Scribbr Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
92%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Editor

    Dec 2, 2020 - Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good flexible job, don't need to advertise to get work

    Cons

    Amount of work sometimes unpredictable

    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Nice but not enough

    Jan 27, 2019 - Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent paid training program, work tailored to your skills

    Cons

    Not enough work or high enough pay

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It's okay in a pinch, but...

    Dec 3, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are a fast editor, the pay per word can be quite decent.

    Cons

    The quality of submissions varies drastically. Some people are not even writing in readable English but the management will insist that you edit the document anyway. Sometimes this does not feel completely ethical as there are times when the editor has to essentially rewrite a large portion of the sentences to be readable. Sometimes these orders take so long that the pay per word is very low. There have been times when I have told management that an order is basically incomprehensible and they will not be helpful, and tell me to just continue editing it even if I have very little idea what the student is saying. Sometimes management is not very helpful when it comes to questions about recurring grammar errors in a customer's order. There have been times when I've made an inquiry about an obscure grammar point I was unsure what to do with and received the reply "Just leave it as it is" or gotten an incorrect answer, which I would then find out was incorrect after doing a lot of my own searching online. It is also difficult with the time difference because editors working in much different time zones cannot communicate with the management as easily.

    32 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Apr 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team with a relaxed work atmosphere. Fun times with Friday drinks with many other startups in the building.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.self_employ-current, less than 1 year

    Allows for flexible working

    Apr 15, 2021 - Local Citation Expert in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    possibility to take orders whenever it is convenient for you

    Cons

    pay is determined by number of sources in reference list, the number of in-text citations is not regarded, even though they also need to be corrected

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    The best editing agency work around

    Feb 3, 2021 - Freelance Editor and Proofreader in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fab training and support, lovely people, very flexible, lots of choice over assignments.

    Cons

    As with any agency, you lose a bit of money in terms of commission; for me it’s absolutely worth it to avoid the hassle of dealing with clients.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Great company

    Mar 20, 2021 - Freelance Academic Editor in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are very professional, have a solid work ethics and are very respectful.

    Cons

    At least at the beginning, it's a bit hard to earn enough money given that what you earn will partially go in taxes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Flexible, friendly but academic ethical issues.

    Oct 2, 2020 - Freelance Proofreader/Editor in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible as can work from home, but comes in bursts. Can feel like hard to say no. They pay quickly ( Euros) and the variety of work is good.

    Cons

    Highlighted with management that some practices do not feel completely ethical as there are times when the editor has to essentially rewrite a large portion of the sentences to be readable in academic work which is to be marked. Sometimes these orders take so long that the pay per word is very low. There have been times when I have told management that an order is basically incomprehensible and they were more interested in pleasing the customer's request over the professionalism of the editor. I also pointed out where a client had asked for a re-edit and sent a different version to get free work which I was expected to do for no pay.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Scribbr Response

    Scribbr

    Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we always value the opinion of our editors. We are happy to hear that you appreciated a good variety of work as well as a reliable invoicing and payment schedule in the few months you have worked with Scribbr. Besides that, you mentioned that you felt it was expected of you to rewrite sentences or complete a second edit without compensation. We are sorry to hear that you felt this was your responsibility. Our team takes the definition of our editors' responsibilities very seriously and clearly communicates that editors are - asked to return a document to us that is too poorly written. - never asked to complete any unpaid services such as a second edit. - never asked to rewrite any sentences, as this is not in the scope of our service. All of these points are communicated in our information package for editors as well as through our newsletter. If you have more feedback or questions, we are happy to hear from you. Greetings Nicole Community Manager

  9. 5.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 5 years

    Great company to grow with

    May 6, 2020 - Freelance Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support, helpful guidelines and documentation, well organized on the whole, great team rapport

    Cons

    Can sometimes have a lot of work or no work

    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Happy to work with Scribbr

    Oct 21, 2019 - Qualified Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, you can work from anywhere. Feel a lot of support from the team. Perfect for me.

    Cons

    The amount of work depends of the universities schedule, which means a lot in summer and way less in winter for example,

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Scribbr Job Seekers

Freelance Writer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Freelance Editor and Translator
Learn About the Job

Work at Scribbr? Share Your Experiences

Scribbr logo
or