Scottrade Branch Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Scottrade Branch Intern Reviews

32 reviews

Filter

Filter

Branch Intern

3.7
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Scottrade Founder, President, and CEO Rodger O. Riney
Rodger O. Riney
24 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great work/life balance for employees (in 117 reviews)

  • 401k match, weekends off or should I say on parole (in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • Not much room for advancement that I notice, it seems very stagnant (in 30 reviews)

  • A glass ceiling exists unless you choose to move to St Louis where the corporate office is located (in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Branch Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Branch Intern in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Branch Intern in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Scottrade (More than a year)

    Pros

    Exposure to markets, time to study for exams, opportunities for trainings

    Cons

    Limited type of work you can do without having your broker license

    Scottrade Response

    Jul 29, 2016 – Social Recruiting Team

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and wish you the best of luck in your future career.


  2. Helpful (10)

    "OK place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Intern
    Current Employee - Branch Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scottrade part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    +Great Staff in Branches
    +Good Learning Experience
    +Decent Help

    Cons

    -No upward mobility (Current Executive management has set ridiculous demands to be even considered a branch manager, but "buddies" from other firms who have no management experience are easily given positions)

    Advice to Management

    Promote the talent that you have within the company rather than hiring less than capable individuals from other lower wage firms.

    Scottrade Response

    Mar 9, 2016 – Social Recruiting Team

    Thank you for your feedback. Last year, nearly 17 percent of our associates were promoted, and internal candidates are often considered first for positions available throughout the firm. As an ... More


  3. "Branch Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Branch Intern
    Current Intern - Branch Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scottrade as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great way to learn about the wealth management industry. Compensation is very well for the intern level. Listening to the ICs on the phones all day gives great insight as to how to sell wealth management. Great benefits and bonus incentives when a full-time IC.

    Cons

    There is a lack of communication between the middle office and the branches in regards to protocol when performing various clerical tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to a payout structure that is competitive and non-varying. Fix the middle office structure so that paperwork can be processed more effectively.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "It's what you make of it."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Intern in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Branch Intern in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scottrade part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great staff at the branch where I was. But just like with any intern position, you have to be careful not to let them overuse you. The depth of learning beyond the basic duties is up to you. You learn to deal with different types of people.

    Cons

    No regular janitors, so you must do the shredding and take out the trash. Not many opportunities for growth within the area. Must relocate unless you get lucky with an investment consultant opening nearby.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the older branch managers are trained well and have the knowledge to do everything the intern is required to do.

    Scottrade Response

    Oct 20, 2015 – Social Recruiting Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your suggestions and wish you the best of luck in your career.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Internship"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Intern in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Branch Intern in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Learn a lot about the industry.

    Cons

    Limited room for growth unless you want to be a branch manager.


  7. "Great experience interning while in undergrad"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Intern in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Branch Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Awesome culture, employees, and environment. Very reputable business model as well.

    Cons

    Communication from upper management to individual branches.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that the consultants are the point of contact for clients rather than salesmen.

    Scottrade Response

    Feb 9, 2015 – Social Recruiting Team

    Thanks for your review. We hope you are finding value at your internship with Scottrade and wish you the best in the future.


  8. "Branch Intern-Great experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Branch Intern
    Former Intern - Branch Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scottrade as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The intern program in my time there was very beneficial to my growth as a professional. You certainly learn the best customer service skills you can imagine and the tight knit atmosphere of a small branch helps you acclimate quickly in a steep learning curve setting.

    Cons

    The main con is that when you run out of training and know everything you can about being an intern, there is not much more room for advancement until you gain your broker license. Additionally, if you do not think you can handle clients who are concerned about their money (as they should be) then this is not the internship for you.

    Scottrade Response

    Jan 30, 2015 – Social Recruiting Team

    Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear your internship was beneficial and wish you success in your future career.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Intern
    Former Employee - Branch Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to learn the brokerage business

    Cons

    Not much room to advance

    Scottrade Response

    Jan 22, 2015 – Social Recruiting Team

    We appreciate your review and are happy to hear your internship provided you with an opportunity to learn about the financial services industry. We wish you success in your career.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Overall: good company (intern)"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Intern
    Current Employee - Branch Intern
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Friendly company and management. As an intern I mainly dealed with who was in my office so I got lucky.
    Handled most of the every day admin work (phones, email, paperwork, etc)
    Very flexible schedule and good pay for an internship ($10/hr)

    Cons

    The systems are outdated and don't give the offices adequate tools to provide the best service.

    Advice to Management

    Update the platforms the employees use.

    Scottrade Response

    Jan 8, 2015 – Social Recruiting Team

    Thank you for your comments. We’re pleased to hear that your internship has been enjoyable. We appreciate your suggestions and will share them with the appropriate people.


  11. Helpful (2)

    "The best two years of my college career."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Branch Intern in Littleton, CO
    Former Intern - Branch Intern in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scottrade as an intern (More than a year)

    Pros

    My financial services aptitude was significantly greater after I left. You can choose your own schedule to accommodate things like sports, and classes. My manager never told me I couldn't go on a summer vacation, or have a day off if I had to travel for lacrosse games. And they actively help you to improve upon customer service. Even though you're just an intern, everyone I worked with made me feel that I was playing a very important role - which you are. I was always invited out for social events (baseball games, dinners, etc).

    Cons

    Limitations on what you can discuss with clients, even if you're able to deliver correct answers.

    Advice to Management

    Trust capable interns to handle clients on their own, and involve a licensed employee to get involved when necessary.

    Scottrade Response

    Jan 8, 2015 – Social Recruiting Team

    We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Scottrade. We wish you the best in your future endeavors.