KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Schneider

Engaged Employer

Schneider

Add a Review

Schneider Employee Reviews about "driver"

Updated Jan 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 of over 1,411 reviews

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Schneider CEO Mark Rourke
Mark Rourke
212 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you have a great dispatcher or driver business leader, you will love your job(in 58 reviews)

  • "Awesome place to work, great people(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "low pay per mile, freight going to north east(in 40 reviews)

  • "Dispatch is illogical and sporadic(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Schneider and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "driver"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Reliable and enjoyable.

      Oct 4, 2020 - Local Inter-modal Driver in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoyed my time at Schneider. My boss was very flexible, my coworkers were a treat to talk to, and I had all the benefits of a local driver (home daily, knowing the area, regular routes) without the rote repetition of a dedicated driver. It was physically challenging, but being able to stop and take breaks when I needed to really helped keep me on my feet.

      Cons

      Tech support was only available weekdays during the day, and since my shift was weekends overnight…that meant I never got to solve tech issues while I needed them. Not a huge issue, since I generally had few tech problems, but something to consider if you aren’t comfortable solving your own tech problems.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A great company

      Jan 12, 2021 - Class A Truck Driver in Kansas City, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you have a great dispatcher or driver business leader, you will love your job. Decent equipment, and I was always home when I was promised.

      Cons

      Trucks won't idle until outside temperatures are either 70+ or below 20. Leads to some cold nights. My route description was changed from Midwest regional, to everything east of the rockies, and was not notified and expected to roll with it.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Schneider Response

      Marketing

      Thank you for your review and feedback. We truly value drivers and have started an initiative to improve driving experience. We are glad you enjoyed your home time and our fleet equipment. Take care.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to Start

      Nov 17, 2020 - OTR Driver in Gary, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent training program Driver Managers are very helpful Plenty of home time

      Cons

      Not great pay Truck driving is not for everybody

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to start a Driving Career

      Sep 24, 2020 - Class A Truck Driver in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Driver Friendly. Excellent Benefits. One of the best maintenance programs in the industry. Safety Conscious.

      Cons

      Long hours but that comes with the territory. Getting help from company staff can sometimes take a few minutes since they are a mega-carrier. Trucks governed at 60 in the Intermodal Division.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Caution

      Oct 2, 2020 - Driver Business Leader in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Receiving your paycheck every 2 weeks and strong on driver safety.

      Cons

      Allows drivers to be disrespectful to their leaders without pause and little disciplinary action. Lack of true support from higher management when there are major issues with drivers. Finger is generally pointed at the leader just retain a driver.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Honest company

      Jul 28, 2020 - Company Driver in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honest company! Very family oriented. The training is amazing and helps you succeed in your truck career. Love the way they operate. There methods and tools make it so much easier for the driver. Consistent miles and great home time. They really care about you as a person and your family. Decent pay and decent trucks. Love Schneider! Thank you for all you do for the industry.

      Cons

      Pay could be a little better. And newer trucks should go to senior drivers first and then down from them in my opinion.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Invasive policies and lack of integrity

      Jul 8, 2020 - OTR Team Driver in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have a very thorough training program. Might be a good fit for a nervous new driver that wants CONSTANT feedback and doesn't mind micromanagement.

      Cons

      This is the most invasive trucking company I've encountered. They call you constantly about safety issues as minor as 1mph over recommended speed on a slight curve or freeway interchange. Dispatch is illogical and sporadic. Lot of waiting around. Last straw was that they refused to pay a promised referral bonus.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great company

      Dec 21, 2019 - Truck Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      driver business leader was very helpful and understand

      Cons

      the system automatic adjust ETAs

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Schneider Response

      Digital Media Representative

      Thank you for taking time to write a review and making it five star! We are always trying to make things better on the technology front, we want it to work for drivers. We are so thrilled to hear that your DBL is helping you, but mostly we are glad you are part of our team. Drive safe!

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Typical Mega-Carrier

      Nov 14, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The driver managers are nice and am always home on time

      Cons

      The Schneider maintenance teams are slow and when you need maintenance on your tractor, you can plan to lose at least a day of work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Schneider Response

      Digital Media Representative

      Thank you so much for your review and comments. We are always looking for opportunities to improve and maintenance is a part of that. We are glad you are enjoying your home time on you OTR account and you DBL is working for you. Take care and drive safe.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great company with good benefits

      Jul 18, 2019 - Class A Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They do care about you as a driver, they always want feedback.

      Cons

      they have trouble keeping drivers, pay not above average

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Schneider Response

      Digital Media Representative

      We care for each and every one of our drivers and work hard to make the driver experience better so we are glad to hear you had that kind of experience. We review pay weekly to make sure it's competitive in the marketplace but are sorry your experience didn't live up to this. Drive safe out there and take care.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 58 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Schneider Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Schneider? Share Your Experiences

    or