Scripps Institution of Oceanography "beach" Reviews | Glassdoor

Scripps Institution of Oceanography Employee Reviews about "beach"

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Work at the beach on my own hours(in 16 reviews)

  • "Really nice people, easygoing and fun work environment(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "there are no cons to working here(in 4 reviews)

  • "Academia pays lower than private industry, as can be expected, but the trade-off is a better work environment(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "beach"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "My thoughts on Scripps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time

    Pros

    Great staff, facilities, and right on the beach.

    Cons

    Some of the research facilities are a bit old.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2018-12-13
  2. "AMAZING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great co-workers, by the beach

    Cons

    Slow-paced environment; better maintenance needed

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2018-11-08
  3. "Lab tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time

    Pros

    Work at the beach on my own hours

    Cons

    Nothing much. Maybe fix the door to the entrance...hard to find parking

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2017-07-27
  4. "Great people, casual environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful work with intelligent, motivated and helpful people. Amazing location right on the beach. Many interesting events, conferences and seminars on the campus daily. Active community involvement and discounts to the Birch Aquarium for Scripps affiliation.

    Cons

    Student and employment positions are competitive. Parking is limited to street parking, car break-ins occur occasionally. Low/fixed pay in entry level or student positions. Overall experience can vary greatly depending on supervisor/PI or department.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2017-02-01
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography for more than a year

    Pros

    views, weekly happy hour on the beach, laid back atmosphere, supportive and collaborative faculty and students

    Cons

    There is a lack of food and coffee options on Scripps campus. The neighborhood is expensive, and nearby neighborhoods that are somewhat more affordable (e.g., UTC) aren't very exciting.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-12-04
  6. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Scripps Institution of Oceanography

    Pros

    Beach, good benefits, great co-workers, fantastic work-life balance

    Cons

    Nothing much, maybe a little bit "clique-y" but not terribly so

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-10-12
  7. "I had a great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography

    Pros

    Flexible work hours since I was a student worker. My boss Terry Raitt was really understanding of my hectic Graduate School schedule. She let me plan my work hours myself. It's a very beautiful place to work considering it's 20 feet from the beach.

    Cons

    I didn't really have a single bad experience. It was a great 6 months.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-10-06
  8. "Great Opportunities, A Ton of Accessible Information"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography part-time

    Pros

    Dynamic projects allow students to explore multiple facets of oceanography. Senior staff are a treasure trove of information and often eager to share their knowledge if asked. Laid back environment, flexible hours, and great vicinity to the beach.

    Cons

    Project pacing is a bit unorganized, very relaxed at the onset and then almost manic near project deadlines. Resources are stretched thin as there is a lack of engineering staff.

    Advice to Management

    Hire and retain new, promising engineers. Your current engineers are often times overworked. The current system where nothing can be thrown away and all purchases must come through management is cumbersome and outdated.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-04-13
  9. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography

    Pros

    Beautiful location, relaxed atmosphere, nice view of the beach from the offices and access to university transportation

    Cons

    Not a very communal atmosphere, people usually work alone and there is not much opportunity to meet other researchers

    Advice to Management

    Have more employee events, getting to know others for future collaborations and healthier atmosphere

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-02-18
  10. "Great place to intern in college if you are interested in academia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scripps Institution of Oceanography full-time

    Pros

    Freedom of work, great opportunity to learn, proximity to beach, and access to great tools/ resources.

    Cons

    The worst thing was the pay and, being an intern, having to work a long time in order to gain enough trust to perform tasks that entail real experience.

    Advice to Management

    A technician could be hired to do the more tedious tasks of a job so interns could help solve many of the engineering problems and projects at the lab.

    Scripps Institution of Oceanography2016-01-05
Found 67 reviews