Schurman Retail Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Schurman Retail Group Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
29%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Schurman Retail Group CEO Dominique Schurman (no image)
Dominique Schurman
15 Ratings
  1. "SRG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schurman Retail Group full-time

    Pros

    Employee moral, work life balance

    Cons

    Company leadership lack of communication from top management

    Schurman Retail Group2019-09-26
  2. "Company liquidating, sad that the CEO ruined so many lives!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schurman Retail Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None, company liquidating and will file for bankruptcy

    Cons

    CEOs ego brought the company to bankruptcy, company is liquidating

    Schurman Retail Group2020-01-19
  3. "Draining and Rewardless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schurman Retail Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Team Member discount is average

    Cons

    Severe understaffing, extremely high turnover rate and upper management refused to acknowledge problems-- both in the stores and people under them. Was promised to be fully trained and promoted within a year ended up taking over a store after just 2 months of training. Got screamed at by upper management on a daily basis. Absolute nightmare to work for!

    Advice to Management

    Don't cut store's payroll hours and refuse to let SM's hire more people because of the global sales numbers! Actually compensate your employees; free cards occasionally is not an incentive!

    Schurman Retail Group2019-10-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Dying Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schurman Retail Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nothing is positive working for this company.

    Cons

    The people running this company is incredibly incompetent. I feel sorry for the people that actually do the work. The ones that make it happen are treated so poorly. The company views its employees as a cost and nothing else. Talent is not recognized, ideas / suggestions are none existent from the people that know what's going on. This company does not take care of its employees.

    Advice to Management

    Management don't listen, no need to give any advice.

    Schurman Retail Group2019-08-15
  5. "Different retail, horrible upper management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager-In-Training 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schurman Retail Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on products Flexible hours Decent starting minimum wage job Rewarding and encouraging interactions with customers different from any retail

    Cons

    Payroll mismanagement Stretch you as long as possible so with in company eye, they dont have owe you anything Recently i took over a store, but for some reason, they didnt not change my status to full for working more than 30 hours. I had to basically tell them off that they didnt pay my worth or give me the correct anount of pto. Management does not automatically change your status and they have a handbook to make it so they do not have to change you status from part time to full. They word it in such a shady way that only an upper management can approve it, even with the described set of rules with words like might and if. Ive worked several months with 40 hours a week and 130 hours a week and during insane holiday rush hours and upper management didn’t change my status earlier until recent. Because of this there is nothing i can do about my previous PTO because my status was never changed and upper management decided to never change till months later. Manipulative and sad. On top of that payroll went behind my back and called upper management instead when i tried to call them. Unethical procedures. Listen to my advice. Assume nothing about your paycheck and if you work more then 30 and working the store front/managing team members, pressure them to make you full time asap. This was absurd as i was waiting for my pto to build up, management did not tell me, and now its viewed as my fault where as management do not step up to be leaders. Be strong, work, and know your work rights and despite this bull/ politics/ company environments, you can get far in the company. If your not willing to go through with this, do not work here or stay for too long.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show better that you actually care for your employees. They act like they are in the stores, but they never there and causes micro management, and high anxiety.

    Schurman Retail Group2019-05-04
  6. "Strongly not recommend working here unless you're looking for dramas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Fairfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schurman Retail Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My manager is easy-going and the job is easy to do. The only reason I choose 2 stars is that my manager and my other co-worker are really nice and easy to work with.

    Cons

    - The upper management is a joke and keeps pushing you to the cliff. - Keep cutting off the hours to the minimum, except in the holidays - Low pay rate - No room to grow

    Advice to Management

    - Listen to and respect your team unless you want to lose everyone. - Consider carefully who you hire/promote to and do a thorough check on references and background. - Reorganize the structure of the company if you plan to continue in the long term.

    Schurman Retail Group2018-08-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Schurman Retail Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schurman Retail Group full-time

    Pros

    The work can be fun and stimulating, great product development

    Cons

    This company shows no value to its employees. It is full of false promises and they are basically down to a skeleton crew, giving people random assignments with no training and overloading them. So many layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your valuable employees. They are the backbone of the organization and without them the company will be nothing. Hold true to commitments to the teams and showcase more honesty with projects, future plans, and consistency. If they continue to lay off amazing employees that bring so much to the company the quality will (and has already very quickly) suffered.

    Schurman Retail Group2018-03-27
  8. "Great student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schurman Retail Group full-time

    Pros

    Company culture is laid back, flexible and friendly.

    Cons

    There have been errors with paychecks

    Advice to Management

    Finish a project completely before using it at the store level...

    Schurman Retail Group2018-01-30
  9. Helpful (4)

    "The worst working experience in my entire working history."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schurman Retail Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A decent health plan but you pay a lot of money for it. Employee discount.

    Cons

    Poor management across the board. Poor training. Horrible employee relations. All levels of management are nasty and aggressive. Yell at employees in front of other employees and customers.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better and you will have happier employees and a happier work place and better customer service and sales.

    Schurman Retail Group2017-04-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager 

    I worked at Schurman Retail Group for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits shared between employee and employer

    Cons

    Long hours, Holidays, little training

    Schurman Retail Group2016-12-01
Found 35 reviews