Scottish Rite for Children Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Scottish Rite for Children President & CEO Robert "Bob" L. Walker (no image)
Robert "Bob" L. Walker
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work environment, update and positive attitude amongst staff, One of the best work places(in 3 reviews)

  • "Most departments seem to have pretty laid-back management, which is nice for work/life balance(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "The " good old boy " system is alive and well at Texas Scottish Rite Hospital(in 3 reviews)

  • "There is a huge division between clinical and administrative functions(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scottish Rite for Children full-time

    Pros

    Working with the children and families. The staff is awesome in their care for the patients and families.

    Cons

    None at this time to share.

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    March 4, 2021

    Thank you for your 5-star review! Receiving praise such as yours makes us believe we are doing something right, especially in our care for children. We know that we couldn't do it without positive employees like you.

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Temporary Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scottish Rite for Children full-time

    Pros

    friendly environment to work in

    Cons

    unorganized at times on the holiday project

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    September 30, 2020

    Thank you for your 5-star review! It's gratifying to know that you enjoyed our friendly atmosphere. As far as the holiday project, we admit that it gets challenging, but we love it, and it brings children so much joy. We'll keep working to make it a smoother process for our great employees!


  3. "Low compensation, but a great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scottish Rite for Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Scottish Rite really are great people and will go out of their way to make your day. The work is rewarding, even if you are not directly involved in the care for the patients.

    Cons

    The compensation is pretty low.

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    February 2, 2021

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your acknowledging the great people who work here making a difference in children's lives every day. Our commitment to delivering the highest quality of advanced pediatric care remains our top priority. Employees who have the same passion for helping children find that the rewards far surpass any financial gain. At the same time, we believe that all employees deserve a fair wage, and we strive to do the best for them with the resources we have.

  4. "Overall company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scottish Rite for Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, good people, team work

    Cons

    No room for growth, poor communication

    Continue reading

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    February 2, 2021

    Thank you for your review. We agree that having good people who work as a team is our greatest asset. If there are areas where we can improve communication, we pledge to do so, and we're open to suggestions. We strive to do whatever it takes to continue pioneering the treatment of pediatric orthopedic conditions. Thank you for being part of our team.

  5. "Great place but know what you're getting in to"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scottish Rite for Children full-time

    Pros

    Love the organization and mission of the hospital.

    Cons

    POOR middle management, failure of equal work distribution

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    February 2, 2021

    Thank you for your review. And thank you for endorsing our mission. We regret that you're experiencing difficulty with management and work distribution. We hope you can reach out to others who are in a position to help you. We take the well-being of our employees very seriously.

  6. "Love the mission!"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Ortho 

    I have been working at Scottish Rite for Children full-time

    Pros

    Seeing the children get the help they need

    Cons

    upper management tunnel vision, needs younger leadership

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    May 7, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Founded almost 100 years ago, Texas Scottish Rite is a world-renowned leader in the treatment of orthopedic conditions. Even so, we are focused on continually improving, so your feedback is appreciated. Without staff like you we wouldn't be able to deliver our mission. Thank you.

  7. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scottish Rite for Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been here almost 3 years and I think the mission alone speaks for itself; giving children back their childhood. People here are friendly, caring, and compassionate and that holds true for both leadership and staff.

    Cons

    I think honestly the only con I could say is that change is hard due to tunnel vision.

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    April 17, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your five-star review! Our hospital is a unique place to work because we believe in a collaborative approach, utilizing the care and expertise from all departments. Employees like you help achieve our mission by giving children back their childhood. We are so glad that you're enjoying your work experience at Scottish Rite.

  8. "Fulfilling"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scottish Rite for Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sense of purpose and alignment to greater vision. I love my HR Department!

    Cons

    Can be slow to adopt change sometimes

    Continue reading

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    April 10, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your five-star review and your advice! We are so glad that you are enjoying your work experience at Texas Scottish Rite. Our hospital is dedicated to advancing treatment methods, conducting pioneering research and educating health care professionals locally and abroad to serve our commitment of giving children back their childhood. Employees like you help us achieve this mission every day.

  9. "Giving Children Back Their Childhood"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scottish Rite for Children full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Caring place that is dedicated to children

    Cons

    The Healthcare Industry is currently in flux

    Scottish Rite for Children Response

    March 7, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're so glad that you are enjoying your work experience at Texas Scottish Rite.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Administration"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scottish Rite for Children full-time

    Pros

    The goals and culture of the organization are easy to align persoannaly with and feel proud to support.

    Cons

    There is very little diversity in the hospital clinical or administrative leadership. The current leadership is primarily comprised of white men, including the board, administration, and clinicians. It feels like a good old boys network with very limited growth opportunities. It is a very highly controlled, mother-may-I, environment with limited empowerment and trust of employees

    Continue reading
Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 English Reviews

Work at Scottish Rite for Children? Share Your Experiences

Scottish Rite for Children logo
or