Schwan's Area Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Schwan's Area Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
23%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Schwan's Chief Executive Officer Dimitrios Smyrnios (no image)
Dimitrios Smyrnios
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great changing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and upper management has the company going in the right direction. Changing in many areas to stay relevant with the times.

    Cons

    Not to many at this time. Resolving several of the past issues with employee hours, pay, and no leadership to assist.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Schwan's2016-10-10
  2. "Area Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, Management and solid teamwork

    Cons

    Benefits aren’t the best, not much room for advancement, lack of diversity and inclusion

    Schwan's2020-01-21
  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay when others do their job

    Cons

    Company is driven by sales and seasonal fluctuations arent important

    Schwan's2020-01-06
  4. "Dying company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    there are zero pros to working here

    Cons

    Long hours, on call 20/24 hours a day,

    Schwan's2020-01-18
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Zero quality of life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time

    Pros

    My pay is competitive. Would be a great job if I were allowed to do my job instead of always covering routes. People on my team are fantastic.

    Cons

    Too many chiefs and not enough Indians. Hundreds of people at the corporate office with cushy jobs demanding unreasonable and impossible goals. Senior leadership and human resources are completely out of touch with the day to day operations. Constantly out of stock on pizza. Corporate says they are a transparent company but this could not be further from the truth. They state in core values that it is a place where people like to work but I truly believe this only occurs in Minnesota at the home office. Front line positions go months without being filled but director jobs are filled within 2 weeks. Trucks are garbage. Full service lease on trucks that cause nothing but frustration for front line leaders. Managers are forced to run truck routes which routinely result in 14 hour days and parts of their jobs don't get accomplished. I could go on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better hope we bonus for 2018 or it's going to be tough to run the business after half the frontline management team walks out.

    Schwan's2019-02-08
  6. "Area manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary plus yearly bonus. Company trending up. Good upper management.

    Cons

    Hours are long and turnover is high

    Schwan's2017-12-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Wage but that's is

    Cons

    Poor communication, leadership does not have any integrity, very much a good ol boy system

    Advice to Management

    stop lying to your people fulfill your promises to your employees and they will perform

    Schwan's2017-10-31
  8. Helpful (24)

    "Schwan's (Nestle Waters)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work along side a lot of good people! Really sad to see so many good people being taken advantage of.

    Cons

    Upper management is all ex Nestle employees. They all left Nestle but you never hear the end of it. I am sure Marvin Schwan's has rolled over in his grave many times. Schwan's will cut every area possible at the employees expense. Constant new managers who should be jailed how they treat employees. Human Resources and top management sweep everything under the rug. I am surprised an increase in lawsuits hasn't happened yet. Extremely long hours at under market pay. Constant micro managing from supervisors. Work Life balance is a false promise, every Schwan's man will tell you their home life is horrible! Talk to the children of the employees they will tell you they never see their mom or dad. My kid called me Mom every weekend for 5 years, by Monday morning he would start calling me dad again. It is really sad to think of all the years I lost with my son to this company. The 3rd best day in my life was when I quit Schwan's after 10 years. My family threw me a big party and were so happy to have their husband and dad back. If you care about your family you will find another job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no hope for you. Read all these reviews.

    Schwan's2017-04-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great frozen food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Bedford, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company working through some change and turn around which some people are not comfortable with. They are doing the right things for a turn around company.

    Cons

    Sometimes programs come out in rapid fire an not followed through changing along the way. Resulting in some confusion in the field

    Schwan's2017-02-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Area Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's

    Pros

    Bonus program, but must is paid annualy

    Cons

    Zone managers never ran routes or have been Area Sales Managers before but think they understand what you do and have no clue.

    Schwan's2016-12-16
Found 19 reviews