Scotiabank "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Scotiabank Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
1,381 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance was sometimes tough, but that might vary by department(in 91 reviews)

  • "Long hours when steering committee meetings came close(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Strong commitment to change and growth from leadership, solid culture, employees are strongly valued beyond being a cog in a wheel

    Cons

    Work life balance was sometimes tough, but that might vary by department.

    Scotiabank2019-06-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture but Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank for less than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with during my 10-week internship period were amazing and I really appreciated the flat company structure, we were encouraged to reach out across the organization in order to network and I even had a C-level executive offer to review my internship presentation. My back-office position had a very good work-life balance and I felt challenged but never overwhelmed or overworked. The compensation... was very good at over $30/hour but no relocation bonus/assistance was offered. The office location is superb and very accessible by public transit, and the subsidized cafeteria had great food.

    Show More

    Cons

    The New York Agency is in high-growth mode and therefore very disorganized. This was the first year the company has really grown its intern program and it showed. During the interview process I was shuffled around onto a different team than I originally thought I was applying for; I was dismayed to learn several weeks later that my preferred team had asked for interns but was denied by management. There was... also a lack of intern-specific events, the company hosted a couple luncheons with internal speakers but any other event was at the discretion of the department we found ourselves in. My experience was overall positive but I felt that it was too heavily reliant upon my coworkers going above and beyond rather than enabled through HR/higher-ups.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I had a wonderful experience but please develop a more robust framework for the internship program including events, expectations, and onboarding.

    Scotiabank2019-08-11
  3. "Great Place to Begin a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collective and cohesive environment for young professionals

    Cons

    Long hours and tough work-life balance

    Scotiabank2019-04-14
  4. "Great company, good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Canadians good people to work for, good work life balance

    Cons

    Not very high up the league tables although

    Advice to Management

    Clamp down on bad behavior

    Scotiabank2019-04-04
  5. "Scotiabank New York"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, slower paced than US and European banks

    Cons

    Very Toronto centric - all key decisions need to be made at HQ, salaries are lower compared to peers

    Scotiabank2018-09-07
  6. "Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work at. Work life balance. Space to be an entrepreneur with your work. Good culture, growth opportunity.

    Cons

    Not much to say on the negative side. Canadian, large, so that means its slightly bureaucratic and slow, but it’s not a major issue.

    Scotiabank2018-08-22
  7. "Senior Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Scotiabank

    Pros

    Great culture, hard work rewarded

    Cons

    Long hours, no work life balance model

    Scotiabank2018-06-06
  8. "Service and support officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Scotiabank

    Pros

    Great benefits for persons with a family

    Cons

    Work life balance is needed for clerical jobs

    Scotiabank2016-10-26
  9. "BNS NY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Needs some systems upgrades, excel reliant.

    Scotiabank2016-10-05
  10. "Support Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mount Vernon, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and salary. Scope for advancement. Good management team. A good place to work.

    Cons

    A lot of work. Not much work-life balance due to the volume of work.

    Advice to Management

    Allow staff to practise more work-life balance.

    Scotiabank2016-10-04
Found 330 reviews