Scotch & Soda Reviews | Glassdoor

Scotch & Soda Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Scotch & Soda CEO Dirk-Jan Stoppelenburg
Dirk-Jan Stoppelenburg
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "While the in-store staff and management is great, the upper management is not(in 4 reviews)

  • "In my time at scotch and soda I have been nothing but happy and feeling like I've been growing(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotch & Soda

    Pros

    Great working environment for all

    Cons

    Slow days expecially during the week

    Scotch & Soda2018-09-07
  2. "Have really enjoyed my time at Scotch and Soda"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotch & Soda full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's growing really rapidly in the United States and because of that I have been able to move up fairly quickly, especially for someone with no retail background. Great work environment and I have had good teams at every store I have worked at. One of the really nice things about working for Scotch and Soda is how small the company is, you really get to know everyone who works for the brand including a good number of the corporate employees.

    Cons

    People is the US still aren't very aware of the brand so business can be really slow somedays.

    Continue reading
    Scotch & Soda2019-07-08
  3. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Scotch & Soda

    Pros

    Great environment to work at

    Cons

    pay is minimal for sale associates

    Scotch & Soda2018-12-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotch & Soda full-time

    Pros

    Discount, Unparalleled quality and craftsmanship in product, good, honest people for the most part.

    Cons

    Isn't much room for movement unless people quit.

    Continue reading
    Scotch & Soda2018-11-28
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Reevaluate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotch & Soda

    Pros

    Discount, Benefits, Smaller brand, Hours

    Cons

    Company culture (and sales) shifted after a handful of Area Manager positions created. These managers are not equipt to handle what's asked of them, make working for the brand feel like a typical retail job, and they all have close personal relationships with each other which is problematic, to say the least.

    Continue reading
    Scotch & Soda2018-05-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work, great culture, hard to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotch & Soda part-time

    Pros

    Pay always starts great, 70% discount, employees and management were awesome

    Cons

    People like the job so much that they don’t leave which makes it hard to move up

    Continue reading
    Scotch & Soda2018-02-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great Brand that Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fashion Host in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotch & Soda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The brand itself is very unique with its approach to fashion and it stands out from other labels. Corporate in Holland has a very open heart and they do care about their employees.

    Cons

    There needs to be more aggressive corporate management in the US. When I was sent to Holland, you could tell that the brand was being run like a well oiled machine and most workers seem happy. In the US the company has much potential but there needs to be more motivation and an actual direction. I have much respect for the US corporate management but sometimes new talent needs to come in so that change can happen. Also, they need to be cautious about opening up so many stores because today's retail market is very shakey.

    Continue reading
    Scotch & Soda2018-02-05
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Deflating Balloon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fashion Host 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotch & Soda full-time

    Pros

    This company offers an incredible discount and the clothing is always exciting from season to season. These are really the two best things working for this company. It used to be travel and training benefits but due to budget this has sadly dwindled down to something maybe once a year if lucky.

    Cons

    Corporate direction is unknown, growth potential as a company is not being met. Managers are given all the freedom in the world then quickly reprimanded by upper management when something goes wrong. The company has a very high turn over rate and once offered competitive wages and now is on the lower end of the pay scale in comparison to other retail brands.

    Continue reading
    Scotch & Soda2017-10-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotch & Soda part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    human resources, clothing allowance, pay

    Cons

    no commission structure, weird environment, aggressive manager

    Scotch & Soda2017-09-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Mismanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotch & Soda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collection is nice. Some people are friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Favoritism showed toward certain employees over others. Lots of gossip about employees to other employees.

    Continue reading
    Scotch & Soda2017-09-13
Found 75 reviews