ScotiaMcleod Reviews | Glassdoor

ScotiaMcleod Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
ScotiaMcleod CEO Richard E. Waugh
Richard E. Waugh
11 Ratings
  1. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Everyone was always willing to help and very friendly. They wanted to help with my future career and were very interested in helping me achieve my goals.

    Cons

    Very repetitive work and not much variety from day to day

    Advice to Management

    Give students more responsibility while working at Scotia McLeod

    ScotiaMcleod2018-10-04
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mississauga, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly environment

    Cons

    No promotion from inside

    ScotiaMcleod2018-07-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Senior associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, entrepreneurial focus, fast paced

    Cons

    Staff are not valued by leadership, admin staff get a really small portion of the revenue earned, staff are all stretched too thin for the sake of creating more profits. This includes management.

    ScotiaMcleod2018-04-29
  4. "Marketing Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Associate in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod for more than a year

    Pros

    High end company, makes clients feel important in turn makes employees feel important.

    Cons

    Minimal career growth opportunity, low wages, and poor training.

    ScotiaMcleod2018-03-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Monday - Friday / receive benefits

    Cons

    Working for advisors which can have difficult personalities is challenging / stress from the stock market

    Advice to Management

    Treat Administrative staff better

    ScotiaMcleod2018-03-21
  6. "Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod part-time

    Pros

    They were flexible I learned a lot I felt supported The boss and team were cohesive as a team

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    ScotiaMcleod2017-11-01
  7. "Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Good big brand name, pretty good management

    Cons

    Could get lost in the big network

    ScotiaMcleod2017-10-23
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Treat their employee with zero respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod for more than a year

    Pros

    If you happen to join a good team, your work will be smooth

    Cons

    Try how management treats you when something bad happens to your advisor. They will tell you that they want to help you, but really, they will hang you around in the meantime try to figure out how to get rid of you. They will not fire you because they don't want to pay severance, they will give you HINTS that you are not going anywhere here so you can go find yourself another job and quit. Very horrible experience... at Scotia McLeod. Backstabbing team members and spineless advisors, terrible management, not recommending to work there AT ALL.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to respect your associates as much as you respect the advisors and try deal things in a more professional way.

    ScotiaMcleod2017-11-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Great benefit. Great learning experience.

    Cons

    Salary never match market index.

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting assistant position.

    ScotiaMcleod2017-06-12
  10. "Private Client Financial Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working on the retail brokerage side in a high energy team environment. There is plenty of opportunities to learn, advance and get rewarded for hard work very supportive environment.

    Cons

    Be prepared to eat at your desk on busy days. compelled to work through breaks and lunch to serve clients need. If you are ok with that...

    Advice to Management

    maybe things have changed over that last few years, but management should stress less on Maybe conditions have changed in the last few years, however, I felt there was too much competition and focus on meeting financial targets, managing larger accounts while ignoring fiduciary responsibility to smaller clients.

    ScotiaMcleod2017-03-06
Found 47 reviews