Scholastic "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Scholastic Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 7 de Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Scholastic CEO Dick Robinson
Dick Robinson
306 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management seemed misguided and the industry of physical children’s books is fading(in 62 reviews)

  • "About 70% of the staff were temps, so don't expect to move up to full-time(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Digital Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic

    Pros

    Nice people, easygoing work environment

    Cons

    Workload can be light, not very meeting-oriented

    Scholastic2017-09-14
  2. "Short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Planner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company had a good work environment.

    Cons

    The position was only short term so that they can hire new people.

    Scholastic2019-06-07
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Good mission, but needs to catch up with the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees genuinely care about the mission. Great SoHo location, believe it's renovated now. Usually really good about time off and casual work environment.

    Cons

    A mess. From what I can tell, men are always paid more than women (surprise surprise). Not a lot of room for growth. Managers get to treat their direct reports like trash because of their connections to C-level people.

    Advice to Management

    Numerous (usually female) employees were offered a raise and promotion only AFTER they secured another job...after YEARS of working at Scholastic. Treat your people right, pay them what they're worth, stop hiring/promoting your friends, and take a careful look at the culture towards women.

    Scholastic2018-08-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scholastic full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly and creative staff. Makes for a very pleasant work environment.

    Cons

    Scholastic Trade has a gap between entry-level and senior-level employees. There is high turnover for those in-between because there is no support and little interest to help employees move up.

    Scholastic2018-05-14
  5. "Reading Club Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic

    Pros

    Comfortable work environment Good work/life balance Hands on management

    Cons

    Shorter periods of intensity within the departments with deadlines approaching

    Scholastic2017-05-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Production Systems Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and balance of work/Life. Most employees are very easy to work with.

    Cons

    Most design and editorial positions are temps and therefore have large turnover at end of projects. Yet, there are also temps that have been there for many years.

    Advice to Management

    Staff departments more realistically, to assure that talented people remain.

    Scholastic2017-05-10
  7. "Sometimes the bad outweighs the good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Scholastic full-time

    Pros

    Creative work environment, great colleagues, great area of town and close to everything, flexible work environment and good benefits

    Cons

    Clique-y and lots of internal politics

    Scholastic2017-02-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive work environment, friendly colleagues, sense of adding value to one's community

    Cons

    Low salaries; having to deal with dysfunctional, poorly managed, overbearing New York City corporate office

    Advice to Management

    Keep your distance from New York and push to purge the New York of its current leadership, especially the president/CEO

    Scholastic2017-02-02
  9. "fun place to get your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scholastic

    Pros

    - surrounded by children's books - fun work environment - great work/life balance

    Cons

    - upper management needs some younger, fresher eyes - company doesn't care much about its "freelance" employees (they have you on full-time mon-fri 9-5 but take very little care of these employees) - not a lot of opportunities for upward mobility - unless you're a favorite

    Advice to Management

    get in touch with your employees and listen to what they're saying. i hear a lot of disappointment with how things are and nothing ever seems to change

    Scholastic2017-01-06
  10. "Scholastic News Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic part-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the people I worked with and it was such a fun work environment

    Cons

    Didn't have as many writing opportunities as I would have liked

    Scholastic2016-11-09
Found 34 reviews