Schwan's "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Schwan's Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Schwan's CEO Dimitrios Smyrnios (no image)
Dimitrios Smyrnios
347 Ratings
Pros
  • "Schwan's has a very supportive work environment that is surrounded by great people(in 46 reviews)

  • "Good pay and benefits, no boss down your throat(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours now insensitive to stay working there(in 168 reviews)

  • "upper management is misleading when it comes to promotions or raises(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (12)

    "Great Job, Long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Captain in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job, fun opportunity, more effort means more commission

    Cons

    Long hours, i had an overnight route requiring me to stay in a hotel two nights every other week

    Schwan's2019-03-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Route Sales Representative in Xenia, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's for more than a year

    Pros

    easy work fun work environment

    Cons

    long hours now insensitive to stay working there

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2018-12-01
  3. "No Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RSR in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Weekly pay, food discounts customers that want you there

    Cons

    Long hours(12+), Old trucks and equipment that doesn't work, overpriced food. forcing you to stop at old customers that don't want service anymore to convince them to buy the over priced food, Ridiculous morning group stretching and cheers. Cant call in sick because there is usually no one to run the route for you always short handed due to huge turnover rate

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2019-11-26
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Best thing ever happen to me was that....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had to think real hard and could not come up with any. Best thing every happen to me was that I got fired. I am now working for a company that is 10 times better and feeling so happy even though I am getting less pay.

    Cons

    Fear management. Don't make mistake. Honesty and loyalty means nothing. You have to be liked. You cannot be you and your opinion is not of any value. This is a top down bottom up company. This is not what Marvin Schwan (Pioneer) had in mind and it is shame that his believes are not value to anyone in the management anymore. Extremely long hours and poor work condition. Plant are in need of some serious capital and building condition is worst I ever work at. Too much focus on profit. I can't believe HR is allowing senior management to fire good people.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2019-09-23
  5. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RSR Route Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management listened to other ideas

    Cons

    Long hours, very long hours

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2019-08-09
  6. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, friendly co workers

    Cons

    Long hours, not the best pay

    Schwan's2019-05-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Sales Representative in Lewisville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is better than many other places

    Cons

    Long hours take a toll on family life

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2019-03-31
  8. "Overworked and cold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Packing in Deer Park, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Many hours overtime. Great supervisors

    Cons

    Rude coworkers Long long hours. Very Cold temp

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2019-01-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Schwan's full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours at times, but that means plenty of over time.

    Schwan's2018-12-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Route Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time

    Pros

    Base pay and commission is nice.

    Cons

    Extremely long hours. Almost impossible to have time off.

    Schwan's2018-11-17
Found 168 reviews