Schneider Reviews | Glassdoor

Schneider Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 937 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Schneider CEO Mark Rourke
Mark Rourke
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible and great people everywhere(in 36 reviews)

  • "Good home time for dedicated, get paid well if you run(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for industry but average for a first job(in 32 reviews)

  • "Dispatch is not very knowledgeable(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Happy driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider full-time

    Pros

    Schneider have good and newer trucks and is all about safety all time

    Cons

    don't have anything to share

    Advice to Management

    Continue offering safety training

    Schneider2019-07-29

    Schneider Response

    August 8, 2019Digital Media Representative

    Wow, thank you for your five start review! We are so glad to have you on the team and that you are having such a wonderful experience! hope you stay happy here with our Safety, equipment and feeling valued. Thank you for driving Orange and drive safe!

  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider

    Pros

    Great culture and benefits throughout.

    Cons

    Transportation can require long hours and commitment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build on a culture of excellence.

    Schneider2019-08-12
  3. "Good company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Carrier Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and uncapped commission

    Cons

    Tough first year. Best reps have their success from being at the position a long time and being grandfathered accounts when reps leave

    Schneider2019-08-13
  4. "If I could still drive trucks I’d still be driving for Schneider National"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schneider full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They got me home on time and the people at every operation center or very nice

    Cons

    Donely thing I didn’t like was that the truck wouldn’t idol At certain temperatures

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    Schneider2019-08-07
  5. "Not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in West Memphis, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good on a dedicated route with consistent miles, $1000 minimum weekly

    Cons

    None yet. They keep me pretty consistent with the mileage

    Schneider2019-08-05

    Schneider Response

    August 8, 2019Digital Media Representative

    Thanks for the review! It's our goal to keep drivers moving and we so glad you are experiencing that! Drive safe and thank you for driving Orange!

  6. "Great company that lives out the values they preach."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schneider

    Pros

    Culture, Growth opportunities, Training, People, Incentive

    Cons

    Slow to think differently Long time employees can get entrenched in status quo

    Schneider2019-08-02
  7. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Direct communication with management is a plus. They do listen and care about the long term viability of the company.

    Cons

    No holiday pay. No sick days. Only 1 week of vacation after 52 weeks. No set policy for detention pay, layover pay.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to retain workers longer offer better pay and better benefits.

    Schneider2019-08-15
  8. "Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility they are great on moving people up within the conpany

    Cons

    Shut down with a 2 week notice

    Schneider2019-08-15
  9. "Good company, bad manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Specialist 

    I worked at Schneider full-time

    Pros

    They have "flex" time off rather than "sick" time off, so you can use that for vacation or any other reason. You end up getting 3 weeks off to start that you can use for whatever reason which is a lot higher than most companies.

    Cons

    If you work under a bad manager, it makes it very unenjoyable.

    Schneider2019-08-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not the Parent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Manager in Savannah, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schneider full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Strong parent company with good reputation. 2. Good onboarding process. 3. Innovative culture.

    Cons

    1. Weak company leadership (Port Logistics Division) 2. Unable to secure new business, fails to deliver on customer promises, ambiguous business strategy (lack strategic vision). 3. Compensation is fair for the market, not competitive with industry standards for the same position. 4. Heavy dependence on temp labor. 5. Technology platforms not robust or most up-to-date; multiple technical challenges. 6. Lack of solidified...

    Show More
    Schneider2019-07-30
Found 937 reviews