ScotiaMcleod Reviews | Glassdoor

ScotiaMcleod Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
ScotiaMcleod CEO Richard E. Waugh
Richard E. Waugh
11 Ratings
  1. "Investment Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Soctia Mcleod was a good investment banking firm with solid reputation with clients.

    Cons

    While technology lacked and focus on small clients lacked, the overall approach I took in a detailed focus on my clients worked very well.

    ScotiaMcleod2017-09-18
  2. "Good Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Associate in Regina, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - freedom at work - good people to work with - some seasonal projects that keep job interesting - room for growth - love my boss

    Cons

    - Base Pay is low - Licensing Tests are expensive -Technology is lacking but getting better (very slowly)

    ScotiaMcleod2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible All Around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Can meet some smart and connected people

    Cons

    This is a mostly a team based environment so your experience will vary. If you end up on a bad team with a bad advisor then RUN!! Be prepared to be blamed for every mistake your boss does and thrown right under the boss. and There will also be plenty of back stabbing a lying just to get ahead. If the lead advisor is generating some good $ managment really won't care about anything else. Also watch out if you end... up with an advisor that will take his clients for a ride for fees charged just because they will get away with it most of the time. You are made to feel guilty for taking a lunch break for for more than 15 minutes. Technology is also horrible and will not allow you to do your job properly which usually result in you getting blamed for doing your job too slow or not up to standard. Finally will usually be quite bad after you factor in all the overtime worked which there is an unspoken rule that you are not entitled to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve training, and company culture it is toxic.

    ScotiaMcleod2019-08-15
  4. "Watch for the politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Corporate events were fun and the training program taught me a lot.

    Cons

    Everything is at the advisor’s discretion and management just wants to make the advisors happy.

    ScotiaMcleod2019-07-23
  5. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Independence and unlimited earning potential

    Cons

    Depends on the advisor team you work with

    ScotiaMcleod2019-07-08
  6. "Junior Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Good work atmosphere with co workers

    Cons

    Not the best working conditions and not staying with the times of competitive business

    ScotiaMcleod2019-03-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits plan and employer profit sharing plan

    Cons

    Office moral is really low. It used to be a fun working environment and it has gotten worse every year

    ScotiaMcleod2019-03-04
  8. "Prod of employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    friendly, kind and responsible of employees

    Cons

    no cons for the Scotia McLeod

    Advice to Management

    can the bank use machine to help employees to decrease workload?

    ScotiaMcleod2018-11-12
  9. "Investment Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Associate in Halifax, NS

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment, endless earning potential

    Cons

    Hard to establish yourself, the first two years are tough

    ScotiaMcleod2018-10-29
  10. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Everyone was always willing to help and very friendly. They wanted to help with my future career and were very interested in helping me achieve my goals.

    Cons

    Very repetitive work and not much variety from day to day

    Advice to Management

    Give students more responsibility while working at Scotia McLeod

    ScotiaMcleod2018-10-04
Found 46 reviews