Schwan's Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Schwan's Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
45%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Schwan's Chief Executive Officer Dimitrios Smyrnios (no image)
Dimitrios Smyrnios
37 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Territory Sales Manager Intern in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's for less than a year

    Pros

    - Terrific feedback from supervisors - Exposure to C suite executives and various Intern Development events - Real B2B sales experience in the field and at food shows - Great company culture of collaboration and everyone was always willing to help

    Cons

    - Somewhat of an older demographic of employees not the best for a young person - Decent amount of travel if that is something that bothers you

    Advice to Management

    - Make an effort to bring more of a youthful vibe to the company culture and maybe schedule more intern events or outings

    Schwan's2019-09-20
  2. "Area Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, Management and solid teamwork

    Cons

    Benefits aren’t the best, not much room for advancement, lack of diversity and inclusion

    Schwan's2020-01-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay when others do their job

    Cons

    Company is driven by sales and seasonal fluctuations arent important

    Schwan's2020-01-06
  5. "Dying company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    there are zero pros to working here

    Cons

    Long hours, on call 20/24 hours a day,

    Schwan's2020-01-18
  6. "Great Company great people great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distribution Manager in Bolingbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    culture, team , employees matter & compensation

    Cons

    I have nothing to post on cons great management and executive board

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    Schwan's2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Best thing ever happen to me was that....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had to think real hard and could not come up with any. Best thing every happen to me was that I got fired. I am now working for a company that is 10 times better and feeling so happy even though I am getting less pay.

    Cons

    Fear management. Don't make mistake. Honesty and loyalty means nothing. You have to be liked. You cannot be you and your opinion is not of any value. This is a top down bottom up company. This is not what Marvin Schwan (Pioneer) had in mind and it is shame that his believes are not value to anyone in the management anymore. Extremely long hours and poor work condition. Plant are in need of some serious capital and building condition is worst I ever work at. Too much focus on profit. I can't believe HR is allowing senior management to fire good people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the reviews and do something about this before it is too late. Value your employee's opinion and appreciate the hard work employees are doing. Get out of blame game and hang management.

    Schwan's2019-09-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Expectations not realistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training provided is good, salary used to be good because included bonus for achievement, excellent products

    Cons

    so sales driven that management is not paid well enough to survive long enough to build business, high turnover of driver/salespeople, constant pressure and scrutiny for daily/weekly/monthly/yearly sales and meeting projections

    Advice to Management

    Encourage good managers to stay by paying them well, supporting them by getting to actually know them, help them hire good people, don't pressure them constantly about projections even though you are pressured constantly about projections.

    Schwan's2019-02-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Zero quality of life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time

    Pros

    My pay is competitive. Would be a great job if I were allowed to do my job instead of always covering routes. People on my team are fantastic.

    Cons

    Too many chiefs and not enough Indians. Hundreds of people at the corporate office with cushy jobs demanding unreasonable and impossible goals. Senior leadership and human resources are completely out of touch with the day to day operations. Constantly out of stock on pizza. Corporate says they are a transparent company but this could not be further from the truth. They state in core values that it is a place where people like to work but I truly believe this only occurs in Minnesota at the home office. Front line positions go months without being filled but director jobs are filled within 2 weeks. Trucks are garbage. Full service lease on trucks that cause nothing but frustration for front line leaders. Managers are forced to run truck routes which routinely result in 14 hour days and parts of their jobs don't get accomplished. I could go on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better hope we bonus for 2018 or it's going to be tough to run the business after half the frontline management team walks out.

    Schwan's2019-02-08
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Change is constant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For the most part the people are great, and the company hires a lot of talented individuals.

    Cons

    Turnover has been very high as people have been scared to lose their jobs if the company gets sold. Nothing has been done by upper management to address those concerns.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on keeping those great employees. A company is nothing without solid talent.

    Schwan's2018-08-09
  11. "Area manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary plus yearly bonus. Company trending up. Good upper management.

    Cons

    Hours are long and turnover is high

    Schwan's2017-12-24
Found 97 reviews