Scotiabank "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Scotiabank Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
1,369 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance was sometimes tough, but that might vary by department(in 89 reviews)

  • "Long hours when steering committee meetings came close(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Scotiabank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ION Marketview Support Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A young and dynamic working environment

    Cons

    The people that worked closely with me and my direct bosses did not decide my salary

    Scotiabank2014-10-31
  2. "Review Scotiabank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salaries and good people

    Cons

    Very strange work environment. Low opportunities of growth

    Scotiabank2019-05-28
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Still in transformation and always behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New York office has a talented team and nice work environment.

    Cons

    Toronto head office thinks too much of themselves. Pay is always uncompetitive.

    Advice to Management

    Double your expenditures on technological improvements. Show and reassure thru deeds, and not pompous speeches.

    Scotiabank2018-02-07
  4. "Not the greatest paying job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and work environment Benefits are good Work is moderately difficult to learn Friendly atmosphere and advancement possibly is there

    Cons

    Very low pay and salary with no additional source of income Poorly run management and supervisors No negotiation is possible at time of hire

    Advice to Management

    Improve management and increase salary

    Scotiabank2017-07-08
  5. "Scotiabank review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Scotiabank

    Pros

    great team great work environment lots to learn

    Cons

    pay not reflective of the responsibilities movement within departments not so easy, need to stay in 1 role for at least 2 years

    Scotiabank2017-04-13
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Stay away from the Call Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with (not managers) were great. They made a very stressful work environment easier with jokes and snacks. The applause points you receive from team challenges, positive reviews etc. are great, you can cash them in for gift cards or products. (I got a lot of movie passes and a hairdryer) They give you benefits from day one of training! I got new glasses in my 2nd week of training.

    Cons

    The job is super stressful! Call after call with angry customers threatening/yelling at you because of someone else's mistake (usually the branch) that you can't fix. Working weekends means that nothing you do for the customer will actually process that day as it takes 2-3 business days. When the branch messes up they have no accountability and it can count as a negative review for you. Micro managers that... harass you over your stats even when you are making the stats! What's the point of making the stats if you still get harassed about it?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More training is needed, especially for the centres in South America. More accountability for the branch when they make mistakes.

    Scotiabank2017-03-10
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Underwriter in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scotiabank for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, and plenty scope for upward mobility. Caters to the well being of employees and encourages self development. Pretty decent benefit package inclusive of productivity bonus.

    Cons

    Can be demanding and tilts the work/life balance more often than not in favor of work. No overtime compensation for extra hours.

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more accommodating to employee suggestions as it relates to alternative methods to work processes. Usually the suggestions are directed to facilitate or achieve a better work/life balance. Listen to the person walking the talk. This will auger well for increased loyalty, respect, and productivity.

    Scotiabank2016-08-24
  8. "coop analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank

    Pros

    Good working environment. People are friendly. I have a chance to access multiple interesting projects.

    Cons

    The salary is low and workload is high.

    Advice to Management

    management should focus on general picture not into details

    Scotiabank2015-10-12
  9. "Decent place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank

    Pros

    For the most part, relaxed work environment compared to other banks. Teams are generally lean so opportunity to get broad exposure on transactions.

    Cons

    Lack of structured personal development opportunities. Few similar-aged employees. Scotia feels "cheap" in several ways compared to competitors.

    Scotiabank2015-07-07
  10. "Unique and Exciting Team to be apart of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Coordinator, Hockey Sponsorship in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great opportunity to help support a large and exciting Hockey Portfolio - Collaborative work environment - Many mentorship opportunities - Many driven and outside of the box thinkers on the team - A very unique objective that is strongly supported by the overall bank

    Cons

    - Better alignment between what all the teams are working on could be improved in order to foster more brainstorming within the team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on creating that great culture that you have established!

    Scotiabank2019-11-21
Found 236 reviews