ScotiaMcleod Reviews | Glassdoor

ScotiaMcleod Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
ScotiaMcleod CEO Richard E. Waugh
Richard E. Waugh
11 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work, if you find the right fit with your team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There's an excellent employee culture here, with smart and funny co-workers who enjoy making this a fun and engaging place to be. Benefits are good, and salary/pay can also be good, depending on the team you work for. Team fit is a very important component of an employee's experience. You work closely with a Wealth Advisor and other team members. Each associate's experience and work load is different. ... Because income is made up of two parts - a salary plus an Advisor-paid incentive, the range can vary wildly for two employees with similar experience and qualifications. In my opinion, base salary itself is quite low which makes the incentive pay very important. In order to be paid fairly, you have to develop a good relationship with the lead Wealth Advisor.

    Show More

    Cons

    Depending on your team and your role, work loads can be heavy. Scotia's come a long way in developing technology over the last few years, but it is far from perfect, and there's still a lot of grumbling about it amongst staff. The Wealth Advisor has a lot of influence over his team's experience. Some are wonderful to work for. Others are micro-managers, and all-around difficult.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    ScotiaMcleod2019-10-11
  2. "Good Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Associate in Regina, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - freedom at work - good people to work with - some seasonal projects that keep job interesting - room for growth - love my boss

    Cons

    - Base Pay is low - Licensing Tests are expensive -Technology is lacking but getting better (very slowly)

    ScotiaMcleod2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible All Around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Can meet some smart and connected people

    Cons

    This is a mostly a team based environment so your experience will vary. If you end up on a bad team with a bad advisor then RUN!! Be prepared to be blamed for every mistake your boss does and thrown right under the boss. and There will also be plenty of back stabbing a lying just to get ahead. If the lead advisor is generating some good $ managment really won't care about anything else. Also watch out if you end... up with an advisor that will take his clients for a ride for fees charged just because they will get away with it most of the time. You are made to feel guilty for taking a lunch break for for more than 15 minutes. Technology is also horrible and will not allow you to do your job properly which usually result in you getting blamed for doing your job too slow or not up to standard. Finally will usually be quite bad after you factor in all the overtime worked which there is an unspoken rule that you are not entitled to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve training, and company culture it is toxic.

    ScotiaMcleod2019-08-15
  4. "Watch for the politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Corporate events were fun and the training program taught me a lot.

    Cons

    Everything is at the advisor’s discretion and management just wants to make the advisors happy.

    ScotiaMcleod2019-07-23
  5. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Independence and unlimited earning potential

    Cons

    Depends on the advisor team you work with

    ScotiaMcleod2019-07-08
  6. "Junior Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Good work atmosphere with co workers

    Cons

    Not the best working conditions and not staying with the times of competitive business

    ScotiaMcleod2019-03-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits plan and employer profit sharing plan

    Cons

    Office moral is really low. It used to be a fun working environment and it has gotten worse every year

    ScotiaMcleod2019-03-04
  8. "Prod of employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    friendly, kind and responsible of employees

    Cons

    no cons for the Scotia McLeod

    Advice to Management

    can the bank use machine to help employees to decrease workload?

    ScotiaMcleod2018-11-12
  9. "Investment Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Associate in Halifax, NS

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment, endless earning potential

    Cons

    Hard to establish yourself, the first two years are tough

    ScotiaMcleod2018-10-29
  10. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Everyone was always willing to help and very friendly. They wanted to help with my future career and were very interested in helping me achieve my goals.

    Cons

    Very repetitive work and not much variety from day to day

    Advice to Management

    Give students more responsibility while working at Scotia McLeod

    ScotiaMcleod2018-10-04
Found 47 reviews