Scholastic "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Scholastic Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Scholastic CEO Dick Robinson
Dick Robinson
307 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management seemed misguided and the industry of physical children’s books is fading(in 62 reviews)

  • "About 70% of the staff were temps, so don't expect to move up to full-time(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 

    I have been working at Scholastic full-time

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, great people

    Cons

    The fact that they charge money for perks -the gym in the building, the coffee and snacks, etc. makes it feel like they're trying to make a profit off their employees, which is weird.

    Scholastic2019-06-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Financial analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scholastic

    Pros

    Great work life balance, rooftop views, cafeteria, paid holidays and good people

    Cons

    Empty promises, gossip and politic (like no joke high school), low pay with low raises, and insensitive to its temps.

    Advice to Management

    Look I get it. You worked hard, became a manager, got a director position, sailed the Scholastic ship through its golden years, and got to do the same thing day in and day out for YEARS, and it just worked perfectly. You got paid A LOT. Why change things? Why make life harder? But now, things are going down hill and management is only trying to change trivial things like giving away bonus points, how many coupons to... give away, tote bags, and now to improve the catalogs/kits. New flash. Things change and they change fast. The company is still doing the same thing it did 100 years ago and the fact that teachers can’t just use their phone to take a classroom order is why this business unfortunately failing. Advice? Cut the head off and let the neck grow. Listen to the younger employees. Hire within because you have passionate and sensitive employees who actually care. Otherwise just pray Amazon buys you out for a good price.

    Show More
    Scholastic2019-11-27
  3. "I love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scholastic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work with some great people in an awesome teamwork-driven environment. There is a great work-life balance. I feel supported in what I do currently and in my career path. Company paid furthering education, access to many readily available classes to further skill set in what we do. Benefits are good compared to most companies. Mission-focused. Team building activities to create and maintain positive work... relationships. Several employee appreciation events each year. And who would not feel contributing to a place that helps provide children with the tools they need to succeed in life?

    Show More

    Cons

    Not all departments are managed well, so make sure you interview your potential supervisor/boss during your interview. Some are micro-managers, others do not promote positive team environments. There is definitely a lot of favoritism and it is greatly reflected in those who are constantly receiving raises and promotions when there are others plenty deserving. Often, good employees are not retained because of the... management style in their work area. Projects are often rushed to implement without enough testing, causing frustration and avoidable time spent to correct. Pay is below industry standard, but I believe for those in positive work environments, it is well worth staying not only due to overall happiness, but because of all of the positives listed above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time upfront working out the kinks in projects, and increase testing. Run parallel current processes/systems rather than just shutting down one and starting up another. Upper management needs a higher level of accountability when it comes to choosing who to provide raises to and promotions to. Aside of that, keep up the good work!

    Scholastic2019-04-12
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Too much stress and not enough pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scholastic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health insurance Nice work life balance Summers off (unpaid)

    Cons

    The amount of stress that management and corporate put on us is not comparable to the pay we get. The company is out of touch with current trends and blames the consultants for not doing enough when we’re not given tools to succeed. They have us borderline harrass schools and parents for more fairs and when they say no we’re expected to contact them a week later to see if they changed their mind. We feel like... used car salesmen. Our pay is completely dependent upon a school’s fair success. If school is out due to snow, illness or weather then your pay is affected and you’re expected to make it up. It’s a joke

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t make fake reviews saying that your workers are gossipers. The only thing that keeps this place going is the support from our coworkers. You’ve had 7 people quit in 6 months, many of them had been here for years. Take a look around at the supervisors who’s team doesn’t hate them.

    Scholastic2019-03-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "In the process of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scholastic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is actually really good Slowly shifting towards newer tech stack Everyone is friendly and very casual especially if you work in the tech teams

    Cons

    Still using some outdated tech Health insurance expensive

    Advice to Management

    Nothing yet

    Scholastic2019-01-31
  6. "IT department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at Scholastic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Good work life balance

    Cons

    IT upper management seems to have different agenda then the user community

    Scholastic2018-10-26
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Tons of Potential - No Follow Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Developer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'd like to start the review with positives, because that's how Glassdoor forces me to do it anyway. I was an associate software developer at Scholastic for nearly a year there and I can say it had a lot of promise but ended up being such a terrible dud. Pros: - Work/Life balance: No one really cares much, ended up working from home often. If you value little work, you can get away with it. I tried my best to... keep busy, but even then I'd have a ton of downtime. - Other developers were generally nice and there to help. - Make you believe that things would move towards a tech driven company

