ScotiaMcleod Reviews | Glassdoor

ScotiaMcleod Reviews

Updated 11 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
ScotiaMcleod CEO Richard E. Waugh
Richard E. Waugh
11 Ratings
  1. "Investment Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Soctia Mcleod was a good investment banking firm with solid reputation with clients.

    Cons

    While technology lacked and focus on small clients lacked, the overall approach I took in a detailed focus on my clients worked very well.

    ScotiaMcleod2017-09-18
  2. "Prod of employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    friendly, kind and responsible of employees

    Cons

    no cons for the Scotia McLeod

    Advice to Management

    can the bank use machine to help employees to decrease workload?

    ScotiaMcleod2018-11-12
  3. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Everyone was always willing to help and very friendly. They wanted to help with my future career and were very interested in helping me achieve my goals.

    Cons

    Very repetitive work and not much variety from day to day

    Advice to Management

    Give students more responsibility while working at Scotia McLeod

    ScotiaMcleod2018-10-04
  4. "Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod part-time

    Pros

    They were flexible I learned a lot I felt supported The boss and team were cohesive as a team

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    ScotiaMcleod2017-11-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "ScotiaMcLeod Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Peterborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    I was part time and they allowed me to work around my school schedule They were very supportive whenever I had any issues

    Cons

    I would probably say nothing

    Advice to Management

    Management were great. Very supportive

    ScotiaMcleod2016-09-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "very good place to learn and grow. Worked here for the last 3 years and totally loved it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    People are very good, lots of really skilled and talented resources. very good place to learn and grow. Worked here for the last 3 years and totally loved it.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities

    ScotiaMcleod2015-03-07
  7. "Excellent people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to start working in and very enjoyable colleagues.

    Cons

    not too many cons - maybe the fact that not many young people are drawn to this sector (wealth management), but that creates a big opportunity as I see this industry growing rapidly through the coming years.

    ScotiaMcleod2014-10-09
  8. "Great place to work, if you find the right fit with your team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There's an excellent employee culture here, with smart and funny co-workers who enjoy making this a fun and engaging place to be. Benefits are good, and salary/pay can also be good, depending on the team you work for. Team fit is a very important component of an employee's experience. You work closely with a Wealth Advisor and other team members. Each associate's experience and work load is different. ... Because income is made up of two parts - a salary plus an Advisor-paid incentive, the range can vary wildly for two employees with similar experience and qualifications. In my opinion, base salary itself is quite low which makes the incentive pay very important. In order to be paid fairly, you have to develop a good relationship with the lead Wealth Advisor.

    Show More

    Cons

    Depending on your team and your role, work loads can be heavy. Scotia's come a long way in developing technology over the last few years, but it is far from perfect, and there's still a lot of grumbling about it amongst staff. The Wealth Advisor has a lot of influence over his team's experience. Some are wonderful to work for. Others are micro-managers, and all-around difficult.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    ScotiaMcleod2019-10-11
  9. "Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Good big brand name, pretty good management

    Cons

    Could get lost in the big network

    ScotiaMcleod2017-10-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Great benefit. Great learning experience.

    Cons

    Salary never match market index.

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting assistant position.

    ScotiaMcleod2017-06-12
Found 47 reviews