Schurman Retail Group Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
24%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Schurman Retail Group CEO Dominique Schurman (no image)
Dominique Schurman
19 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Loved working there

    Feb 8, 2021 - Accountant in Goodlettsville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome group of people to work with

    Cons

    Closed 03/2020 bankruptcy loved my job wish I could have retired there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I wouldn’t bother applying

    Apr 24, 2020 - Supervisor in Rochester, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good quality of workmanship in card production. If you don’t mind working part time at low pay but responsible for covering hours from being understaffed basically full time while not receiving benefits then chastised for covering them this is a good place to work.

    Cons

    Low pay, ineffective management, impossible to meet work directives, understaffed, neglectful and chooses not to listen to employee complaints, hired upon conditions not met made unfulfilled promises.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good place to work

    Jan 27, 2020 - Forklift Operator in Goodlettsville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a Laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    They are going out of business

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst company I've ever worked for

    Jan 30, 2020 - Associate Manager in Manhattan Beach, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Only my co workers, not my boss, just my co workers

    Cons

    everything. no training, no help from corprate, and they didnt take any federal taxes out of my checks so now i owe money because of them, and i didnt in any way exempt myself from paying taxes

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Draining and Rewardless

    Oct 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Team Member discount is average

    Cons

    Severe understaffing, extremely high turnover rate and upper management refused to acknowledge problems-- both in the stores and people under them. Was promised to be fully trained and promoted within a year ended up taking over a store after just 2 months of training. Got screamed at by upper management on a daily basis. Absolute nightmare to work for!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    SRG

    Sep 26, 2019 - Planner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee moral, work life balance

    Cons

    Company leadership lack of communication from top management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Company liquidating, sad that the CEO ruined so many lives!

    Jan 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None, company liquidating and will file for bankruptcy

    Cons

    CEOs ego brought the company to bankruptcy, company is liquidating

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Dying Company

    Aug 15, 2019 - Management in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing is positive working for this company.

    Cons

    The people running this company is incredibly incompetent. I feel sorry for the people that actually do the work. The ones that make it happen are treated so poorly. The company views its employees as a cost and nothing else. Talent is not recognized, ideas / suggestions are none existent from the people that know what's going on. This company does not take care of its employees.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Different retail, horrible upper management.

    May 3, 2019 - Manager-In-Training 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discounts on products Flexible hours Decent starting minimum wage job Rewarding and encouraging interactions with customers different from any retail

    Cons

    Payroll mismanagement Stretch you as long as possible so with in company eye, they dont have owe you anything Recently i took over a store, but for some reason, they didnt not change my status to full for working more than 30 hours. I had to basically tell them off that they didnt pay my worth or give me the correct anount of pto. Management does not automatically change your status and they have a handbook to make it so they do not have to change you status from part time to full. They word it in such a shady way that only an upper management can approve it, even with the described set of rules with words like might and if. Ive worked several months with 40 hours a week and 130 hours a week and during insane holiday rush hours and upper management didn’t change my status earlier until recent. Because of this there is nothing i can do about my previous PTO because my status was never changed and upper management decided to never change till months later. Manipulative and sad. On top of that payroll went behind my back and called upper management instead when i tried to call them. Unethical procedures. Listen to my advice. Assume nothing about your paycheck and if you work more then 30 and working the store front/managing team members, pressure them to make you full time asap. This was absurd as i was waiting for my pto to build up, management did not tell me, and now its viewed as my fault where as management do not step up to be leaders. Be strong, work, and know your work rights and despite this bull/ politics/ company environments, you can get far in the company. If your not willing to go through with this, do not work here or stay for too long.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Strongly not recommend working here unless you're looking for dramas

    Aug 30, 2018 - Sales Associate in Fairfield, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My manager is easy-going and the job is easy to do. The only reason I choose 2 stars is that my manager and my other co-worker are really nice and easy to work with.

    Cons

    - The upper management is a joke and keeps pushing you to the cliff. - Keep cutting off the hours to the minimum, except in the holidays - Low pay rate - No room to grow

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

Popular Careers with Schurman Retail Group Job Seekers

Store Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Schurman Retail Group? Share Your Experiences

Schurman Retail Group logo
or