Scripps Institution of Oceanography Reviews | Glassdoor

Scripps Institution of Oceanography Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time

    Pros

    Well established and structured company. Great people to work with, with lots of exposure to cutting-edge technologies in the oceanographic field.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little higher. Hard to be promoted without higher education

    Advice to Management

    great job

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-11-14
  2. "Unique Community of Scientists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Scheduling was very flexible, as a student worker. Access to interesting and world renowned faculty Great lab experience and the views of the Pacific Ocean can't be beat.

    Cons

    Parking is never free unless you work early in the morning or in the evening and thus get access to the limited street parking. As a student worker, no real downside with SIO.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more training to student workers who have an interest in continuing on with SIO after finishing school. I was fortunate in my experience with Scripps so I don't have much to critique them with. Please continue fostering community engagement I enjoyed meeting people from other labs at events and social gatherings.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-10-28
  3. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography

    Pros

    Beach, good benefits, great co-workers, fantastic work-life balance

    Cons

    Nothing much, maybe a little bit "clique-y" but not terribly so

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-10-12
  4. "I had a great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography

    Pros

    Flexible work hours since I was a student worker. My boss Terry Raitt was really understanding of my hectic Graduate School schedule. She let me plan my work hours myself. It's a very beautiful place to work considering it's 20 feet from the beach.

    Cons

    I didn't really have a single bad experience. It was a great 6 months.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-10-06
  5. "Overall good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Engineer Assistant IV in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very hands on, you can ask to learn just about anything if you're interested and get your work done. Coworkers are nice

    Cons

    Management doesn't keep you in the loop with everything, so sometimes there's not much to do.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-10-12
  6. "Laid back environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Assistant in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, positive and laid back environment to work in.

    Cons

    Can become boring and repetitive over time

    Advice to Management

    Focus on learning and growing employees

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-09-20
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people with a generally laidback work environment. They have pension if you work more than 5 years which is rare.

    Cons

    If you don't like ships this job may not be for you.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-08-29
  8. "Staff Research Associate III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment. Co-workers are all dedicated, independent spirits who thrive on discovery and innovative marine research.

    Cons

    Academia pays lower than private industry, as can be expected, but the trade-off is a better work environment.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-08-05
  9. "Rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marine Science Technician in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, understanding of family obligations

    Cons

    Sometimes out at sea for weeks at a time. Knew it going in, just harder once we had kids.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-04-24
  10. "Research Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Specialist in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography for less than a year

    Pros

    Private internship, Scripps Institute Managed. The cruise and crew were great! Had a great time

    Cons

    There are no cons to mention.

    Advice to Management

    No advise

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-04-04
Found 67 reviews