Scrapinghub Reviews | Glassdoor

Scrapinghub Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
95%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub

    Pros

    -Great people with a real dedication to creating a best in class product -Teams willing to improve processes and dedicated to continuous improvement -Communications handled well overall and everyone is helpful and friendly -Great to work with professionals who are experts in their areas (especially the support team)

    Cons

    As is normal with younger companies expanding rapidly, it can be difficult to keep up with new features and planned releases for the various platforms

    Advice to Management

    Invest in dedicated, automation/ QA professionals on the platform teams, introduce automation framework to improve quality

    Scrapinghub2016-05-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working for Scrapinghub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Python Developer in Zagreb
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work, flexible hours, part-time or full-time employment, amazing colleagues from all around the world, company develops its own products and the least stress I've ever experienced at work :)

    Cons

    For me the only con was my inability to structure my time efficiently given so much freedom.

    Scrapinghub2016-03-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Committed to remote work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is absolutely committed to worldwide remote work - you will never have to visit an office, work times are flexible to accommodate workers anywhere in the world, tasks are typically asynchronous Core code quality is high. Well organized (ticket tracking, work schedules, etc). Chat rooms were the norm for communication. Everyone I worked with was friendly and open minded. Reasonable deadlines,... respectful of home responsibilities.

    Show More

    Cons

    Client insourcing is hit or miss. It was sometimes difficult to identify who to contact for different things, or to get assistance/cooperation when there wasn't a clear contact (diffusion of responsibility).

    Advice to Management

    Working at Scrapinghub opened my eyes to how a company could be run. Please continue to embrace telecommuting.

    Scrapinghub2015-12-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome Company with awesome culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to work from wherever you want and whenever you want, Highly motivated team, Amazing and helpful colleagues, Chance to work on the latest tech in webscraping, Low stress and pressure.

    Cons

    Most interaction in Q&A format on chat, should work more on engaging employees and keeping them motivated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work :), It would be nice to have more face 2 face interaction and discussions on video (maybe weekly), will help in feeling connected and motivated.

    Scrapinghub2015-08-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Some points can be improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Being able to work with brilliant minds located across the globe. - Owning your schedule. - Open source is the core of the company. - Hardware allowance. - Online services allowance.

    Cons

    - Employee referral does not exist. - Management between different teams varies a lot. - The company products are biased, really difficult to see proposed changes implemented. - 20 days off yearly is a bit low on some countries. - Although is possible to get promoted, salary remains the same. - You don't know if your performance is the expected one.

    Advice to Management

    - A quick monthly meeting with management in order to have feedback on your performance. - Increase compensation.

    Scrapinghub2015-08-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Exciting and fast growing startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a fully remote company which is in itself a great benefit: you get to work with really talented people from all around the world. Something I really about working here is that upper management is open to embrace change, I can tell that not only from concrete examples such as the really big and positive changes that have been going on in the platform and technology side of the company but also in the way the... company has accomodated the really fast growth of the last two years (we are 100+ people now), e.g. really clever solutions to managing employee availability, periodic performance reviews that result in salary raises and even internal webinars.

    Show More

    Cons

    Probably due to its open source origins and heavily engineer driven culture sometimes stuff needs to be pushed hard in order to make it happen (though on the plus side, the company is open to change so if you make a good case for improvements you definitely will get heard.)

    Advice to Management

    Please make sure that the fast growth of the company doesn't mean we lose the hacker culture we currently have! So far you've managed to keep it, I hope it stays like that!

    Scrapinghub2015-08-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work but can be even better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - work-life balance - smart and friendly people - flexible working hours - remote

    Cons

    - compensation is low - depends on project, but usually not enough interesting and challenging tasks, especially if you're creating and fixing spiders all the time

    Advice to Management

    - increase compensation - give opportunity for professional services developers to be involved in company's projects which they consider interesting - currently it isn't possible due to strong involvement in customers' projects

    Scrapinghub2015-06-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is great, as well as leadership.

    Cons

    Compensation is not very good.

    Advice to Management

    Give more attention to training and personal growth.

    Scrapinghub2014-12-12
Found 28 reviews