KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Schoology

Is this your company?

Schoology

Add a Review

Schoology Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 of over 70 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Schoology Co-Founder and CEO Jeremy Friedman
Jeremy Friedman
39 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "After my first month and a half, I can say the people here are awesome.(in 9 reviews)
  • "Even if you want to switch departments or impact the company in another way, management will help you get to your goal.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Everyone is friendly and always helpful.(in 3 reviews)
  • "There are always opportunities for professional development and training.(in 3 reviews)
  • "I'm happy to report that Schoology is competitive in its family leave policies; that I have many colleagues with young families as well, and that overall I've found it to be a place that honors work/life balance.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Oct 20, 2019 - QA Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly collaborative environment, Everyone is positive

    Cons

    Sometimes wish it was easier to move up

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I look forward to coming to work everyday

    Jan 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Last Sunday, while hanging out with friends, several of them muttered "Ughh, I don't want to go to work tomorrow!" I thought about it, and I said to myself, "I'm actually looking forward to it." There is a real supportive atmosphere at Schoology and you feel like everyone is on the same team working together. Collaboration is key, and all team members are valued. They are flexible with working from home. In the office, a fully stocked kitchen for meals and snacks is provided. There are ample ways to take a mental break with games and other distractions of your choosing, and they have an unlimited paid-time-off policy. Bottom line: they really want you to be happy. Schoology is growing very quickly, and has brought in experienced talent in key position to guide them through this next exciting phase of growth, so I feel confident with the direction of the company. This growth provides incredible opportunity for meaningful career advancement. I recently moved into a new position, and rather than being interviewed to see if I was qualified, management was more concerned that this was a role that I wanted to be in and this was a path that I wanted to go down in my career. I was told "we want to provide everyone with opportunities to grow professionally in the way the they want to grow, not give them forced tracks that they have to go down." This was extremely refreshing to hear and is the perfect example of how Schoology is invested in its employees.

    Cons

    Quick growth means that workflows are frequently changing. Employees need to be flexible and open to challenges.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An EdTech company that really cares about the Ed!

    Aug 14, 2019 - Director in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    +Culture and commitment - Schoology wants to get it right for schools and school systems and they understand that doing that means getting it right for students, parents, teachers, and administrators + Employees - Smart folks who are open and welcoming to new team members, diverse ideas, and new information + Management is engaged in active dialogue with employees and staff which further supports the culture + Lots of perks AND WOW! What an amazing customer base - the true testament to the company is how the users of Schoology are avid fans and users - teachers and administrators are making the difference in the lives of students and with everyone moving in that direction, it is an exciting place to work!

    Cons

    I would hate to say it is perfect because no one would believe that, but I am struggling to write something here. Having come from a company where I would run out of space in this category, I just want to say that an interview with the folks who work here would confirm if this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Rewarding work, but consistent unfulfilled promises...

    Jan 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Rewarding work, product is first in its class, lots of snacks

    Cons

    Plain and simple, Schoology's company culture is not what it used to be and I believe much of this is to due to unfulfilled promises on behalf of the company's leadership. The most obvious example (to which I'm surprised no one has mentioned in recent posts) is the fact that leadership decided that it would be best to ask their employees to participate in a non-anonymous survey. (Questions were mostly geared towards company culture and company direction). Fine, we get it, transparency is key. But to dance around releasing the results was just a slap in the face and did not go unnoticed. Everyone works extremely hard in this company because there is a real sense of conviction behind what we are building, marketing, and selling. Improved cross-communication and fulfillment on behalf of the leadership team is what is most crucial at this stage.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful

    Schoology Response

    CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. Communication of the survey results did not happen in the timeline​ ​that we had originally planned and I apologize for that. We are quite proud of the results and the level​ ​of participation. It is clear that people put a lot of time and thought into their responses and we are​ ​looking forward to sharing the results at our Annual Kickoff meeting, when the entire team is​ ​gathered in one place. A number of steps are being taken to improve overall team​ ​communication, and I am confident that you will see the results of that over the next few months.​ ​It is something that we take very seriously. With respect to the office, it is fairly coincidental, but on the date that your comment posted we began​ ​work on the lounge area. This is just the first in a number of upcoming improvements to the​ ​lounge and general office area that will improve the environment and allow for more cross-team​ ​collaboration. We greatly appreciate the teams' dedication to Schoology - the company, the​ ​​product and the community. I encourage you to schedule time with me to share more of your​ ​thoughts with me directly.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company destined to disappear under another company

    Oct 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People - Fair pay - Work-from-home policy - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Some management bullying - No 401K matching

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Worked at other NYC "best places"...

