Schwan's "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Schwan's Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
34%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Schwan's Chief Executive Officer Dimitrios Smyrnios (no image)
Dimitrios Smyrnios
350 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Lima, OH

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to know a lot of people and make a lot of friends with your customers, and you're not stuck in an office all day

    Cons

    Long hours, long hours, long hours, wages not commensurate with the work

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2017-04-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's

    Pros

    Good route sales representatives, 5 day work week, paid holidays.

    Cons

    Long hours, lack of support from higher management, route re-engineering creates lack of interaction with customers.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2017-03-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Bedford, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time

    Pros

    Pay and treatment is good

    Cons

    Long hours no family life

    Schwan's2017-03-17
  4. Helpful (24)

    "Schwan's (Nestle Waters)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work along side a lot of good people! Really sad to see so many good people being taken advantage of.

    Cons

    Upper management is all ex Nestle employees. They all left Nestle but you never hear the end of it. I am sure Marvin Schwan's has rolled over in his grave many times. Schwan's will cut every area possible at the employees expense. Constant new managers who should be jailed how they treat employees. Human Resources and top management sweep everything under the rug. I am surprised an increase in lawsuits hasn't happened yet. Extremely long hours at under market pay. Constant micro managing from supervisors. Work Life balance is a false promise, every Schwan's man will tell you their home life is horrible! Talk to the children of the employees they will tell you they never see their mom or dad. My kid called me Mom every weekend for 5 years, by Monday morning he would start calling me dad again. It is really sad to think of all the years I lost with my son to this company. The 3rd best day in my life was when I quit Schwan's after 10 years. My family threw me a big party and were so happy to have their husband and dad back. If you care about your family you will find another job.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2017-04-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and had great manager. Great culture being built

    Cons

    Long hours and lots of change

    Schwan's2017-02-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "customer sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Sales Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great company great benefits great pay

    Cons

    long hours , some times management takes too long to make changes

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2016-12-31
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Such an odd company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Walla Walla, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes the pay was good, the customers.

    Cons

    This company is confused and has an identity problem. At the time I was working there, very long hours. The manager I had was no good. not all are like this. some good ones out there.

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2016-12-20
  8. "Great for single people with no kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people and customers were great.

    Cons

    Long hours. 7:30am to 9:30 most days.

    Schwan's2016-12-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RSR 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Schwan's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, good structure, work is never very hard.

    Cons

    Long hours, even with the re-engineering of routes, but still better than it used to be. Depending on climate and region, can be a frustrating day's work because you're in the elements all the time.

    Schwan's2016-11-19
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Going under"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Longview, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schwan's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on food Quite a bit of driving (which is good if you enjoy driving) Sundays off (I think saturdays too now.) Some customers tip

    Cons

    A lot of driving and opportunity for accidents Some drivers will sabotage another person's route Jerk customers Long hours and late nights

    Continue reading
    Schwan's2016-10-28
Found 168 reviews