ScotiaMcleod Reviews | Glassdoor

ScotiaMcleod Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
ScotiaMcleod CEO Richard E. Waugh
Richard E. Waugh
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    No pros for this company

    Cons

    ScotiaMcLeod has the worst training program, assistants are expected to know everything without being shown and are disrespected daily by their team. Most employees have been there decades and are stuck in their ways- new staff are expected to deal with how "things have always been done" and new ideas are shut down. Do not work here! Not enough pay for being treated like garbage!

    Advice to Management

    Have managers and other members of the team treat people with respect

    ScotiaMcleod2017-01-31
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Investment Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Can pay well depending on advisor you work with

    Cons

    Can be lousy job if advisor is an ahole

    ScotiaMcleod2016-12-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Branch Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    good hours, nice people in the office

    Cons

    management if afraid to let their assistants to show their leadership skills

    ScotiaMcleod2016-10-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "ScotiaMcLeod Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Peterborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    I was part time and they allowed me to work around my school schedule They were very supportive whenever I had any issues

    Cons

    I would probably say nothing

    Advice to Management

    Management were great. Very supportive

    ScotiaMcleod2016-09-16
  5. "A great place to learn for graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Investment Advisor Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    - One of the biggest stockbroker in Canada - Great working environment and services from the bank - Complete autonomy

    Cons

    - 100% commission based - Better working in a large group in the organization than for single stock broker.

    Advice to Management

    - Create more internship schemes

    ScotiaMcleod2016-08-29
  6. "advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Vancouver, BC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod for less than a year

    Pros

    culture and the timings are very favourable. the person working there can have a great work life balance

    Cons

    too much work pressure and had to go through various tests while joining the company

    ScotiaMcleod2016-08-22
  7. "Branch Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    Friendly working environment and helpful team members

    Cons

    Behind in technology and systems

    ScotiaMcleod2016-05-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People worked with were wonderful

    Cons

    No work life balance to be had

    ScotiaMcleod2016-01-15
  9. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    no micro-management and no over-time neccessary

    Cons

    small team, no team spirit, manager is careless about job satisfaction

    ScotiaMcleod2015-11-16
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    There is no reason to work there.

    Cons

    Toxic environment with most employees feeling miserable and trapped. No one behaves or exhibits the Scotia mantra of "One Team One Goal". There is no team...its every man for himself.

    ScotiaMcleod2015-10-22
Found 47 reviews