    Jul 17, 2019 - Sales Enablement Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ... and this place is better! All the standard start-up perks of course - stocked kitchen, cold brew coffee, beer on tap, pool table, cornhole, video and board games that people actually take advantage of, company gatherings, etc... Unlimited PTO and flexible work hours that are actually encouraged you take advantage of But what separates Schoology from the sea of tech start-ups in NYC is an Exec Team that genuinely cares about its people. They are all open and friendly and take any and all concerns seriously and proactively try to fix. They all care about your development while you are here and there are increasingly more professional development opportunities that simply do not exist for a company of this size anywhere else.

    Cons

    Since we are K-12 focused, we have a great deal of former educators that transition from the classroom to working here. While I think this is actually a tremendous pro, sometime the lack of start-up experience leads to a few pitfalls in understanding the rapid changing environment of a start-up... especially in sales.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to work with

    Aug 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked with the company for a while and it's the best company that I have worked with. They treat the employees better than any company that I have been with. It's not a small thing to provide food and drinks everyday, it really saves me a lot of money that I would otherwise have to spend. It is an open office so everyone is treated the same, with no one having offices. It is such a fun and lively environment, where the employees really get along with each other. A lot is expected of the employees, but they give a lot in return.

    Cons

    It's hard to come up with a true con, but with all the growth going on there is a lot of shifting around going on. It can be a little distracting with moves happening all the time, sometimes I feel like why can't someone just walk a few desks down to speak to someone instead of moving several people just to have people next to each other?

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Happy overall, not without flaws

    Oct 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible work culture / strong work life balance if you are performing/hitting your goals (free food is also nice) - Schoology (the product) is a strong product that many teachers & students really do love - Established enough to have structure but young enough to still reap the benefits as far as relaxed culture and ability to have a voice both in your department and in your professional trajectory, also there's the option of wearing additional "hats" if you would like.

    Cons

    - Not quite a con, but beware, change will happen a lot, people will be imperfect, that doesn't mean it's an awful place - Some people are very driven and intelligent, others not so much. Hiring needs to improve. Same thing with managers, some are strong, some do not deserve to manage others, and this negatively impacts the company. - Claims to be a mission driven company when in reality many on staff have no interest in aligning to the mission or diving into the education space - At the end of the day, no matter what they say, everything is a business, and it all comes back to numbers and profitability.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Over 2 years, with Schoology, great company and team to be apart of, I can call my workplace home

    Jul 5, 2017 - Senior Account Executvie in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours if you do your job and get your work done Nice office in Penn Station central location in NYC The Product is just phenomenal Very comfortable management team to interact with Sales Manager is a great person to work with very smart and straight to the point, strategic thinker Snacks and kitchen are always filled with good food

    Cons

    Base salary could be more for employees there for a longer period of time, or health insurance fully paid for would make up for this Some of the people on the other teams can be difficult to connect with socially Account management team could have a bigger role in issues of non payment from a new client

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Engaging

    Sep 17, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has a true vision for empowering teachers and learners in a fun way. You feel as though you are part of something important. You have access to communicate with all levels of the organization. You have access to the product development process and it is very fun to see new features come to life (which is OFTEN at Schoology). Everyone here really cares about the company and what we are doing. The Schoology users are Super Fans and participate in a cult like following of this product. And that is the best part - to watch an excited educator showing you how they use Schoology with students, and how animated they are telling you about it. It does not get much better than that.

    Cons

    This company is experiencing exceptional growth and with that there are some growing pains (none that outweigh the fun). Process and policy are being created as growth is happening, and many times after. The pace of change is very fast; this is not necessarily a con, but a point to consider.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 66 Reviews

Schoology Reviews FAQs

Schoology has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 70 reviews left anonymously by employees. 80% of employees would recommend working at Schoology to a friend and 73% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Schoology employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Schoology. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

80% of Schoology employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Schoology 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Schoology to be senior leadership, career development, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Schoology Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Schoology? Share Your Experiences

or

Schoology Photos

+ Add Photo
Schoology photo of: Every new "Schoologite" gets a personal welcome at HQ!
Schoology photo of: Promoting a green working space.
Schoology photo of: We like to celebrate our wins!
Schoology photo of: Pool anyone?
Schoology photo of: Sales calls on the sofa.
Schoology photo of: Zoning in on our next product marketing initiative.
Schoology photo of: Our client support team in focus mode.
See All Photos