Schwan's CSM Reviews | Glassdoor

Schwan's CSM Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

1.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Schwan's Chief Executive Officer Dimitrios Smyrnios (no image)
Dimitrios Smyrnios
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Dont work at schwan's, it's a waste of time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's

    Pros

    Schwan's offers good pay, decent benefits, and if you desire a high level of independence, this jobs definitly offers that as well.

    Cons

    Overwork their employees, not very much time for your personal life. Expectations are way too high for so many reasons.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2010-06-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Long Hour and No Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's

    Pros

    It's a paycheck Some of the customer are fun

    Cons

    No life outside Schwan's due to long hours, 12 to 14 hour days is a must Little or no time off Low pay When starting plan on knocking on door all day long to find new customers You may work as many as three weeks without a day off

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2010-02-02
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Loved the actual job- But..... worst corporate decisions and changes ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's

    Pros

    The company has a good product and also has unique service as well as some unique products. I enjoyed working with the customers on a regular basis.

    Cons

    Long hours, pay plan and criteria changed monthly. No time off for any holidays, and it took a year to get any vacation and then your ridiculed for using it because it hurts your route. Corporate made changes weekly for things and 99% of them were not for the better. Would still be working there if it were run properly and they treated employees like they had outside lives.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2010-01-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Family and Work Balance non-existent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM in Esko, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's

    Pros

    You can make good money if you can put in 70+ hours a week on a regular basis. Tasty products and fun people interaction.

    Cons

    No vacation time until you put in 1 years worth of 70+ hour weeks 5 days a week. Along with that, any day you need to take off you have to make up. You cannot take an unpaid day off. Schwan's used to be about the employee and the families. It has slowly deteriorated over time to be strictly about monetary gain.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2009-11-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunity to meet great people- CUSTOMERS ! ! ! ! ! !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's

    Pros

    Dealing with great customers that are like family. They are great people who care about you, and your well being. They not only they care about myself, but they care about your family also. All of the customers I see are genuine, very loyal, and caring individuals. They care about not only my safety, but what little time I get to spend with my family also. If it wasn't for my customers being such great people, I would've been gone a long time ago ! ! ! !

    Cons

    The long hours don't bother me. But when you put in the long hours and you never get enough product on the truck, it's very frustrating to tell the customer you don't have what they were looking to buy. The drivers are told "Give the customer more than they expect", and to "Sell them something else". When drivers fill out an RTI, they are never acknowledged. Instead of the facilities manager listening to the drivers, they seem to ignore you even though the drivers are the ones who hear it from the customer about why they never get what they want. The only time there's a lot of product put on the trucks, is when a semi is due in to replenish the stock in the freezer to make the facilities manager look good on his forecast. It's always said that the team needs to work together, but when you have one person looking out for thierself , that's not team work. That's called selfishness, and self centered. It's very hard to be professional and pleasent knowing that your customer isn't happy when you leave. Also not knowing how long they will put up with not getting what they want, and wanting to remain as a Schwans customer.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2012-01-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "horrable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's

    Pros

    Its a paycheck, you get to work with minimal supervision

    Cons

    The pay structure just changed to a heavy commission base, usually wouldn't be bad except that the first tier is 1%, next to nothing. The hours a very very long and management usually wants you to work to DOT limits which is about 13-14 hours a day. The food is overpriced and the sales are never good enough.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2011-02-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's

    Pros

    Pay was ok. You get to meet some nice people. Your customers become your friends. You get to be outside.

    Cons

    14 hour days are the norm. day routes only are 4 days if you hit sales goal. Most will work 5. Multiple overnites away from your family.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2010-10-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "if ur single"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's

    Pros

    The cust. are the best in the world. I feel they have more to offer me rather than me offer them.

    Cons

    Hours and respect of personal time. You owe me attitude they have if you miss a day. Schwan’s truly believes they own their employees

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2010-07-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "CSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's

    Pros

    For the qualifications required, the pay isn't too bad (i didn't finish college) Discount on the food is very good.

    Cons

    You will work LOOOONG hours, If you have a family get ready to not see them. You have at least 4 quotas a day and unless you can get all 4 its not good enough. Management knows all this, Schwans has a huge turnover rate, but they don't do anything about it.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2010-05-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews