Scripps Institution of Oceanography Reviews | Glassdoor

Scripps Institution of Oceanography Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Work at the beach on my own hours(in 16 reviews)

  • "Really nice people, easygoing and fun work environment(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "there are no cons to working here(in 4 reviews)

  • "Academia pays lower than private industry, as can be expected, but the trade-off is a better work environment(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Friendliest Workplace Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like workplace. Everyone is friendly and excited about their jobs. Lots of cool events at Scripps that you have access to as well.

    Cons

    there are no cons to working here

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-06-06
  2. "Outstanding. But a double edged sword."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Scientist in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, good people, academic freedom, abundant opportunities to do field work, oh and did I mention... location...

    Cons

    Pay is so low (even for an expensive area) that it's insulting and you'll never get ahead, work hours are long and difficult, and there are virtually no career prospects in academia anymore (especially here at Scripps).

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-06-03
  3. "Laid-Back, Friendly Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Ship Scheduling Assistant in San Diego, CA

      I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The atmosphere is laid-back but professional, and the office workers are efficient and productive.

      Cons

      The pay for student administrative assistants is low for those with 2+ years of administrative experience.

      Advice to Management

      Consider raising student payment rates.

      Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-04-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Friendly, collaborative research environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in La Jolla, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Collaborative, multidisciplinary, excellent location and opportunities, top facilities

      Cons

      low salary for researches compared to industry, can be stressful

      Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-04-14
    • "Good people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Research Assistant 

        I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time

        Pros

        beautiful location and top-tier research

        Cons

        there's a lot of office politics

        Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-03-13
      • "Awesome place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time

          Pros

          A lot of customers and a lot of many opportunities for growth

          Cons

          bad customers for moderate pay and not enough breaks

          Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-03-10
        • "The best"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography for more than 5 years

            Pros

            The best place, best people

            Cons

            Wish I didn't have to leave

            Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-01-18
          • "Great Part Time Student Job"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Admissions Clerk in San Diego, CA
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook

            I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than a year

            Pros

            This is a great part time job for UCSD students, with the added perk of getting to see beautiful fish all the time!

            Cons

            Lines can get crazy during peak seasons and those days can get a bit tedious.

            Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-01-26
          • "My thoughts on Scripps"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook

            I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time

            Pros

            Great staff, facilities, and right on the beach.

            Cons

            Some of the research facilities are a bit old.

            Scripps Institution of Oceanography2018-12-13
          • "AMAZING"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook

            I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time

            Pros

            Flexible schedule, great co-workers, by the beach

            Cons

            Slow-paced environment; better maintenance needed

            Scripps Institution of Oceanography2018-11-08
          Found 66 reviews