School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Reviews | Glassdoor

School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston CEO Nancy Bauer
Nancy Bauer
0 Ratings
  1. "Media Stockroom Monitor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Stockroom Monitor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Allows you to become adept in knowledge about various forms of media equipment from photography, video, sound, and film.

    Cons

    Management could have been a little better.

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2017-08-04
  2. "Assistant Director of Student Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston full-time

    Pros

    Incredibly creative environment to work in

    Cons

    Because everyone is so left-brain, the idea of process is a bit of a myth.

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2017-07-14
  3. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

    Pros

    Flexible work time and a great working environment

    Cons

    Hours are limited and hard to come by during holidays

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2015-09-14
  4. "Just because people stay a long time doesn't always equal a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston full-time

    Pros

    Most people are genuinely decent. A lot of young ( underpaid) people that are excited to work in their field. Summers are more relaxed as is is generally pretty quiet.

    Cons

    The faculty are in large part dinosaurs and create a faculty versus staff mentality. Very Low pay. People tend to leave quickly or stay and are unable to leave for financial reasons. Which creates a toxic work environment. Beware they will take advantage of young entry level people and don't care if you burn out. You will be asked to do way more than you are paid and management "say they care" but its just lip service....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay decently. Diversify your staff. And create a better balance between faculty and staff. It can't always be on the whim on some professor in from NYC for the day or the cash cow of student enrollment. A school that costs almost 50,000 a year barely pays a living wage to its staff-- is quickly becoming irrelevant.

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2015-02-20
  5. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Exhibitions in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The School of the Museum of Fine Arts was a great place to work. The staff was friendly and professional. I recommend working here.

    Cons

    Frankly, I was quite happy while working at SMFA. The only downfall was that my position was seasonal which made it difficult to schedule around.

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2014-06-16
  6. "Not as long as I would have liked it to have been"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cash Control Associate in Avon, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Liked doing what I was hired for, liked working for the museum, had excellent rapport with my coworkers, and was making a good salary at the time

    Cons

    Management budget cuts and layoffs

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2014-04-21
  7. "Student Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston part-time

    Pros

    Great at working with your schedule even last minute changes.

    Cons

    There aren't a lot of hours to go around but, you can have a few positions around the school

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2014-04-03
  8. "Nice place to work, but nobody's getting rich."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a fairly casual environment; flexible schedules seem possible for many; interesting things happening sometimes, if you enjoy visual arts; LGBT friendly.

    Cons

    Dismal salary; besides free museum admission there are no real perks, not even free coffee; faculty can be obnoxious; not much opportunity for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Try to increase staff salaries, or find another way to better compensate them. Or how about just a free cup of coffee sometimes??

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2013-04-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "not too bad but not too great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in

    I worked at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

    Pros

    close nit staff with fun loving people

    Cons

    hard to communicate with higher ups, hard to network in different departments

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2012-06-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great students, dedicated faculty, not much money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Recommends

    I have been working at School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

    Pros

    Smart, talented students Prestigious reputation Smart, competitive faculty Freedom Most FT faculty teach 2 (full) days a week Great benefits

    Cons

    Low starting salary No tenure system Hard to advance Very little financial support for research High cost of living in city Many faculty members commute long distances

    School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston2012-01-31
Found 10 reviews