ScotiaMcleod Reviews | Glassdoor

ScotiaMcleod Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
ScotiaMcleod CEO Richard E. Waugh
Richard E. Waugh
11 Ratings
  1. "Saw how the sausage gets made."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned quite a bit. Acquired a new lingo. Decent money. Got to know some good people. Flexible hours and more relaxed summer schedule.

    Cons

    Worried that new lingo might surface in inappropriate circumstances ( brokers swear a lot ). Got to know some less good people. Company seems to be cutting back on benefits with a vengeance.

    Advice to Management

    Work on employees morale a little.

    ScotiaMcleod2014-10-18
  2. "Excellent people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to start working in and very enjoyable colleagues.

    Cons

    not too many cons - maybe the fact that not many young people are drawn to this sector (wealth management), but that creates a big opportunity as I see this industry growing rapidly through the coming years.

    ScotiaMcleod2014-10-09
  3. "Great those who want to make an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Small teams allow for creativity. The downside is that you must find a team you click with. - Great work-life balance ... often out of the office by 5. - Great collaborative culture... everyone is willing to share ideas and help.

    Cons

    - Technology. They say it will be improved soon, but I'm not sure about that. - Lots of changes to the industry happening in 2014 and 2016. - Because of the small teams, there really isn't anywhere to grow except for creating/growing your own book.

    Advice to Management

    Put more focus on training the staff on portfolio management. Too much focus on sales, but little care when it comes to delivering a high quality product. Get the technology up to industry standards.

    ScotiaMcleod2014-09-17
  4. "Overall I have been very happy here, but with my position, the experience greatly depends on the advisor you work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Associate 

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It has great work/life balance and a great culture. I feel rewarded and recognized for any ideas and or extra work.

    Cons

    Scheduling is not flexible as have to be present during market hours. Review process is a joke as the person who writes your review doesn't even work with you on a day to day basis and may not even know what your daily duties are

    Advice to Management

    Review process needs an overhaul - the advisors should have some say in the rating (I have always been happy with my reviews, however I find it is a flawed system)

    ScotiaMcleod2014-04-25
  5. "Unremarkable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Associate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and better colleauges

    Cons

    Is historically cheap and seems to be continuing that trend

    ScotiaMcleod2013-12-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "very unhealthy environment for employee with good work ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ScotiaMcleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good for lazy talker and difficult people

    Cons

    absence of management, lack of support from management, no respect for employee

    Advice to Management

    more education on HR issues for the management

    ScotiaMcleod2013-10-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A LOT of work for low pay!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at ScotiaMcleod

    Pros

    Working at the bank has tonnes of perks and benefits!

    Cons

    The work you do is NEVER enough!

    ScotiaMcleod2012-07-14
Found 47 reviews