Schweiger & Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

Schweiger & Partners Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Schweiger & Partners CEO Martin Schweiger
Martin Schweiger
5 Ratings
  1. "work for Schweiger&partners in 2011"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Executive in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schweiger & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice boss, good environment. good culture

    Cons

    I do not have anything to complain about

    Schweiger & Partners2018-01-09
  2. "Great environment, opportunities to develop in direction of choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schweiger & Partners full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - great work environment with friendly colleagues - firm has plenty of experience and expertise in the field - colleagues extremely willing to teach - opportunities to develop yourself in a direction of your choosing

    Cons

    - no fixed structure/route for learning and development of employees, so you have to be proactive and develop your own plan

    Schweiger & Partners2016-12-15

    Schweiger & Partners Response

    September 10, 2017Partner

    thank you very much for your review! We are always trying to improve the capabilities of our co-workers, and we could also provide a structure/route for learning and development. Did you approach our local managing partner about that?

  3. "Patent Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schweiger & Partners full-time

    Pros

    - family-like work atmosphere - boss is very accessible - training on the job - interesting scope of work - very small to very big clients

    Cons

    - no near perspective for me to become a partner - boss travelled a lot - small office space

    Advice to Management

    set up a growth plan and stick to it

    Schweiger & Partners2016-09-13

    Schweiger & Partners Response

    September 10, 2017Partner

    thank you very much for your very positive review! We are always trying to improve the work environment of our co-workers, and we have now a much bigger office space and also a management team of which you could have been a member if you only had stayed a bit longer.

  4. "I liked it there but moved overseas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schweiger & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open and forgiving working atmosphere, lot's of new things to learn. Neatly organized environment. German. I could use my Chinese & German language skills, as well as English. Once a week a free lunch together with all colleagues, every second month or so a free joint birthday lunch at a nearby restaurant. I liked it there but moved overseas. Boss helped me with a recommendation to find a new job there.

    Cons

    The team is lean in headcount which means that there are times with a heavy work load. Not everyone appreciates the firm's high quality standards, especially with respect to the work delivered.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people.

    Schweiger & Partners2016-03-18

    Schweiger & Partners Response

    September 10, 2017Partner

    thank you very much for your positive review! It also very encouraging that people who leave us still remain on good terms with us. If you ever come back to Singapore, please join us again.

  5. "Exciting times ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schweiger & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a renewed push by the management to build the business towards the future. Opportunities aplenty for personal and professional development. Good prospects to grow with the company.

    Cons

    There is a strong emphasis on hands-on learning and individual responsibility when it comes to the work involved - might not be suitable for the faint-hearted although I have to add that the work environment is generally quite a forgiving one.

    Schweiger & Partners2016-03-12

    Schweiger & Partners Response

    September 10, 2017Partner

    thank you very much for your encouraging review!

  6. "Patent Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Schweiger & Partners full-time

      Pros

      Coming from a larger organization, this firm has generally no office policy. It provides much training to do the work. It expects a high standard of work while treating the client fairly (even in matters important matter, which the client is not aware of it). it provides an opportunity to learn.

      Cons

      Some may not see as a disadvantage: one is expected to work hard and smart, even when the client is not willing to pay well.

      Schweiger & Partners2016-03-11

      Schweiger & Partners Response

      September 10, 2017Partner

      thank you very much for your very positive review! We have since last year improved tremendously with respect to the "client is not willing to pay well", right? Thank you very much for your help!

    • "Happy place!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Schweiger & Partners full-time

        Pros

        I decided to take a leap of faith to join Schweiger & Partners against a backdrop of sceptics who discouraged me from leaving a high prospect job with a comfortable remuneration package. Now I have a high prospect job with a wonderful and supportive career mentor, as well as a bunch of friendly and supportive colleagues who never fail to make me laugh heartily at least once a day!

        Cons

        I am growing fat from all the food and happiness!

        Schweiger & Partners2016-03-06

        Schweiger & Partners Response

        March 10, 2016principal

        Thank you very much, your feedback is much appreciated.

      • "Nice family atmosphere"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Schweiger & Partners full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - plenty of learning opportunities in almost every aspect of the business - strong emphasis on hands-on learning - first-hand training from the principal himself in most matters - great set of staff who are always there to help and encourage one another - open and direct communication is actively promoted - small company means workplace hierarchy and office politics are almost non-existent: issues can be brought...

        Show More

        Cons

        -small company operating in a fast-paced industry that swears by official deadlines, therefore resources can be overstretched at times -heavy, imbalanced workload -requires a lot of personal responsibility and self-discipline to push things through each day

        Advice to Management

        -need to prioritise employees' well-being over new work and projects -consider getting a secondary decision maker

        Schweiger & Partners2015-02-01
      • "I have been working as a patent engineer for less than a year"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Schweiger & Partners full-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          A senior staff acts as a mentor to provide training, guidance and coaching for a new staff who is new to or less familiar with this IP field. The personalised training sessions allow me to acquire relevant knowledge and writing skills that are crucial for composing patent application documents and for prosecuting patent application. I am also given opportunities to learn at a pace that I can cope with.

          Cons

          This is a small company with limited resources. The boss has to be a superman to manage most of the major operational and business issues, despite some key functions being managed by qualified professionals. Company policies are sometimes not clearly defined or not clearly communicated. I have no idea if a succession plan has been put in place for continuity.

          Schweiger & Partners2015-01-30
        • "A Place To Be To Start From Zero For A Mid-Life Career Change"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook

          I have been working at Schweiger & Partners full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          1. Guided by principle of lean 'On-The-Job' training process - "senior shows by one example; junior learns by making and developing his/her own checklist" 2. Focus on empowering each member of staff with personal responsibility and initiative to deliver himself/herself spontaneously. 3. Emphasis on common-sense in professional conduct and personal integrity amongst peers and colleagues. 4. Committed to honesty and...

          Show More

          Cons

          1. Very long hours 2. Low staff retention rate. 3. Low rate of staff developmental progression 4. Unusual requirement for availability of key staff members 5. Zero mandatory staff peer assessment review exercises 6. Lack of spontaneous transparency of staff pay structure 7. Non-existent benchmarking of staff basic remuneration for market parity

          Advice to Management

          1. Consideration for periodic non-tax deductible monetary incentives over basic pay 2. Active exploration of sending staff on government-sanctioned workforce and skills development courses 3. Mandatory paid off-days on top of existing staff annual leave

          Schweiger & Partners2015-01-30
        Found 10 reviews