School Outfitters Reviews | Glassdoor

School Outfitters Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Tom Brennan
20 Ratings
  1. "Great, Growing Company with integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Relations Coordinator in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at School Outfitters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture is very collaborative, supportive, and values integrity and honesty.

    Cons

    Still growing, still has room to develop new career opportunities.

    School Outfitters2019-06-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A tolerable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at School Outfitters full-time

    Pros

    Free lunches during the summer.

    Cons

    Management does not allow staff to make any decisions. All decisions are made by one person and she is very insecure, so she doesn't want anyone else to shine. Not a good way to run a company.

    Advice to Management

    You hire talented people. You should listen to them.

    School Outfitters2019-06-30
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales in Cincinnati, OH

      I worked at School Outfitters full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great atmosphere and friendly coworkers.

      Cons

      Limited opportunities to advance to management.

      School Outfitters2018-12-28
    • "A company that does things the right way"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cost Control Specialist in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at School Outfitters full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      School Outfitters creates an amazing work environment and gives you the freedom to shine. With perks like on site personal trainers, chair massages, and catered lunches it's an easy place to love

      Cons

      There is a seasonality in that they do more than 50% of their business ($100m+ in sales) just during the summer months. So during that time work load can feel unmanageable, and despite this seasonal pattern occurring every year they still have not come up with an adequate solution.

      School Outfitters2018-10-30
    • "Great Please"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Member in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at School Outfitters for less than a year

      Pros

      Great place, clean, friendly vibe.

      Cons

      Sometimes it a little hard to understand what your being asked for.

      School Outfitters2018-10-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at School Outfitters full-time

      Pros

      Pay can be good... but at a cost.

      Cons

      Management isn't trustworthy and promotions are not always based on skill. Overall culture is pretty negative and uptight.

      Advice to Management

      Respect your employees. The culture is too up tight. Loosen up. If you treated your colleagues as though you trust them, they'll work harder and not talk about you behind your back so much.

      School Outfitters2018-02-23
    • "Overall great company culture and work place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Relations Advisor 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at School Outfitters full-time

      Pros

      -Great company culture and values -Small enough company that you get to know everyone you work with-and the company attracts some great people. Working with great people really made any of the downfalls of the job better -Benefits are excellent, both healthcare and general employee perks (such as monthly massages, catered lunches, etc) -Easily accessible management and HR -Work/life balance is a priority. While most...

      Show More

      Cons

      -Some lack of communication between departments leads to confusion on what actions can be taken to resolve customer issues -Not a lot of room to move around/train in other areas. It is a smaller company, so you may not be able to make the moves you would like to out of lower level positions. -With e-commerce trends shifting (i.e. Amazon taking over most areas), there are a lot of changes (sometimes weekly) in standard...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I was lucky enough to have a good management team working in Customer Relations. They respect their employees and do their best to make the job fun. My only recommendation would be to be a little bit more flexible in appealing to the teams strengths and weaknesses to have a more successful overall team.

      School Outfitters2018-01-17

      School Outfitters Response

      March 9, 2018Human Resources Generalist

      Thank you for noticing and praising us for our efforts to walk the talk regarding our culture, recruiting the best and staying current on offering great benefits and perks. We truly have great employees! We also know we aren’t perfect. We have areas we need to continue to improve ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great at First"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at School Outfitters full-time

      Pros

      - The company seems to care about their employees with a work / home balance. - Flexible Hours for some positions - Managers don't micro manage and let their employees do their job

      Cons

      - Raises are pretty much 1% and pay is under the average by 7k in my position - You better love meetings, you are in meetings about 25% of your day instead of doing work. -

      Advice to Management

      Pay the people a decent wage, yes the perks are great but you will continue to lose people

      School Outfitters2017-08-22
    • "Will forever miss it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at School Outfitters full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        The best company I've ever worked for. From the top-down, people are empowered to do their jobs and not micro-managed in the least bit. Employees are treated amazing (Free Lunch Friday's during busy season; beer fairies; etc.) and you truly feel valued to work there.

        Cons

        There's really nothing bad to say. They're the best. Basically like a Google-type company in Cincinnati.

        Advice to Management

        Deb, Bethany and Judy: Don't get mad at the Banana Bandit for not posting this until roughly 9 months after leaving :)

        School Outfitters2017-07-13
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at School Outfitters full-time

        Pros

        Great CEO Great people Great Mission Great Products Great CoWorkers

        Cons

        None that I can think of. At every job there will be some negatives but this particular place the good outweighs the bad

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work

        School Outfitters2017-04-13
      Found 25 reviews