Scripps Institution of Oceanography Reviews | Glassdoor

Scripps Institution of Oceanography Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Awesome place to work by the ocean"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Access to Seawater and Marine Life

    Cons

    No cons, this is a great place to work!

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-08-25
  2. "Beautiful place to work but it has pros and cons!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SRA in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful Location Flexible Work Schedule Great Benefits Great Long Term Savings Amazing Research

    Cons

    Pay for Overpriced Parking Low Salaries Older Facilities

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-08-08
  3. "Friendliest Workplace Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like workplace. Everyone is friendly and excited about their jobs. Lots of cool events at Scripps that you have access to as well.

    Cons

    there are no cons to working here

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-06-06
  4. "Outstanding. But a double edged sword."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Scientist in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, good people, academic freedom, abundant opportunities to do field work, oh and did I mention... location...

    Cons

    Pay is so low (even for an expensive area) that it's insulting and you'll never get ahead, work hours are long and difficult, and there are virtually no career prospects in academia anymore (especially here at Scripps).

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-06-03
  5. "Laid-Back, Friendly Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Ship Scheduling Assistant in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is laid-back but professional, and the office workers are efficient and productive.

    Cons

    The pay for student administrative assistants is low for those with 2+ years of administrative experience.

    Advice to Management

    Consider raising student payment rates.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-04-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly, collaborative research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative, multidisciplinary, excellent location and opportunities, top facilities

    Cons

    low salary for researches compared to industry, can be stressful

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-04-14
  7. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time

    Pros

    beautiful location and top-tier research

    Cons

    there's a lot of office politics

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-03-13
  8. "Awesome place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time

    Pros

    A lot of customers and a lot of many opportunities for growth

    Cons

    bad customers for moderate pay and not enough breaks

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-03-10
  9. "Great Part Time Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Clerk in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great part time job for UCSD students, with the added perk of getting to see beautiful fish all the time!

    Cons

    Lines can get crazy during peak seasons and those days can get a bit tedious.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-01-26
  10. "The best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best place, best people

    Cons

    Wish I didn't have to leave

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2019-01-18
Found 68 reviews