Scribe Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Scribe Media Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Scribe Media CEO JT McCormick
JT McCormick
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Truly the Most Incredible Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Incredibly challenging, fast paced, and fun work environment - I've never worked anywhere where I'm surrounded by a group of people who want to make improve themselves and the world every day, and it makes me better just being around them - We aren't just serving a client; we're helping those who hire us to educate and empower others, and the exponential impact there is incredible - I'm genuinely excited every... time I get to collaborate with someone new in the company, because every person is someone I respect and have fun working with - Flexibility to work from home, work on my own schedule, and get things done my way instead of working to impress a boss - Drawers full of meat bars and other great snacks :)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Things move quickly. You have to be on the ball and adaptable to keep up.

    Scribe Media2017-04-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I love the work I do and the people I get to do it with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every individual raises the bar for our entire tribe—not in a competitive, cutthroat way; rather an additive, rising-tide-lifts-all-boats kind of way. There is a profound breadth of knowledge and experience just waiting to be tapped. Here are a few of the funny and meaningful things I’ve learned and done simply by being in the same room or Slack channel as my coworkers: · Leadership and investment wisdom bombs... that could garner a five-figure-an-hour consulting fee, just casually dropped into conversation · Why everything you know about wine and food is super interesting, but ultimately wrong · Politely entertain an unsolicited barrage of pro-scooter propaganda · Unceremoniously reject the notion that soup and volleyball are acceptable components in the life of a reasonable adult · How and why you should move heavy things over short distances repeatedly · Hear a milk-mustached Millennial unironically ask “What’s the deal with Seinfeld anyway?” · How to bootstrap a coven · How to chop wood and carry water both figuratively and literally · Rule an indigenous population as some sort of godhead after completing a heretofore impossible rite of passage · Why there can be only one handsomest person in publishing, but explained to you so kindly that you’ll assume it’s you · Hear yet another story about meth addicts destroying your car “in an otherwise great neighborhood!” · Wonder how someone who talks about playing and taking walks all the time gets so much done · Meet a profoundly theatrical person, in all the positive and beautiful and artistic associations of the word, with none of the negative · Have your myriad comedic references finally understood, shared and loved · Be saved by a talaria-clad first responder to anything needing done and done now, with the emoji to prove it · Find and fuel your emotional intelligence by a North Star in the form of a human · Learn how Brazilian jiu-jitsu can contain a frenetic child, and how football fidgetry can focus a sales call · Encounter a true Viking conqueress who leaves nothing but smiles and rainbows and thoughtful gifts in her wake

    Show More

    Cons

    One of the principles of our working culture, Buddhist in origin, is “the glass is already broken.” Like many growing companies, things break, things change quickly. We iterate and move on of course, but not everyone is well-suited to the rapidity of it, or to the scrappiness of a start-up atmosphere in general.

    Scribe Media2017-05-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Hard To Imagine A Better Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Product in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Instead of writing some long paragraph, I'll just tell you the things that I love the most: - I get to bring my whole self to work every day, and no one ever tells me "that's not appropriate for work." Everyone here is fully human, all the time, both in their work and their lives. - I get to be part of creating something (books) that literally changes the lives of a lot of people. This works matters to real... people. - I get to spend my time solving really hard problems that I find incredibly interesting. There are so many awesome problems we are working on. - I get to work with actual real life friends. I mean, I did not know them before I got here, but my co-workers became friends. - If you don't drink, that's cool. But if you do, you will have cheap wine ruined for you. There are some serious wine snobs here (in the best way), but they love sharing their expensive wine with everyone, so its fun. - There are a lot of younger people in the company and they will invite you to a lot of fun sounding millennial things, like volleyball and barbecues and masterminds. - Every week there are hilarious arguments between the millennials and olds about Seinfeld. I know, sounds weird, but I love them.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's not perfect at all, not by any stretch. The company is growing fast, and things inevitably break. There is still a lot of the growing pains that come from adding a management layer to a start-up. But the problems are all of the "good kind to have" problems.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, keep hiring great tribe members, keep adhering to the culture and being who you are.

    Scribe Media2017-05-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Without question the best experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time

    Pros

    1. True servant leadership. Our CEO took an apprentice's salary so that he could invest more in the people around him, and he never talks about it. Our cofounders probably put in more hours than you, and they'll tell you to work less. You will at some point in your week get a message from the CEO asking how he can help facilitate your work, and he means it. You'll get incredibly honest feedback (usually... beginning with, "You know I love ya..." and ending with "Thank you sir!"), and just as importantly, be required to give equally honest feedback. You're responsible for your own growth, but simultaneously responsible for helping those around you grow. 2. Selfless loyalty. You will at some point have a crisis at an inappropriate time of night and someone will answer a phone call to help you. You might also invent a disgusting cocktail involving everclear and flat tonic water, and someone will drink it with you. 3. At least once a month, you will accidentally learn something other people take out student loans to learn. 4. You'll work incredibly hard, and will never feel jaded or less excited to dive back in. 5. You know that annoying apologetic thing writers do when they say they're a writer? Like they're confessing to something, because they feel like it's not a legitimate thing to be? You don't ever have to do anything like that here. We're changing the future of media and publishing, and no one is coy about it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things move incredibly fast, which is only a con if you're looking for a plug-and-play role where your day is a matter of strict routine.

    Scribe Media2017-05-04
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing - like no place I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Book Creative in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media for more than a year

    Pros

    We are a results-driven company, but we also put unique emphasis on the JOURNEY to the destination. The HOW we all work together, and relate to one another, is almost as important as WHAT we’re working on. We see the 'how' as integral to the 'what', not separate.

    Cons

    My only complaint is that I don't get to see my amazing teammates all the time

    Scribe Media2017-04-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "If Book in a Box is not on the Austin's Best Places to work list, then the survey is broken."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every single tribe member I have met is an all-star in their own right. When you bring all of these people together in an environment that supports their grown, and is on a mission that will disrupt a whole industry, cool stuff happens. I could write a whole page here about all the stuff that is awesome, but here are a few points: - I am surrounded by some of the most talented individuals on the face of the... earth, and they are in the ditch working along side of you. This means that I can learn from them and become much better every single day. - We are literally changing the world. We help people get their ideas out of their head so that they can become the best version of themselves. - Our clients are some of the most interesting people (you have to be interesting to write a book) and talking to them is like getting a free MBA/Spiritual education. We are at a HUB for some of the coolest stuff going on in life. - We are just getting started

    Show More

    Cons

    Glassdoor makes me enter 5 words here.

    Scribe Media2017-04-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "You'll feel supported as a person and as a professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time

    Pros

    - If you've spent any time in a bureaucracy, you can finally shed all the nonsense you learned. Your input _does_ matter. - If you're a Publisher, you'll work closely with Authors who are masters in their fields. - You'll join an environment focused on growth and abundance mindsets. - If you're working remotely, the Tribe online is so vivid you don't realize you're working from home. - You're pushed to define... what goals matter to _you_ by people who truly care about and support you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Processes change quickly, which can lead to some confusion, but the team is helpful and supportive in helping you learn and advance.

    Scribe Media2017-04-24
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Easily the most fulfilling career choice I've ever made."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get to do work that deeply engages me alongside a group of intelligent & intentional ballers who are all genuinely amazing people. We are changing the world with our work, and so far it feels that way every single day. Individuals with exceptional professional & personal success, character, and integrity frequently make time to mentor me in the areas where I most want to improve. As a result, my own personal... and professional growth has been taken to a whole new level, and there's still no end to that in sight. Our culture isn't just something we talk about or put on a website. It's woven into every decision we make and results in some of the most heated and important conversations we have. It is very real. We actually value people, relationships, learning, and results above all else, which means we all have a large degree of autonomy and trust, a deep sense of purpose & value, and basically no limit to what we're able to achieve.

    Show More

    Cons

    We're growing and adapting very quickly, so you have to be fully engaged in order to keep up. We truly bring our whole selves to work, so this is not the right place for someone who wants to check out or is uncomfortable with challenging themselves.

    Scribe Media2017-04-19
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing People Changing the World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We get to build a life that works for us, on our schedule, and that prioritizes the things we hold dear. We structure our lives in a way that achieves Goals - not career goals or personal goals - now they are the same goals. We work with authors who have tremendous knowledge of so many different subjects - and we learn from every single one. For a lifelong learner, that is an amazing benefit. Fun things about... working here: Your dogs will love that you work from home. You can burn --I mean donate-- all your suits/blazers. You have to worry about your mother actually reading one of Tucker's books.

    Show More

    Cons

    Because you're passionate about what you do, you'll want to do it all the time. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but your family might not like it. You own your time, so manage it like you mean it!

    Scribe Media2017-04-19
  10. Helpful (5)

    "The love of my professional life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time

    Pros

    This is the most transformational professional experience you'll ever have, hands down. Our Tribe is like a group of brilliant best friends hell-bent on changing the world.

    Cons

    I wish our remote tribe members would move to Austin, because I want to see them every day!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do best: listening and evolving.

    Scribe Media2017-04-08
Found 23 reviews