potential of the experienced as hiring qualified trainees has always been an extremely difficult task.

    Schlumberger2019-02-06
Found 720 reviews