Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories President Edmund O Schweitzer III
Edmund O Schweitzer III
260 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good job of informing employees of company direction with Friday lunch(in 38 reviews)

  • "Company is employee owned, Employees genuinely care about doing whats right and ethical as opposed to being driven by 'bottom-line' ethics(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work environment is very welcoming and friendly. The company values are real and emphasized, not just abstract stuff for optics. This makes you know you are working for a good cause.

    Cons

    A lot of work for few people

    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2019-10-10
  2. "If you can't find a job or need experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardware Engineer in Pullman, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Free lunch on friday. - Work at your own pace. - Employee owned company. - Free employee stock program. - On site daycare. - On site nurse and doctor clinic. - Profitable company.

    Cons

    - Very low pay for Engineer. $74000 - Bonuses are pathetic. $1000 - HR says they pay fair, its a lie. - The Pullman location is too small. - Very country at HQ location. - People are not internationally comfortable. - Xenophobia and nepotism exist in company. - Do not recommend if you have Engineer experience. - Do not recommend if you are non-white. - If you are part of the Schweitzer familiy you can pick any job you want in the company. - In R&D it is a very kiss butt place to move up. - Everybody is pro-white and don't like China. - Very Republican place in R&D, espiecially the Technicians. Hard to get along with. - Alot of the Managers in R&D kiss butt and are worthless when it comes to the product. - The president builds buildings to fill his ego. - All show and no go in R&D. - Very country place, do not go if you are non-white. - Very racist town. Only started to get international. - Boring work environment in R&D. - Toxic environment in Manufacturing.

    Continue reading
    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2020-02-02
  3. "SEL ES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer I in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relax work environment, healthy workload

    Cons

    Pay lesser than what is expected

    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2020-01-16
  4. "Wonderful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories

    Pros

    Great coworkers, positive work environment, flexible work hours, I felt trusted and valued.

    Cons

    Dress code is stricter than other companies

    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2019-09-25
  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Customer Service Representative in Pullman, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional work environment, ability to problem solve and offer solutions with minimal oversight

    Cons

    International markets are volatile, small town, older workforce

    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2019-05-17
  6. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Electrical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team Great intern pay Lots of personal projects Lots of opportunity to show what you can do You will learn so much, at a very fast pace. Forgiving Great Intern to full-time engineer program Solid roadmap for your future career Free lunch on Friday (Big deal for college students) The people are the best part. Hands down.

    Cons

    I wish that I had more time to learn about the company as a whole. I would love to work with more people my age Can be a stressful work environment, in order to meet deadlines and make the customers happy.

    Continue reading
    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2019-02-19
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer(Internship) in Anaheim, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food every Friday. Fun work environment.

    Cons

    Pullman is very small. Not much to do after work.

    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2019-01-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories

    Pros

    Team mates are very nice to help, managers are open for ideas. I like the family style work environment, everyone cares about the company and the customers.

    Cons

    Could have more career ladders in the future.

    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2018-05-29
  9. "Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories

    Pros

    Company is built on solid foundation of morals and character. Very good work environment. The company is very stable and focused on providing electric power to the world.

    Cons

    Pretty young company. Management is often made up of people who have worked for the company for a long time and made there way up with it. They are not necessarily the most educated or best people for the position,

    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2018-03-09
  10. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories part-time

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment that encourage me to grow in several aspects. Thankful for my time there, though I had to leave to pursue opportunities that grew me more professionally.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, I had to leave to pursue other opportunities that grew me more.

    Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories2017-10-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews