Scribe Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Scribe Media Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Scribe Media President and CEO JT McCormick
JT McCormick
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A Dream Job At A Dream Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time

    Pros

    People care. You can learn as much as you want. The ceiling seems unlimited. Amazing benefits. You're treated like an adult - no micromanaging at all. Basically, there's a high-performance environment that helps you grow and thrive - without any of the BS that comes with most companies.

    Cons

    If you aren't willing to take direct and honest feedback and change your actions accordingly, you won't like it here.

    Continue reading
    Scribe Media2017-10-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Where careers begin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of companies talk about culture, but then simply refer to a framed list of tenets hung on the wall after you've signed on. Not Book In A Box. By the end of my orientation, I discovered how seriously this company took the notion of hiring for culture first, skillset second. I've never felt more at home, nor have I ever truly felt I was pursuing a career until I joined BIAB.

    Cons

    The only "downside" is that everything happens at startup speed. Change in processes is frequent, but always for the better. Not a con for those not averse to rapid change.

    Continue reading
    Scribe Media2017-08-10
  3. Helpful (6)

    "The only organization of its kind, & not for the faint of heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Book in a Box is a fast-growth startup, lead by a highly-credentialed and personable CEO, JT McCormick, and two co-founders, Zach and Tucker that are the absolute best in class at scaling a company and providing the absolute best possible experience in the industry to our authors and tribe members. The entire team is called a tribe, as we are self-governed by a tightly woven culture - not a mission statement or a set of "values" written on the wall. The tribe itself is composed of some of the most talented, humble and hardest working people, bar none. The company holds no debt, receives no outside funding and has no investors (on purpose) and the company is structured in a way so it can stay focused on its core mission - not on quarterly earnings. There is zero doubt the company will join the unicorn club of startups within 10 years, at most.

    Cons

    There's always a problem, issue or glitch to solve that you can't search Google to find a solution for. We're literally building the foundation of something bigger than the sum of all of us, which is not for the faint of heart.

    Continue reading
    Scribe Media2017-08-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "I'm 31 years old, and I might actually retire at this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Author Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We are a tribe. This is not a company where you don't really know anyone, where you're living in fear of getting backstabbed or fired arbitrarily. We are here to fully support one another, not just in work, but in ALL aspects of our lives. We share what our strengths and obstacles are, and help each other get to where we want to go. Off the charts intelligence (both mental and emotional). The people working at this company are not only brilliant, they are also emotionally in-touch with themselves and others. We all care about how the others feel, and want to keep each other happy. You will work with amazing clients. Authors are some of the most interesting people in the world. They want to write books because they have great ideas and unforgettable stories. I regularly have life-changing, life-improving conversations with our clients. Long-term vision. The founders and CEO are 100% deadset on growing this into a $1 billion company. JT says that it upsets him how often Millennials think they need to change jobs every few years to pad their resume. He believes that, if you love the work you're doing and the people you're working with, you should be able to retire at Book In A Box. You can work however you want. I have a wife, a new baby daughter, and two dogs. There are days that, for the sake of my family, I just can't go into work. With Book In A Box, this is never an issue. In fact, no one cares when you show up or how often you're in the office. We WANT you to be here, but you don't have to if you have other things going on that you need to tend to. There are many others, but those are the big ones for me.

    Cons

    If you need structure, this job will be tough. We expect people to know the skill set they've been hired for, to do their job well, and get results.

    Scribe Media2017-08-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "An environment designed for professional and personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time

    Pros

    I've never had more control over my own work and my own schedule. This company is truly results-oriented, and each of us is trusted to step up, innovate, and design the way we want to work. Questions are valued and encouraged, and challenges are tackled with collaboration across all levels. Mentorship is available at all levels, and the CEO and founders are consistently available for anyone's needs, professional or personal. This company is fully transparent, whether it comes to schedules, financials, process, or departmental discussion, making it a true learning environment.

    Cons

    This company does not use the standard operating procedure at work at a lot of corporations--which is not a downside, actually--but it can take some time for assumptions about rules and chains of command to wear off. In this demanding work environment, each individual is expected to step up and take full ownership of their work. As a start up, it's also a fast-paced and fast-changing environment. We're at this company because we crave learning and efficiency!

    Continue reading
    Scribe Media2017-08-09
  6. Helpful (33)

    "Don't join if you have any standards or high morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scribe Media full-time

    Pros

    Some of the authors are really nice and great to work with

    Cons

    You are totally overworked. Some of the managers are nice, others seem afraid you'll steal their job from them so they keep their distance and are not willing to help you. The worst part of the job for me was listening to or reading about co-founder Tucker Max who is a real pig.

    Continue reading
    Scribe Media2017-07-03
  7. Helpful (5)

    "The most extraordinary experience of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Outlines in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an intense, challenging, deeply empowering place to work. Our leadership says they are going to build a billion-dollar company, and I have every confidence that we will. I say "we" because I know I am an integral part of that effort, expected to lean in, act like an owner, challenge anyone, bring my whole self to the game every day, level up constantly, continue to learn and evolve, engage in difficult forms of growth, think BIG, and constantly improve. The touchstone of this company is our "culture doc," a living, public testament to what we're about and something that all of us in the tribe live and breathe. I am passionate in my defense of it, and so is everyone else in the tribe—it's the primary reason we hire so carefully. We hire for culture first and foremost—skills matter, but not as much as fit. It is thrilling to be part of a rapidly-growing enterprise, and deeply empowering to be surrounded by—and expected to exhibit—a culture of abundance and generosity. I have the best alignment I have ever had between my work and my professional values. Financially, the company is run on an open-book basis with a clear profit-sharing system that means we don't just act as owners; we have skin in the game.

    Cons

    This is not a place for anyone looking to cruise or to "get by." This is no sinecure. This is a learning environment, and sometimes it's a very harsh one. This place can be emotionally intense. Because the culture includes the idea of constant improvement, that means constant change. Systems, processes and jobs change repeatedly. If you do not have a growth mindset you will not thrive here. If you cannot be honest, and accept honesty and directness, you will not thrive here. This is a place that values "the difficult conversation." Many people would consider these negatives, and while I don't, I do know that they require adjustment, especially if you're coming from a corporate environment.

    Continue reading
    Scribe Media2017-06-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I love the work I do and the people I get to do it with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every individual raises the bar for our entire tribe—not in a competitive, cutthroat way; rather an additive, rising-tide-lifts-all-boats kind of way. There is a profound breadth of knowledge and experience just waiting to be tapped. Here are a few of the funny and meaningful things I’ve learned and done simply by being in the same room or Slack channel as my coworkers: · Leadership and investment wisdom bombs that could garner a five-figure-an-hour consulting fee, just casually dropped into conversation · Why everything you know about wine and food is super interesting, but ultimately wrong · Politely entertain an unsolicited barrage of pro-scooter propaganda · Unceremoniously reject the notion that soup and volleyball are acceptable components in the life of a reasonable adult · How and why you should move heavy things over short distances repeatedly · Hear a milk-mustached Millennial unironically ask “What’s the deal with Seinfeld anyway?” · How to bootstrap a coven · How to chop wood and carry water both figuratively and literally · Rule an indigenous population as some sort of godhead after completing a heretofore impossible rite of passage · Why there can be only one handsomest person in publishing, but explained to you so kindly that you’ll assume it’s you · Hear yet another story about meth addicts destroying your car “in an otherwise great neighborhood!” · Wonder how someone who talks about playing and taking walks all the time gets so much done · Meet a profoundly theatrical person, in all the positive and beautiful and artistic associations of the word, with none of the negative · Have your myriad comedic references finally understood, shared and loved · Be saved by a talaria-clad first responder to anything needing done and done now, with the emoji to prove it · Find and fuel your emotional intelligence by a North Star in the form of a human · Learn how Brazilian jiu-jitsu can contain a frenetic child, and how football fidgetry can focus a sales call · Encounter a true Viking conqueress who leaves nothing but smiles and rainbows and thoughtful gifts in her wake

    Cons

    One of the principles of our working culture, Buddhist in origin, is “the glass is already broken.” Like many growing companies, things break, things change quickly. We iterate and move on of course, but not everyone is well-suited to the rapidity of it, or to the scrappiness of a start-up atmosphere in general.

    Scribe Media2017-05-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Without question the best experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time

    Pros

    1. True servant leadership. Our CEO took an apprentice's salary so that he could invest more in the people around him, and he never talks about it. Our cofounders probably put in more hours than you, and they'll tell you to work less. You will at some point in your week get a message from the CEO asking how he can help facilitate your work, and he means it. You'll get incredibly honest feedback (usually beginning with, "You know I love ya..." and ending with "Thank you sir!"), and just as importantly, be required to give equally honest feedback. You're responsible for your own growth, but simultaneously responsible for helping those around you grow. 2. Selfless loyalty. You will at some point have a crisis at an inappropriate time of night and someone will answer a phone call to help you. You might also invent a disgusting cocktail involving everclear and flat tonic water, and someone will drink it with you. 3. At least once a month, you will accidentally learn something other people take out student loans to learn. 4. You'll work incredibly hard, and will never feel jaded or less excited to dive back in. 5. You know that annoying apologetic thing writers do when they say they're a writer? Like they're confessing to something, because they feel like it's not a legitimate thing to be? You don't ever have to do anything like that here. We're changing the future of media and publishing, and no one is coy about it.

    Cons

    Things move incredibly fast, which is only a con if you're looking for a plug-and-play role where your day is a matter of strict routine.

    Scribe Media2017-05-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Hard To Imagine A Better Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Product in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scribe Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Instead of writing some long paragraph, I'll just tell you the things that I love the most: - I get to bring my whole self to work every day, and no one ever tells me "that's not appropriate for work." Everyone here is fully human, all the time, both in their work and their lives. - I get to be part of creating something (books) that literally changes the lives of a lot of people. This works matters to real people. - I get to spend my time solving really hard problems that I find incredibly interesting. There are so many awesome problems we are working on. - I get to work with actual real life friends. I mean, I did not know them before I got here, but my co-workers became friends. - If you don't drink, that's cool. But if you do, you will have cheap wine ruined for you. There are some serious wine snobs here (in the best way), but they love sharing their expensive wine with everyone, so its fun. - There are a lot of younger people in the company and they will invite you to a lot of fun sounding millennial things, like volleyball and barbecues and masterminds. - Every week there are hilarious arguments between the millennials and olds about Seinfeld. I know, sounds weird, but I love them.

    Cons

    It's not perfect at all, not by any stretch. The company is growing fast, and things inevitably break. There is still a lot of the growing pains that come from adding a management layer to a start-up. But the problems are all of the "good kind to have" problems.

    Continue reading
    Scribe Media2017-05-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews