Schwan's Route Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Route Manager

Schwan's Route Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

1.5
6%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Schwan's Chief Executive Officer Dimitrios Smyrnios (no image)
Dimitrios Smyrnios
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Decent pay but long hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Manager in O Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The customer interaction was great. Like any sales job the pay was great if you sold. I enjoyed working independently with a company truck.

    Cons

    Long days and a lot of hours. Inventory control issues.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to REALLY listen to the opinions of the route drivers. They deal directly with the customers.

    Schwan's2014-07-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Long hours/impossible standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Manager in Summerfield, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some really cool trips to win

    Cons

    everything else,management, to many hours on the road for DOT restrictions

    Advice to Management

    listen

    Schwan's2018-01-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Route Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Route Manager in Carencro, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Schwan's for more than a year

    Pros

    You were allowed to run your route as you see fit. Most of the food was good.

    Cons

    Wow, where to begin... If you have read any of the other reviews then BELIEVE THEM. This company is in a downward spiral (I left in 2011 when they shut all home service down in my state)

    Advice to Management

    look around and see your company fall apart. Take some common sense and stop trying to mess with the salesmen.

    Schwan's2016-07-06
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Route Sales Rep. (Driver and salesman)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Route Manager in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros, except possibly insurance. Company does not care about their employees.

    Cons

    President just raised delivery fee to $3.99 and admitted it was his mistake. Only admitted to sales force, failed to relay his ignorance to customers.

    Advice to Management

    Remain consistent or leave route sales business. Lost 9 million last year. While company made 82 million. How about full disclosure of all executives. Give up route sales or change approach. Answer your own calls from customers. Phone service has proven not to care about success or failure. Fire President!

    Schwan's2016-03-02
  5. Helpful (8)

    "High turnover for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Manager/Route Sales Representative in Chester, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I believe in the history of the company and I really enjoyed the customer base and interacting with customers who love the product.

    Cons

    Management isn't great. I went through 4 managers in 5 years and the only one I liked was let go for putting his family before the job.

    Advice to Management

    Despite claims on attempts to make the business more RSR oriented, it is still not a family friendly company. I have never met anyone employed with the company for more than 5 years who was happily married (to the same person as when they started working for the company).

    Schwan's2015-08-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "route manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Route Manager in Hicksville, NY

    I worked at Schwan's

    Pros

    work independently good product established well respected company

    Cons

    company did me wrong. accused me of stealing product

    Schwan's2015-08-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoyed my work with Schwans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company that's willing to give anyone a chance to be a success

    Cons

    There were several limitations with the company

    Advice to Management

    Do more investigation on employee problems and concerns

    Schwan's2014-10-31
  8. Helpful (5)

    "NO FAMILY LIFE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Manager in Sikeston, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    drving cold in the summer

    Cons

    Long hours minimal Pay. Routes are hard to make money on. upper management cares about numbers not the person.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of you employees. They are your company. Reward everyone for hard work it takes just as much effort to run a high$ route as it does a low dollar route.

    Schwan's2014-05-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "very bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Manager/Trainer in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    none that I know of too long of hours too little appreciation

    Cons

    too many to put down in this review (IT STINKS)

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together and appreciate hard working employees

    Schwan's2013-11-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "WAY to MANY HOURS!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Route Manager in Parsons, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's

    Pros

    Benefits aren't bad Discount on products

    Cons

    No attempt to have decent work Schedules. Had to be at Depot around 8 am usually quit route about 9 pm would get back to depot at 10pm do paper work and stop at bank, Finally head home about 10:30... usually at least a 14 hour day Of course your not paid for overtime.... I made like 7 an hour after working all those hours....

    Advice to Management

    do something to keep your people.... turnover is out of control... work split days or something no one with a wife or family can work 70 hrs a week

    Schwan's2011-08-06
Found 14 reviews