    Show More

    Cons

    Cons...where do I begin. - Salary: Abysmal. Way below average for NYC developers. They tried to give us "quarterly reviews" to string us along for better salaries...but why should I way 2 years to get paid properly? - Poor usage of developers: So much young talent, so little exploration in technologies. Very old practices that have died out, refusal to look at anything new. People get too comfortable there and... progress is hindered. - Career roadmap: They expect you to have a maximum of 2 years before you go from associate to regular software developer. 2 years is too long to be an associate. I saw a few very competent developers get milked for a cheaper price because of this 2 year thing. - Management: I had lost 2 managers within 3 months of each other. One was a little too hands on with me, which is fine, but the other barely ever spoke to me and gave me no direction. I was without a manager for a couple of more months, with a lot of nothing to do, before I left. - Location: We were moved from a nice Midtown office to some warehouse in nowheresville Hudson Yards. Undoubtedly this was to save money, fine, but the warehouse was ugly and going to it every day made me feel like a robot. The place was all white and had no interior design at all. Commuting there was hell, as no trains were nearby. No food nearby, just some cafeteria downstairs. When we got there, upper management promised that they'd leverage their Scholastic IP and connections to really brighten up the place, add color and life to it...nope. 10 months later (including up until today, where I asked former employees) and still nothing. The engineers were sent to this warehouse, meanwhile the others are in the nice, very very roomy, Soho office. Yup...go figure. - Layoffs: Some random day, upper management had just decided to lay off a ton of employees. Very random, cut within a moment. Meanwhile, they have a ton of upper management who do nothing and none of them were cut (probably got raises as well). We lost a lot of developers within an instant. They didn't get a nice two week notice. Really made it easy to hand in my sub-2 week notice later on. This led to MANY other developers leaving because of fear of job security, putting a ton of pressure on those who stayed. -Product owners: Terrible people. During agile sprint planning they would CONSISTENTLY try and nudge developers to lower points on tickets to get as much tickets in as they can to maximize velocity. It was gross and totally against agile. - Offshore developers: Yeah, maintaining a 3 million line codebase where you see a lot of if(true) is not fun. We have way too many offshore devs, and the entire old codebase was made by them, so good luck trying to add a simple feature. This techstack is old and gross, to their benefit the developers were trying to move forward but they never got enough time to do it. It never got there. - Broken promises: CTO claimed to be going tech-centric in our first large meeting, completely backpedaled from that and told us they were going to be business oriented again. This led to the misuse of developers. A lot of fake talk about "we want you guys to explore technologies" but never giving us the time, hackathons, or anything to really go outside the bounds of a feature. Unless you were creating a new service, you had to play by old rules. And even with new services many times you were at the mercy of changing your technologies to work with the old systems because they couldn't give time to update theirs. I came to realize they didn't care about their developers much, the cared about upper management and metrics a ton more. Bad salary, bad coding practices, bad people, just overall a bad time. The only fun you can get is ragging on the company with the other associates and getting excited for them when they decide to actually progress their career. The atmosphere there was gloom towards the end, no one actually wanted to be there unless they were in a prominent position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying, start keeping those promises you made months ago. Offer what people are worth. Leverage the talent you have properly. There is a ton of hidden talent there that is being underutilized or utilized in the wrong way. Developers aren't cattle and aren't meant to be seen as so replaceable, that's how you start to quickly lose your developers. This company will lose more developers, I'm hoping that becomes... a wake up call to management when they do. and without some changes at the top will lose their spot in this world real quick.

    Show More
    Scholastic2018-09-27
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Company struggles in digital age"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scholastic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Work/life balance *Nice office *Good location

    Cons

    *Work in silos/Not much collaboration between business units or teams *Frequent layoffs/reorganizations *Moves slow *No clear direction or strategy for company

    Advice to Management

    View your people as an asset, not a cost center. Empower them to make decisions and take risks. Invest in your businesses or get out of them.

    Scholastic2018-08-11
  9. Helpful (6)

    "STS has some things to work on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scholastic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work-life balance - Ability to work from home - Generally nice, friendly people - Good brand, good mission - Relatively decent pay, with an effort to increase the Associates' pay up to market value.

    Cons

    - Not a good environment for entry-level employees. May just be my personal experience, but some of the more senior members on the team are scared for their jobs and are not willing to teach you, or leave out just enough information to keep you at entry level and not progress. - Team politics - Significant layoffs and people leaving earlier this year in STS - Silo-ed departments and teams - Training is... non-existent - CTO micromanages teams

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Create a rotational program for younger associates to explore interests - Establish a formal training program - More budget for social events across STS

    Scholastic2018-04-18
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Danbury, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scholastic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, culture, benefits, work-life balance

    Cons

    none to report at this time

    Scholastic2017-12-29
Found 96 reviews